We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful Experience!”

Shark Diving Unlimited
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shark Diving Unlimited specialises in conservation and education initiatives of all shark species around our coastline Owned by Michael Rutzen who has been working with great white sharks since 1994. Four years later Mike began freediving with great white sharks and is now known worldwide as one of the few people who is able to interact with these magnificent predators outside the safety of the cage!Breathtaking images of Mike have been featured in numerous magazines and documentaries including BEYOND FEAR (National Geographic) and SHARKMAN (Discovery). Mike’s aim is to portray positive images of great white sharks in order to dispel the ‘JAWS’ myth.Mike is a PADI Instructor and the only person in the world qualified to teach the prestigious Great White Shark Distinctive Specialty PADI course. He is a qualified skipper, First Aid instructor, qualified rebreather, nitrox and commercial diver. Your skipper Frank Rutzen has spent his life on the ocean from Kwa-Zulu Natal to the Western Cape. He has worked in the great white shark cage diving industry since 1995 and has a passion for wildlife and an extensive knowledge of the Dyer Island marine ecosystem.Nsunda is a qualified South African tour guide and qualified scuba diver. He will help you with all your diving equipment needs and make sure that your day runs smoothly!Shark Diving Unlimited was the company of choice for HRH Prince Harry, His Majesty King Abdullah II Ibn Al Hussein, Leonardo Di Caprio and Brad Pitt.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dreadful Experience!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My families experience was not a good one with Shark Diving Unlimited. Nine of us set out in the morning. The only good thing was the breakfast. No interaction by the staff. There was no discussion about sharks and how their population is in decline. After being on the boat for an hour, the trip was cut short. I can't recommend this tour.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    50
    29
    23
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great experience, I was expecting a little bit more from the crew”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The experience was superb! We fortunately had a day with a great weather to go diving!
We have been launched at 06:30 and we spent 4 hours on the boat. As the other company they offered us breakfast and snacks on the boat (pretty reasonable considering the paid fee!).

The black crew was very polite and focused on clients' needs! The white crew unfortunately did not care so much about us! They were supposed to spot sharks and inform us when to dive etc, but they were more focused on chatting and doing their own business!

To see properly a shark it takes quite a lot of time and you must be ready to be in the water for more than one hour, therefore I would suggest you to go with a company who offers not a lot of spot available in order to have enough time to enjoy your trip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great time!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a great time with Shark Diving Unlimited! We started our early morning with breakfast at their shop, then we were off for our adventure. The crew also had sandwiches and water for us when we got on board. We saw a ton of sharks while we were out and got ample time in the shark dive cage. We took a lot of photos both above and underwater. It was truly an amazing experience. We even got to meet "the sharkman" himself!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AandD T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a shambles...”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Well, what can one say! DO NOT go with Shark Diving Unlimited. We were due to launch between the Christmas and New Year period but due to bad swells were told the launch was cancelled. However after several emails and phone calls chasing Shark Diving Unlimited for the next available date we had no response and the customer service they offered was dreadful. I urge all budding Great White Shark enthusiasts to visit another company!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Everything was just perfect, they even have candies on the boat! The crew was very nice. Can't wait to do this again!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicole298478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shark Diving Unlimited also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Kleinbaai, Gansbaai
 

Been to Shark Diving Unlimited? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing