We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Gansbaai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De Kelders Private Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A gem in Gansbaai”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We loved our stay at De Kelders Private Villa. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed, our room was very comfortable and clean, and the breakfast was delicious. Neil was extremely accomodating and the house was beautiful. A perfect location for branching off to explore the area around Gansbaai, and we hope to stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PhillyTravelChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
dear Tess

thank you so much for your review - it means so much to all of us !

warm de kelders wishes

neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
112
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg KZN Natal South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Don't take my word for it - go and experience it for yourself. This villa is full of antiques juxtaposed with modern furniture, art on almost every square inch of wall, libraries of books, dvd's and music. One might feel one had to tip toe around this equisite place but Neil insists that you make yourself at home and he is such an accomplished host that you find yourself so relaxed you wish you could move in permanently. Really! Two days would not be enough! book in for at least a week!

Neil makes the most marvellous meals - REAL FOOD - do ask him about the tomatoes he uses in his soup! His attention to detail is faultless and his taste impeccable. He scores 6 stars on everything he does.

The coast line on both sides of this villa is absolutely beautiful. The view over the bay to Hermanus is breathtaking in the evening light. There is so much to do in the area. Long walks on the beach - lovely little shops at Stanford and Gansbaai and lots of lovely coves to explore by car.

I am not much of a "cat person" but I fell in love with Neil's menagerie - so entertaining. Fara stole my heart so I have had to share two of the million photos I took of her!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Hobnob_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
dear Cathrine and Keith

thank you so much for your wonderful words. your words mean so much to us - thank you for this - we are all smiling in de kelders PRIVATE house. Fara too.

we do hope to receive you here again, guests like you - are why we are in the hospitality business - thank you for showing your satisfaction with such special words.

warm wishes

from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My dad and I had been travelling along the Garden Route for a week, and we were on our way back to Cape Town when we stayed at De Kelders Private villa. No competition- it was the best place we had stayed on our travels. A beautiful, stylish house, AMAZING food, and a wonderful host. Neil and his team made us feel very much at home- a feeling that was missing at a lot of the other places we stayed. The service was unparalleled, and the rooms were luxurious and comfortable. I sincerely hope I'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ThorunnS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
dear Thorrun

it was wonderful to have you in your home and to see how much your father and you enjoyed de kelders and the meals

wishing you a good life and hope to see you back, in de kelders, soon

warm de kelders wishes

neil+staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The experience my family and I had at this beautiful villa is one that we will truly never forget. Neill and his team did such an amazing job at making us all feel so welcome and comfortable in his stunning home.
The food and service was all wonderful! Every morning we were greeted with a breakfast that was of the highest standard along with a smile from all the staff. The porridge was a particular highlight! 3 course dinners by candlelight with the family was truly amazing and was the perfect way to end a beautiful day in Gansbaai.
De Kelders Private Villa will be an unforgettable memory. Thank you so very much to all for making this holiday so special!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Stefan_Swanepoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
dear Stephan

it was our pleasure to receive you for your family reunion and birthday luncheon. as your host it was very special to see how you enjoyed the quality time spend in front of the fire, on the terrace and around the dining table.

thank you for making your weekend memorable in my mind.

warm wishes to your family

neil+staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were lucky enough to experience the beautiful and amazing De Kelders Private villa. Neil and his team were fantastic in every aspect, it felt like you were lounging around in your own house, that was the level of comfort. The food was incredible and the house immaculate and beautiful.
Thank you very much to all at De Kelders, what a memorable family holiday! Highly highly highly recommend a visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 598DanielS598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
dear Daniel

thank you so much for your review - it was wonderful to see how you and your family loved the house and de kelders. thank you for visiting us !

warm de kelders wishes

neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbaek, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had the most wonderful stay at Neil's house.
Beers by the pool, long walks by the sea, talks in the inspiring house and a more than welcoming host.
You can't dream of a better place to kick back and just take in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
dear Anne

thank you so much for your review. it was wonderful to receive you in our home - next time you must stay longer.

warm de kelders wishes

neil + staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Well to start with,I had no idea where I was going,which made the suprise all the more intriguing! Nothing could have prepared me for the peace and tranquility of De Kelders Private villa, Scrumptious hearty dinners and a breakfast set for Kings and Queens, prepared and served by Neil himself,all freshly made with produce from the area.A most engaging host if ever you will find one.Luleka spoilt me rotten!!Neil also asissted my partner with organising a massage and horse riding excursion which blew me away and adviced us on were to go when we left De Kelders.Attention to detail,exellent service and the most beautifully designed house make this a haven we will definately be returning to! Enjoy and many thanks to Neil,Luleka,Fara and Taluna.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Imaan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
dear Imaan

thank you for your review - it was so special to receive you in our home and to see how much you loved the house and de kelders.

warm de kelders wishes

neil+staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
612 reviews
0.3 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
2.8 mi away
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
#1 of 1 in Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
703 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 29 in Gansbaai
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Kelders Private Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Kelders Private Villa

Property: De Kelders Private Villa
Address: 35 Main Road | DE Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Kelders Private Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2014/2015/2016 TRIPADVISOR NO 1 in the Gansbaai and Overberg for speciality accommodation. The house is neither a B&B or a guest house. It is a villa and a haven for the discerning traveller, who understands quality, stillness and privacy. Acclaimed by ELLE Decoration, House&Leisure, Conde Nast House&Garden and Gourmet, the villa offers the luxury of privacy. Three large bedrooms only, a 150m lounge with library of magazines, books, music and films. Large fireplace for the winter nights. Large garden with secluded, private, heated salt water pool. The 80m open terrace with beautiful views of the village and Walker Bay is secluded and offers the perfect hideaway for reading. The ocean is 200 steps away. Our breakfasts are special and our pre-booked home cooked regional dinners are legendary. The owner is an author of cook books. The house in not branded, hence the name private house and can be rented for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your De Kelders Private Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing