We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loads of sharks!”

Shark Diving Unlimited
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shark Diving Unlimited specialises in conservation and education initiatives of all shark species around our coastline Owned by Michael Rutzen who has been working with great white sharks since 1994. Four years later Mike began freediving with great white sharks and is now known worldwide as one of the few people who is able to interact with these magnificent predators outside the safety of the cage!Breathtaking images of Mike have been featured in numerous magazines and documentaries including BEYOND FEAR (National Geographic) and SHARKMAN (Discovery). Mike’s aim is to portray positive images of great white sharks in order to dispel the ‘JAWS’ myth.Mike is a PADI Instructor and the only person in the world qualified to teach the prestigious Great White Shark Distinctive Specialty PADI course. He is a qualified skipper, First Aid instructor, qualified rebreather, nitrox and commercial diver. Your skipper Frank Rutzen has spent his life on the ocean from Kwa-Zulu Natal to the Western Cape. He has worked in the great white shark cage diving industry since 1995 and has a passion for wildlife and an extensive knowledge of the Dyer Island marine ecosystem.Nsunda is a qualified South African tour guide and qualified scuba diver. He will help you with all your diving equipment needs and make sure that your day runs smoothly!Shark Diving Unlimited was the company of choice for HRH Prince Harry, His Majesty King Abdullah II Ibn Al Hussein, Leonardo Di Caprio and Brad Pitt.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loads of sharks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Our experience on this trip was fine - I didn't get in the water but my partner did and he loved it. I had a perfect view of the sharks from the top of the boat and got some great photos, so I was happy not to get in the water. We were given refreshments before, during, and after the trip which was appreciated. We were joined on the trip by the band Major Lazer which was quite entertaining - made for quite a crowded boat but that was fine. The guy who took the tour was good at explaining the process of teasing the sharks with fish guts and a fish head, and it paid off when we had some sharks come up and steal the heads from the rope. Overall, it wasn't the most adrenalin filled experience, and was a long day, but a great opportunity to see these amazing creatures in their natural habitat. They are enormous!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    48
    28
    21
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

My husband, myself and my 21 and 18 year old went to Gansbaii on 31 Dec to do the shark cage dive. On arrival we were greeted warmly and given a good breakfast and got to watch videos of Mike Rutzen swimming with sharks and to read his research results. Not everyone in my family was convinced they actually wanted to go in the cage until we actually went out in the boat and got our first spectacular view of the sharks from above and saw how safe the cage actually was.
The trip was amazing. We were so close to the sharks on board the boat and even closer under the water! The sea visibility was not brilliant so actually being above water for viewing was perfect but being in the water was very exciting and scary. So much so that many of us wanted a second chance to get in the cage. Snacks and drinks were provided on board and a video was made during our trip which you could choose to buy on our return after viewing while having a hearty lunch. The trip was a hit for all the family. I organised it through Extreme Scenes and will definitely do it again when I visit South Africa. They tell me June is best for visibility. A piece of advice though …bring sea sick tablets.We were advised and didn't bother but waiting for each group to take their turn can be a bit rocky on board.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MountainGoat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good experience, but definitely not "once in lifetime" category”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was my first Shark Cage diving experience. Upon reading the reviews, we found some boats were taking up to 30 passengers out at a time so we opt for a company that caters less people.

Overall, it was somewhat like seeing sharks at the aquarium but instead of the glass in between, you get a cage and cold water. It was a great experience, I enjoyed it, but dont expect the "once in lifetime wow factor" at the end of the day.

- The shuttle bus picked us up at 5am, we got back to the hotel around 3pm.
- Light snacks and drinks provide before and after, and also watching the video they compiled.
- Actual time in the ocean was approx 3 n half hrs (including to-and-from the pier)
- 17 people on board, so we had time for multiple dives for each person.
- Personally I only did one round of diving, had 4-5 encounters with the sharks.
- Water was clear and visible.
- We had to kneel on a steel bar in cold water, your knees hurt and you freeze, but its all worth it once the shark approaches.
- all equipment provided, drinks and sandwich on the boat.

TIP:
Holding your breath for 3-5secs is more than adequate to see the shark clearly / take a nice photo.

When you hearing the muttering of words "dow duw dow", you need to dive in.
I know it sounds stupid, but in the midst of everything, all of us missed the 1st shark encounter.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Terence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disappointing and over-hyped”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

After booking to go on a shark dive with another company (Go Shark Diving) who had advertised shark diving with a regulator and looked very professional, we were told on the morning itself that something was "wrong with their boat" and so we got put with this company instead. The breakfast and the pictures of various celebrities across the wall as well as the advertising of Michael and his amazing shark skills (National Geographic-style) all looked very encouraging. However, we get on the boat and the guide basically barks some incoherent instructions about the procedure/safety with half of us on the upper deck completely unable to hear him. He then throws ill-fitting, shoddy wetsuits at us and tells everyone to grab a mask from the bucket - with people finding that they didn't have a mask because there weren't enough to go around initially and then just says that we have to get in the cage, simply duck down and hold our breath when he shouts and keep our knees on the bar. Not quite the regulator-based dive we thought it would be - more like a badly-organised, unprofessionally done, in-out holding-your-breath job. The whole thing was basically a bit of an anti-climax. To top it all off, he took some lousy videos of everyone on the deck trying to get people to say what an amazing time they had, put together an amateur, shoddy video with nothing very interesting in it and then tried to get people to pay about £20 for the video once we were back in the HQ. A guy on a boat took better pictures with his iPhone. Don't go here - it really was a badly- organised place which seemed to be milking the whole 'shark man' thing yet he was nowhere to be seen and the whole thing seemed like a giant gimmick. Disappointing to say the least.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank van06London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good company”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We went diving, saw about 7 sharks.
They also offer breakfast and lunch.
A little long till we got on the boat, but fabulous experience

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank N F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shark Diving Unlimited also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Kleinbaai, Gansbaai
 

Been to Shark Diving Unlimited? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing