We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”
Review of Benguela Restaurant - CLOSED

Benguela Restaurant
Price range: $9 - $55
Cuisines: European, Seafood, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: I N R E C E S S / C L O S E D DEAR CUSTOMER, PLEASE NOT THAT BENGUELA RESTAURANT WILL BE IN RECESS (CLOSED) FROM MAY 2015 UNTILL FURTHER NOTICE. WE THANK YOU FOR YOUR SUPPORT, WARM REGARDS, JONATHAN & HANDRE Benguela Restaurant offers a refined dining experience in a crisp and contemporary setting. The menu offers a range of Seafood, Meat and Vegetarian dishes as well as a selection of local wines and beers. We will also cater to various size groups and cater to specific dietary requirements with prior notice in a relaxed, crisp and more refined environment.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
110 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

In the little town of De Kelders near Gansbaai is a wonderful restaurant that deserves to be commented on, so that visitors can appreciate the experience that we had at the end of 2012.
The ambience and crispness of the restaurant was the first aspect that surprised us and the hosts Jonathan and Andre welcomed us with charm and gusto.
Benguela has an excellent menu which only displays wines from the immediate area and the suggestion of Jonathan's for the Springfontein Cabernet Sauvignon to accompany our selection of starter and main course was top drawer - and ended up being two bottles. Their suggestion of the lime & chilli prawns and the fish cake as starters settled our demise of what to have, so that we could try both portions.
We both had the coriander-encrusted beef for mains and they were divine, but just needed to come off a little earlier - both were more medium than rare and medium/rare that we ordered. Chef needs to be cognisant of this comment, as it has been mentioned by other reviewers before.
Desserts were the funky monkey and a "boring" Irish coffee for me - no complaints here at all.
Service is not rushed, but suits the ambience created and we thoroughly enjoyed the evening. Looking forward to returning to Benguela on our next trip to De Kelders.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    44
    17
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
353 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Wonderful ambiance, fabulous food, great attention to detail”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had booked at Benguela several weeks before arriving and were shown to a great table by the windows, with stunning views of the sea. The owner/host was friendly and animated describing the menu. He was not exaggerating in the least.

We started with lime & chili prawns over noodles, and the chorizo/butter bean/potato salad. Both were winners - the prawns out in front.

For mains, we both went with the coriander seed encrusted beef fillets, with roasted potatoes and other fresh veggies. We both ordered the 200 gram portions, and were plenty full before the last few bites, but just couldn't see that yummy beef walk away. We made room! Beyond flavourful! Outstanding.

For desert, we shared a black and white cheesecake - again, really wonderful.

On all points, the food was delicious and presented beautifully. The only recommendation I have it so order your beef one level less than you want it - the chef has a slow hand on the meat. We ordered our fillets medium rare and medium, and they were served medium and medium-well. But we didn't send them back - the flavour was still really wonderful.

The place is so good, we've made another booking to go back in a few nights. Definitely a winner!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank africanaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Fine cuisine”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great food meticulously prepared. Service a little slow but the food, wine and the charming hosts made up for it

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank NickLin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

After checking in to our B&B we were recommended to eat at Benguela as a treat. Our hosts assured it was the BEST restaurant. My husband and I booked for dinner.
Having been to a number of top restaurants around the country- we had high expectations.
We had to wait a while to be acknowledged on arriving at the restaurant, and then for our drinks.
We both ordered a starter- I chose the chicken livers and my husband the fish cakes. I can honestly say the livers were the least appetising I have tasted.

We then both chose a seafood main course (as one does). My husband's fish had been frozen and the prawns terribly overcooked. One would think that fish at the ocean would at least be fresh.

Overall we were very disappointment with the food- after paying a considerably high price for below average food, i would definitely not recommend this to anyone expecting great food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic food and restaurant”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Benguela restaurant offers food that can be compared to anything a top restaurant in Cape Town or elsewhere can offer you. To be honest the food I had, was the one of the best meals in a restaurant ever. Every mouthful is a taste experience and the ambiance of the restaurant speaks of true sophistication! Absolutely fantastic!! Do drop in at Benguela in De Kelders. This is a hidden gem!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benguela Restaurant also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
De Kelders, Western Cape
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing