We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic crew, fantastic sharks”

White Shark Safaris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whether you are an adrenaline junkie, ticking off another experience on your bucket-list or planning a special family outing, we aim to give you the most exciting day of your life when you choose to come Shark Cage Diving and/or Viewing with White Shark Safaris. It is our privilege at White Shark Safaris - to offer you an opportunity to dive and view these magnificent animals in a safe and professional environment and have lots of FUN at the same time.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic crew, fantastic sharks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My experience with White Shark Adventures were absolutely great. Everyone of the crew members as well as the staff at the office were so helpful, friendly, patient and very knowledgable and informative. The day started off with a very nice breakfast and a quick briefing of how things work and what to expect. The boat trip went smoothly without any problems, the crew were patient and handled every guest with kindness and care. I also noticed that the crew members not only loved what they did for a job but had a real passion for the ocean and the sharks. We saw many sharks close-up and there was a lot of action. The members of the crew really knew how to get the sharks right up close to the cage. The boat was comfortabe, safe, very well equiped and modern. I felt really safe inside the cage and on the boat. The day ended with a warm lunch and a dvd briefing of all the action that we saw on the trip. If you are looking for personal attention, safety, a friendly and fun crew, and finally a date with one of the most feared sea creatures then White Shark Adventures is the company to choose for your trip! I will most certainly use them again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynellevt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesharks, Guest Relations Manager at White Shark Safaris, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hello Lynelle

It was a pleasure to host you and your partner this past weekend in Gansbaai as part of your breakaway prize in our Winter-Tastic! Competition 2012!
Hopefully, we will be seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
White Shark Adventures
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    16
    7
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disapointing - declaration is not enough...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

When I booked 3 days before I ask precisely if the diving is in the Dyer islands and the answer was sharp positive - unfortunately the diving was on the shore and not close to the islands as promised.
When we booked, the agent was proud about the Scuba air system that this company is running during the diving + during the briefing we were told by the owner of the company that they are the only company that running this system which is supposed to be very beneficial.
Unfortunately - declaration is one step but bringing them to be done is another. I was very disappointed - immediately on my first breath I got water instead of air – A big hole was in the inlet system – same was on the two systems aside me – poor handling of the system.
After less than two minutes the compressor was shut down.
Is it a Scuba reliable system ? is it a reliable company ?
During the evacuating from the cage my wife was not handle at all, did not get help to get out and hit her ribs by one of the bar of the cage.
DISAPPOINTING…

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Noam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesharks, Guest Relations Manager at White Shark Safaris, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Noah
We would like to thank you for your review.
As per your review - our boat has not been working with the sharks nearby Dyer Island. Bear in mind that we do not have a permanent population of Great White Sharks in Gansbaai - they roam the oceans of the world and is very much nomadic. A very interesting fact about our sharks is that as soon as summer approaches, they are moving closer into shore - and we work with the sharks in the shallows. That is the reason why the the boat was not on anchor by Dyer Island.
Our unique in-house air supply system is being used everyday onboard our boat. However, it is up to the discretion of the Skipper / Dive Master – due to years of experience of working with the sharks and knowledge on the area – not to use the system and revert back to the simple breath-hold method for divers. At the end of the day our ultimate aim is for clients to experience the Great Whites upclose-and-personal.
On your specific daytrip we have been working with the sharks in the area called Joubertsdam. This is in the shallows and very much close to shore. Normally when the sharks are in this area – our general water temperature is colder and then the sharks like to preserve their energy. Meaning – there activity is much slower and by putting off our air supply system the chances are then much greater for the crew to get them closer to the boat and cage.
Due to the fact that air is feeded from a low pressure stainless steel compressor on the boat itself – it is therefore impossible for water to get into the air filters. It was investigated by our crew – and we found that it can only happen if one of the mouth-pieces happened to be broken by one of the previous clients. Regular daily checks are conducted – and ultimately, the pipes are secure from water – water cannot enter the filter nor be carried by the filter.
For more information - for us to get a closer look at your daytrip - do email me at:
info@whitesharkadventures.co.za

Kind Regards
White Shark Adventures
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
“Excellent Value-for-Money Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Myself and my friends recently visited White Shark Adventures for an experience with the Great Whites! They gave us a special rate because we were backpackers - and even collected us from our backpackers hostel in Cape Town. The day was awesome! They gave us a great breakfast with toast, scrambled eggs, cheese, cereals, fruit salads and more. They gave us a safety & dive briefing before the boat launched from the harbour. We saw 7 Great Whites - and they came so close to the cage that I almost wanted to touched them! The experience is surreal.... all the staff is so friendly, helpful and knowledgeable....especially the office staff (I think there names was Abraham and Amelia - they are surely funny, knows the sharks and put us at ease. I will definitely come back to dive with these animals again and with White Shark Adventures!!!! A huge thumbs up for you guys!!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank backpack-with-me8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesharks, Guest Relations Manager at White Shark Safaris, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Client

It was a pleasure to share our passion for sharks and service with you.

Kind Regards
White Shark Adventures
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing honeymoon trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We landed in Cape town on the 10th of September and first thing we did was equire the prices on shark cave diving. We received an amazing price, we left camps bay around 4:15 , Andrew picked us up (very friendly operator). As soon as we landed in Gansbay we kwew this company was professional. We had a briefing and lovely breakfast. We watched a safety DVD. And we were off, on the boat it was very organised. We waited about 10min and first sharks started to circle the boat. We donned our wet suits and we were in the water!! It took a bit of getting used to but the ventilators helped a lot. We had some amazing encounters which we caught on film. After we got out of the water we had amazing views from the top deck. After about 4 hour on the water we started to turn back. We had some snacks and water on the boat. As we were returning we encountered a pod of dolphins and hump back whales. When we landed on shore, we were helped off the boat. As we entered the house again we were served with lovely lunch ( spaghetti,mince,salad,bread and soup) They showed us the DVD of the day. We enjoyed this trip very much and would recommend to anyone. From start to finish it was amazing!

Helpful?
Thank Gys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesharks, Guest Relations Manager at White Shark Safaris, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review and that we have been able to share lasting memories with you whilst on your honeymoon.

Best wishes for the future!

Kind Regards
White Shark Adventures
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

this is my first time doing a review but just thought i would share my experience with this company ,
we got picked up at 7 am took 2 hours to get there , we waited for 3 hours in a room , without knowing what was going on for the boat to come , when it did , they decided to change the propellers on the boat to some new untried propellers , so we got about 15 minutes out and had to turn around because the propellers did not work properly , so at this stage when we got to the shark cage it was about 1pm , we did see 2 sharks but we were only out there for about an hour then had to turn back for the group that was waiting for us , also they claim that they have a constant air supply for the cage , the compressor makes so much noise it scares the sharks away so they cant use it . was about 5.30 pm when we got back to cape town , one guy almost missed his flight , there is a lot of operators in this area , next time i will book with the shark lady , looks like a much better run outfit .

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank richardphatwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Shark Safaris also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to White Shark Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing