We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like royalty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Kelders Private Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Treated like royalty”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a pleasure. Where do I start? From recieving veldflowers on arrival to the coffee with home baked bananabread. Breakfast is a treat with everything from bread, jam and meusli handmade and ending up to be a hightea with koeksisters and Hertzoggies! The rooms are fantastic and the decor....there are no words.
Thank you Neil for your hospitality. We will come again.

Room Tip: Room 2 is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnemeD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
dear Anneme and Helene

thank you for your very special review - we do hope to receive you again - soon

warm wishes

neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
112
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our only quibble with our time spent in De Kelders was that it wasn't enough! We enjoyed our stay and the bad weather meant that we stayed in most of the time. Do take up Neil's offer to cook you an elegant dinner - the food and wine was great!

Thanks to all at De Kelder's for a wonderful stay...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Shankar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
dear Amaruta + Shanhan

thank you so much for the review and for being guests at de kelders PRIVATE house - we do look forward to receive you, when you visit our beautiful town again

warm wishes

neil+ Samkelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koblenz
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

It is a very nice place to stay und relax, even if it´s raining (like our holidaytime). Niel and the team are perfect hosts, great people and rearly good cook´s. We loved to be there and we hope to come back soon. Great architectures, great team, great time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dr_olafschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
dear Olaf and family

it was wonderful to receive you and your special family in de kelders - we do hope to see you when you return to South Africa

thank you so much for your kind review

warm wishes to your family

neil+team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

the acomondation was perfect. It is wonderful place to stay. It is a very nice place to spend the holyday or just a few days. Simon is Neil are perfect hosts, the dinner was super.

De kelderes is also a very good place for whale watching. we can vety much recomend this guest house.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stefan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
dear Stefan and Wilka

thank you for your kind review - it was wonderful to have you in our home - we do hope to see you soon ;-)

warm wishes

neil+Samkelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Highly recommended for an elegant and relaxing stop over .. beautifully designed villa, luxurious rooms & linen, wonderful reading material, stunning breakfast feast, warm hospitality and best apple pie ever!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank JS1816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
dear Julie

thank you so much for your kind review - we do hope to get 5 out of 5 for your next visit to us.

warm wishes

neil + Samkelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The daily stresses we endure are lifted the moment you enter this hidden sanctuary. Not often experienced, you will witness an attention to detail like no other, the owner has thought of everything and then some...and nothing is too much trouble!
The house itself is an architectural masterpiece blending seamlessly into the landscape while the eclectic mix of interiors ensures that nothing matches but everything works perfectly. The house is only ever upstaged when resident Chef and Owner, Mr Neil Stemmet delights his guests every evening by preparing a culinary feast you are guaranteed to enjoy.
I Loved It, So Will You!!
What are you waiting for?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 007Scotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
dear David

thank you for sharing days of quietness with us - it was so special to have you in our home - do come back soon

warm wishes

neil+staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We loved our stay at De Kelders Private Villa. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed, our room was very comfortable and clean, and the breakfast was delicious. Neil was extremely accomodating and the house was beautiful. A perfect location for branching off to explore the area around Gansbaai, and we hope to stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PhillyTravelChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
dear Tess

thank you so much for your review - it means so much to all of us !

warm de kelders wishes

neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
612 reviews
0.3 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
2.8 mi away
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
#1 of 1 in Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
703 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 29 in Gansbaai
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Kelders Private Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Kelders Private Villa

Property: De Kelders Private Villa
Address: 35 Main Road | DE Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Kelders Private Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2014/2015/2016 TRIPADVISOR NO 1 in the Gansbaai and Overberg for speciality accommodation. The house is neither a B&B or a guest house. It is a villa and a haven for the discerning traveller, who understands quality, stillness and privacy. Acclaimed by ELLE Decoration, House&Leisure, Conde Nast House&Garden and Gourmet, the villa offers the luxury of privacy. Three large bedrooms only, a 150m lounge with library of magazines, books, music and films. Large fireplace for the winter nights. Large garden with secluded, private, heated salt water pool. The 80m open terrace with beautiful views of the village and Walker Bay is secluded and offers the perfect hideaway for reading. The ocean is 200 steps away. Our breakfasts are special and our pre-booked home cooked regional dinners are legendary. The owner is an author of cook books. The house in not branded, hence the name private house and can be rented for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your De Kelders Private Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing