We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure magic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Kelders Private Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Kelders Private Villa
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pure magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

The experience my family and I had at this beautiful villa is one that we will truly never forget. Neill and his team did such an amazing job at making us all feel so welcome and comfortable in his stunning home.
The food and service was all wonderful! Every morning we were greeted with a breakfast that was of the highest standard along with a smile from all the staff. The porridge was a particular highlight! 3 course dinners by candlelight with the family was truly amazing and was the perfect way to end a beautiful day in Gansbaai.
De Kelders Private Villa will be an unforgettable memory. Thank you so very much to all for making this holiday so special!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Stefan_Swanepoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
dear Stephan

it was our pleasure to receive you for your family reunion and birthday luncheon. as your host it was very special to see how you enjoyed the quality time spend in front of the fire, on the terrace and around the dining table.

thank you for making your weekend memorable in my mind.

warm wishes to your family

neil+staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
111
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were lucky enough to experience the beautiful and amazing De Kelders Private villa. Neil and his team were fantastic in every aspect, it felt like you were lounging around in your own house, that was the level of comfort. The food was incredible and the house immaculate and beautiful.
Thank you very much to all at De Kelders, what a memorable family holiday! Highly highly highly recommend a visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 598DanielS598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
dear Daniel

thank you so much for your review - it was wonderful to see how you and your family loved the house and de kelders. thank you for visiting us !

warm de kelders wishes

neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbaek, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had the most wonderful stay at Neil's house.
Beers by the pool, long walks by the sea, talks in the inspiring house and a more than welcoming host.
You can't dream of a better place to kick back and just take in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
dear Anne

thank you so much for your review. it was wonderful to receive you in our home - next time you must stay longer.

warm de kelders wishes

neil + staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Well to start with,I had no idea where I was going,which made the suprise all the more intriguing! Nothing could have prepared me for the peace and tranquility of De Kelders Private villa, Scrumptious hearty dinners and a breakfast set for Kings and Queens, prepared and served by Neil himself,all freshly made with produce from the area.A most engaging host if ever you will find one.Luleka spoilt me rotten!!Neil also asissted my partner with organising a massage and horse riding excursion which blew me away and adviced us on were to go when we left De Kelders.Attention to detail,exellent service and the most beautifully designed house make this a haven we will definately be returning to! Enjoy and many thanks to Neil,Luleka,Fara and Taluna.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Imaan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
dear Imaan

thank you for your review - it was so special to receive you in our home and to see how much you loved the house and de kelders.

warm de kelders wishes

neil+staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at De Kelders for 2 nights in March 2013 to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. Had a wonderfully relaxing weekend in this amazing house. Neil, Samkelo and Fara and Tuluna made us feel very at home. Neil cooked us the most amazing dinner and the breakfasts were also fantastic. Many thanks to Neil and his staff for a great stay. Hope to come back and see you soon.

David and Cindy Willcock

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
dear David and Cindy

thank you for your review - it was wonderful to have you as guests in our home -

we do hope to see you soon - enjoy the days of autumn

warm de kelders wishes

neil+staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We booked the private Villa the 2nd time within 4 weeks for another night on our Roundtrip. And everything was just perfect: the beautiful Mansion, our stylish Room with Spa, the cool pool, the Drinks, the Food & Dinner (which was served by the owner himself - many thanks to Neil and his stuff, also to Fara & Taluna)... We went to the wonderful Beach nearby and Neil gave us on our arrival a carebag packed with Towels, Food & Water! It is such a lovely place to stay - a real Gem for Body & Mind...We felt like Honeymooners! And we will return for sure! Therefore - Thanks again, Neil for your kindness!!

Room Tip: Room with the Spa is excellent! But also the other 2 Rooms are quiet nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
dear Michael

thank you so much for your kind review, it was wonderful for us to have you.

the beaches await you !

please visit us soon - best to Kristine

warm de kelders wishes

neil+staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a fantastic 5 night stay at De Kelders Private Villa, over the Xmas period, in December 2012. Their staff is very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was scrumptious. Dinners are served on special request and cooked by the resident owner/chef himself. We enjoyed the views from the patio and the relaxing and calming atmosphere of the house.
There are plenty of things to do in Kelders, wine tasting, scuba diving, whale watching, shark diving, wine farm visits and beach walks, to name but a few.
My favorite activity are beach walks.
We would love to do it again.
J & D

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jurgen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
dear Jurgen

thank you for your kind review and highlighting all the activities that one can do in our immediate area.

warm wishes to the family

neil+staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.3 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 30 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#12 of 30 in Gansbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
0.3 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#4 of 30 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Kelders Private Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Kelders Private Villa

Property: De Kelders Private Villa
Address: 35 Main Rd De Kelders | DE Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Kelders Private Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2014/2015/2016 TRIPADVISOR NO 1 in the Gansbaai and Overberg for speciality accommodation. The house is neither a B&B or a guest house. It is a villa and a haven for the discerning traveller, who understands quality, stillness and privacy. Acclaimed by ELLE Decoration, House&Leisure, Conde Nast House&Garden and Gourmet, the villa offers the luxury of privacy. Three large bedrooms only, a 150m lounge with library of magazines, books, music and films. Large fireplace for the winter nights. Large garden with secluded, private, heated salt water pool. The 80m open terrace with beautiful views of the village and Walker Bay is secluded and offers the perfect hideaway for reading. The ocean is 200 steps away. Our breakfasts are special and our pre-booked home cooked regional dinners are legendary. The owner is an author of cook books. The house in not branded, hence the name private house and can be rented for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your De Kelders Private Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing