We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch whales from your bed!”
Review of The Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay Lodge
Ranked #12 of 31 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The location of the lodge is fantastic, in De Kelders which is a lovely little village just a couple of minutes drive down the road from Gansbaai and is even better than Hermanus for Whale watching as the whales come closer to the rocks. We could see whales from the balcony outside our room which was large and as with the rest of the lodge full of character and in lovely condition. Villeria who owns the guesthouse was absolutely lovely and nothing was too much trouble, she really makes you feel at home. She also gave us a map and told us about the best places to eat and watch the whales, we spent hours sitting on the rocks at the edge of De Kelders watching more than 10 Southern Right Whales one morning, some of them were just metres from the rocks. Also the breakfast was lovely too which is always a great start to the day!

Tip: Make sure it’s whale watching season when you plan your visit!

Tip. We stayed in numerous guesthouses on the Garden Route and without exception found them to be in better locations and run by friendlier people than smaller hotels. The owners are always proud of their area and will personally help you to make the most of your time there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BensoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 61 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

Got out of the the car and within 1 minute saw whales tail flipping!
Villieria, the proprietor, was fantastically helpful and great fun, showing us the best places to both eat and see.
We picked the perfect place to go to experience both the hospitality of the Western Cape and the wildlife - truly recommended.
Breakfast was great........

Room Tip: Ask for a roome with a siea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Ute and I have been there during our trip around the Garden Route. The Bay Lodge in de Kelders is so much preferable to other locations in and around Hermanus. The whales come quite near the coastline here and from the Bay Lodge's veranda you have them virtually on the spot.
Very nice and crisp location. Valieria is a perfect host. At given time we will come back - promised.
Thank you and kind regards
bernd

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bap__1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night in March at The Bay Lodge. Our room was big and comfortable. The bathroom was immaculate with nice powerful shower. Lovely balcony where one can sit and relax. Very peaceful and quiet.
We enjoyed a hearty breakfast the next morning.
Villieria knows the area well and was helpful with advice about things to do.
We will definitely be back one day.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed at The Bay for one night in January 2011. Our Host Villiera is a wonderful, friendly lady who does her best to run the place on her own. The rooms are part of the private house of a family, so you have to walk through their private living space to get to them. It is very quiet and, if you aren't in Gansbaai during whale-watching season, there isn't really much to do. That is, unless you are into shark-cage diving.
Positive impressions: Villiera really does her best
The rooms have an ocean view though not directly at beach and having an additional building right in front of the house
The rooms are clean
Breakfast gets prepared fresh on the spot
Negative impressions: No help offered in carrying heavy suitcases upstairs to room though two strong looking men were present
Very strong feeling of intruding in family life during arrival and during breakfast
Very small bathroom with no space to put anything, shower caps for guests have been taken from other hotels!
Too expensive, European prices for a small retirement village in the middle of nowhere.

Summary: If you do want to stay here, do so during whale watching season.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishInMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

My partner & I spent 12 days in SA and the main activity on our list of things to do was a shark dive and whale watching. I choose to stay in this B&B due to the reasonable price and location (only 5 minutes drive from "The Shark Man") Villeria our host was lovely, very friendly and informative and we felt at home immedialetly in the B&B. All we had to do was look out our bedroom window to see whales as it was mating season. It was definetly the most relaxing and comforable part of the holiday for us.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewtravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

We stayed twice at the bay lodge in De Kelders. And for a good reason! Owner Villieria is just great. She makes you feel at home and is really helpful in f.e. organizing shark diving and whale watching (go from Gansbaai, not Kleinbaai!). Location is really close to the shore for great walking and being close to the whales. Enjoy a sundowner on the terrace with whales jumping in front of you. Dream....no, reality. Next time we go, we will bsolutely go back to the bay lodge. Joost and Manon, Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gansbaai hotels
0.2 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 31 in Gansbaai
416 reviews
1.5 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#5 of 31 in Gansbaai
435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#6 of 31 in Gansbaai
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
On The Rocks B&B
On The Rocks B&B
#14 of 31 in Gansbaai
63 reviews
3.2 mi away
Nell's B & B
Nell's B & B
#1 of 3 in Kleinbaai
89 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 31 in Gansbaai
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Lodge

Address: 15 Birkenhead Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: $69 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing