We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Setting a new international standard for chic private accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De Kelders Private Villa
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Setting a new international standard for chic private accommodation”
Reviewed March 7, 2011

A surreal, atmospheric experience. A perfect, ample room quietly breathing calmness and comfort; a lounge to stimulate the intellect, the aesthetic and the soul; a dining experience fit for royalty with appropriate, ethereal music, magical lighting and food to satisfy even my nasty cynical side. And then there's the sea . . . Congratulations Neil and David.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank nick581218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
111
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Just back from a fortnight in the Cape, and the 3 nights in De Kelders were the highlight of our trip. The house (the pictures don't do it justice!), the location, the welcome, the local tips, the food, the wine, the music, the cats all fantastic. David made us feel right at home on arrival and he was nothing but helpful. Special praise for his cooking... wow! His food was so good we didn't want to eat out.
Couldn't recommend this place high enough, but please don't tell everyone ;-)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank charlieboy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

My daughter had stayed in October 2010 and recommended the Villa to friends and myself as simply the best place to stay in the Western Cape! We booked for a couple of nights and can only state that we had the most wonderful stay ;everything was as stated on the side of the can!
David made us most welcome and his cookings is something else; the fish dish was delicious and we felt so at home.
Bedrooms are large to enjoy and the overall experience is one of elegance and relaxed,just what we wanted.
We will return in October to watch the whales!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank malyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We came across De Kelders Private Villa somewhat by accident - but I like to believe it must have been fate. Upon arrival Neil welcomed us with homemade rusks in his amazing B&B. The house is done with such a magnificent sense of style, love and personality, it is impossible not to feel at home here straightaway. Neil is truly the host with the most, not only did he cook an absolutely delicious meal, he treated us to great music and invaluable insider tips. I could imagine myself coming back here over and over again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Poeschmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We were treated as friends from the start, with " proper" afternoon tea on the terrace before the bags were out of car. The architecture and decor throughout for us, was stunning.
Music, Movies and Reading were with outstanding variations in choice, for us to use.
Breakfast was to die for, with oodels of " home-mades" and different every morning.
If you are a light -sleeper, the whales at night meet for choir practice, in season, but only on Tues. & Thurs......is that so bad!!!...
For all you local Capetonians and World Travellers chill-out for a few days, you wil not be sorry.
Pete & Di Goodes Surrey UK

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank pete580425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Neil Stemmet is an icon on the South African hospitality scene with his inimitable flair for juxtaposing the sybaritic with the supremely simple, the modern with the antique and the very sophisticated with the utterly down-to-earth.
His other guesthouse, Le Must of Upington, boasts a visitors' book and reputation that would put some Parisian hostelries to shame. His secret? Good old-fashioned hospitality, sexy style and lashings of it.
Neil understands human nature, and he has an innate grasp of what true hospitality means. He has a great deal of fun with it too, teasing and pleasing the senses with his interiors and with his food in equal measure, creating a total sensur-round of thrills and delights.
For example, it's near impossible to convey the shivers of delight that accompany enjoying a breakfast of home-made nutty bread, fresh seasonal fruit, home-made preserves and local cheeses whilst listening to Arvo Pärt or Jessye Norman, all on a perfectly clear summery Sunday morning, the salt sea breeze tickling in through the stoep windows.
Neil couldn't create all these elements himself, but he knows exactly how to combine them in such a fashion that each is brilliantly highlighted by contrast, and a sublime whole is effected.
Even the entrance to the house holds its own, intoxicating little surprise and no, I am not going to spoil it for you by describing it!

De Kelders is a villa in the true sense - small and personal, yet nowhere is one aware of the toil and strain that must accompany the seamless care of guests, as is so often the case in small guesthouses or hotels. Impossibly elegant and stylish, yet convincingly personal, the villa exudes a soothing stillness that makes one feel rejuvenated and pampered at the same time. A myriad seductive corners beckon one to settle and unwind - velvet-covered sofas in corners overlooking the garden, a rustic table under the trees next to the pool. While there is plenty to read and to delight music lovers, for me it was the stillness and serenity of the garden I treasured most.

Meals are hearty, with simple, honest and heartfelt country cooking courtesy of Neil when we were there. Ever the innovator, Neil has determinedly taken a route back to gutsy simplicity, devoid of all frippery and pretense, in his food. The results are spectacularly more-ish - food that nourishes the soul as well as the body.

Bathrooms are spacious and airy, with a soothing sense of the luxury spa about them. The beds and linen magnificent - and a late lie-in a must.

On inquiry Neil assured me that children are welcome, and I personally can't wait to return with my two to experience and enjoy first-hand this oasis for the senses, conceived by a visionary firmly rooted in the earth.

A memorable and treasured experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Sonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

I am fortunate to travel the world and have had the priviledge to stay in world class accommodation. At De Kelders Private Villa I was immediately touched by Neil's passionate relationship with food, wine, music, decor, books, people, animals and nature. A truly rare combination to find in one human being. A must stay destination!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank JeffRossouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.3 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.3 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whalesong Lodge
Whalesong Lodge
#8 of 29 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Kelders Private Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Kelders Private Villa

Property: De Kelders Private Villa
Address: 35 Main Road | DE Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Kelders Private Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2014/2015/2016 TRIPADVISOR NO 1 in the Gansbaai and Overberg for speciality accommodation. The house is neither a B&B or a guest house. It is a villa and a haven for the discerning traveller, who understands quality, stillness and privacy. Acclaimed by ELLE Decoration, House&Leisure, Conde Nast House&Garden and Gourmet, the villa offers the luxury of privacy. Three large bedrooms only, a 150m lounge with library of magazines, books, music and films. Large fireplace for the winter nights. Large garden with secluded, private, heated salt water pool. The 80m open terrace with beautiful views of the village and Walker Bay is secluded and offers the perfect hideaway for reading. The ocean is 200 steps away. Our breakfasts are special and our pre-booked home cooked regional dinners are legendary. The owner is an author of cook books. The house in not branded, hence the name private house and can be rented for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your De Kelders Private Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing