We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Kelders Private Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
De Kelders Private Villa
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Almost home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Staying at Neil's is like visiting the home of an old friend who just happens to also be a uniquely talented designer and cook. We came to Gaansbai to see the sharks, but talking late into the night in the living room and exploring the remarkable collection of books and magazines (including National Geographic copies dating back to 1934) at De Kelders was easily the highlight of the trip. This is a truly special place and proof of the soothing effect of thoughtful design. I very much hope to get the chance to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wyatt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
dear Wyatt

thank you for your wonderful words, the legacy of your great grandfather is in you.

wishing you a happy life and that you may return to this very special place, soon

neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
111
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

What a wonderful surprise, we drove through on Saturday morning for a getaway from town for the day, you always expect something special when you go to a luxury guest house, but most most of the times it is a big dissapointment, from people that receive you that look like Aunt Stiene complete with sigarette in the mouth, but at the De Kelders Private Villa from the moment you step in the door it feels like home, Neil is a very goods host that treats his guests as part of the family, the house is beautifully decorated, the bedrooms spacious, no small spaces here and the bonus - a pool where you can relax when the wind blows on the beach or the patio where you can relax with a book in absolute peace. The food were great, thanks again for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gideon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
dear Gideon

thank you for staying with us - it was wonderful to have you here.

we do look forward to receive you back at de kelders PRIVATE house, soon.

warm wishes

neil+samkelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

What a great place! Neil and his team are great hosts and will do anything to make you feel comfortable and at home in his beautifully designed Villa. We stayed for 4 days (with a young baby) and enjoyed every minute of it. The rooms are nicely decorated, spacious and comfortable. On top Neil is a great cook, which is demonstrated during breakfasts and occasional dinners. We hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dutch1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
dear Agnes + Marijn + Oliver

thank you for your kind words - it is always a pleasure to receive guests from Holland in our home !

we do hope to see you soon

warm wishes to Amsterdam and restaurant As

neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Excellent!
So much fun!
Highly recommended.
Such great service, made the bride to be feel so special and ereyone so welcome.
Perfect place for photos, close to Town, beautiful interior.
Place to relax and chill in the pool,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anetm m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
dear Anet

thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are so happy that you had a memorable time, here in de kelders.

see you soon

neil+staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

A few of us stayed at the private house during December 2012. What a way to spend a holiday! Not only is the host laid-back and fun-loving but this is why you feel so truly comfortable in his house - no strings attached. The house is a must see for all decor fanatics which Neil seemingly put together so effortlessly! What a treat! Thank you for a lovely stay and we hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nefdttroue2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
thank you so much for your joyful review

we do hope to receive you back in de kelders, soon

wishing you a wonderful 2013

neil+staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The girls and I went to stay at De Kelders Private House pre-wedding (the day before). We started out wil champagne and cocktails in the swimming pool ;) The Husband and I also stayed there for the rest of the weekend after the wedding.

Neil was an amazing host! He believes that bread must be freshly baked (preferably by yourself) and shared between friends. He believes that food is not just for nutritional purposes, but should be enjoyed with fine wine and good company. (obviously i couldn't resit buying he's cookbook AS WELL!)

He has an amazing eye for detail!! He calls himself a space designer and rightly so, because he takes a space to the next level! He's not just an architect and/or interior designer - he is a true artist. I am not linguisticly equipped to describe the decor of De Kelder PRIVATE house - You should go see for yourself!

Room Tip: all the rooms are GORGEOUS! But the "honeymoon" room has a jacuzzi and a patio that goes t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank amanda smit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
dear Amanda - Vikus and friends

it was wonderful to be part of your perfect wedding day - thank you for spending time with us - we know you will be so happy together.

take care - see you soon

warm wishes

neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Neil and his very able team were wonderful. The rooms were top class, particularly the very special shower area, and the house is a delicious eclectic mix of old and new. Neil was lovely, a fantastic host and his breakfast was the best I've had. De Kelders is peaceful and relaxing- I would most definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
8 Thank Nat-George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
dear Natalie and George

thank you for staying at de kelders PRIVATE house, and for posting a special review. we do hope to receive you back in de kelders, soon

warm wishes

neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.3 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 30 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#4 of 30 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#12 of 30 in Gansbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whalesong Lodge
Whalesong Lodge
#8 of 30 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Kelders Private Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Kelders Private Villa

Property: De Kelders Private Villa
Address: 35 Main Rd De Kelders | DE Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Kelders Private Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2014/2015/2016 TRIPADVISOR NO 1 in the Gansbaai and Overberg for speciality accommodation. The house is neither a B&B or a guest house. It is a villa and a haven for the discerning traveller, who understands quality, stillness and privacy. Acclaimed by ELLE Decoration, House&Leisure, Conde Nast House&Garden and Gourmet, the villa offers the luxury of privacy. Three large bedrooms only, a 150m lounge with library of magazines, books, music and films. Large fireplace for the winter nights. Large garden with secluded, private, heated salt water pool. The 80m open terrace with beautiful views of the village and Walker Bay is secluded and offers the perfect hideaway for reading. The ocean is 200 steps away. Our breakfasts are special and our pre-booked home cooked regional dinners are legendary. The owner is an author of cook books. The house in not branded, hence the name private house and can be rented for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your De Kelders Private Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing