We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate relaxation haven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De Kelders Private Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The ultimate relaxation haven!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

What a wonderful, relaxing experience I had with my daughter and her cousin at De Kelders Private Villa in the cold & wet winter month of June this year! Sitting in the most beautiful 'home' in the whole of South Africa, watching the rain dancing on the dunes with a good book, good music and lots of DVD's was pure bliss. Not to talk about the constant crackling of the fire wood... and Tulula's purring on my lap.
I can't wait for my next de kelders getaway...
thanks Niel for restoring my balance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank anneke b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
dear Anneke

thank you so much for your review - do hope to have you back in de kelders, soon

warm wishes

neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
112
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camps Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I was fortunate enough to have experienced the warmth, hospitality and exceptional high standard of accommodation, food and outstanding hosting at this beautiful location in Gansbaai. Niel is a host par excellence and has succeeded in creating a home away from home for his guests. An absolute must to stay when in the area or even worth a destination if not!

Room Tip: Spoilt for choice!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Dèhan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
dear Dehan thank you so much for your review, we do look forward to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhb
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

De Kelders Private Villa exceeded all our expectations. The Villa is tastefully furnished, yet Neil is quick to make you feel absolutely welcome and totally relaxed in his beautiful place. He is the perfect host and had a wonderful way with interacting with my children. My kids quickly made friends with Tulula, the queen cat.
Neil's attention to detail didn't go unnoticed, be it the design of the house, the special treats at breakfast or the beautiful background music.
By walking a few hundred metres down the road we had some fantastic Southern Right whale sigtings.

Room Tip: All three rooms are beautifully appointed, but my preference would be the one leading onto the garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank JDuvenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
dear Jolande

it was wonderful to have you, here, in our home - thank you for staying with us - we do hope to welcome you and your family back soon

warm de kelders wishes


neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upington, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I had the luxury of staying at De Kelders Private House at the end of March 2012. What a fantastic experience! I immediately felt so at home and Queen Tuluna, the cat, was the perfect companion. I spent hours on the stoep reading and listening to the most exquisite music that is available. The fact that there is no DStv was an absolute blessing, although there is a brilliant collection of dvd's that allowed me to escape into a secret world of my own. The house truly comforts and loves you. Late afternoon walks down to the beach were fabulous. I left there feeling revived, courageous and in love with life all over again. Definitely a must!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Dirkje B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear DIrkje

Thank you for your wonderful review , we do hope to welcome you back soon. Warm de kelders wishes . Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Don't even dare drive past De Kelders without spending a day or more at De Kelders Private Villa. The loss will be yours and great for that matter. Not knowing much about this quaint little hamlet, we arrived just before sunset and stepped into an experience I still find hard to explain. Meeting our host Neil Stemmet, a celebrity designer and cook in his own right, I instantly knew that we were in for a treatment; 'sans pareil'. The opulent decor, sweeping views, exceptional cuisine and fine (and I mean fine) attention to detail were delicately juxtaposed with a strong sense of closeness to the earth and homeliness seldom experienced in an establishment of this nature. Dinner and breakfast were both unforgettable culinary experiences and the rest of our time was spent curled up on couches in front of the fire reading from Neil’s formidable collection of reading material, listening to his even more formidable music collection, whale watching, walking along the pristine beaches and being pampered very generously by our host. We came away inspired and brimming with new creative energy.
Also, when visiting, do not leave without a copy of his recipe book "Sout en Peper" (soon out in English). I still cry every time I read an excerpt from his nostalgic culinary memoirs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
dear Tania , thank you so much for your generous and kind words , we will treasure them - always. the whales are back in the bay, please come see them soon . neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

What a delightful weekend we had at Private Villa. After just one night away it felt as if we have been on a relaxing holiday for a week! The house is beautifully designed and the interior speaks only of elegance and style with a garden to match. Unfortunately we left just to early to see the first whales of the season arriving, but we will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank marethadreyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
dear Maretha

thank you for your kind review - we loved having you here

the whales have arrived and the days are glorious - another beautiful winter in de kelders.

we do hope to receive you soon

warm wishes

neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

It was a pleasure and pure luxury to live in the private villa. The villa is a designer's jewel and walking around the house and looking at the little and bigger precious designs of lamps, chairs, tableware etc. is just like living in a deco magazine. The atmosphere is like staying at a friend's home, there is nothing like being in a hotel. Breakfast was wonderful, the landscape is great, you can walk and stay totally by your own at the beach. Hopefully we will be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank l_a_elnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
dear Lili and Andre

thank you so much for your review ;-)

we do hope to see you soon for a return visit

warm de kelders wishes to you in Munchen

neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gansbaai hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
613 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 29 in Gansbaai
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
155 reviews
4.1 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#4 of 29 in Gansbaai
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Kelders Private Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Kelders Private Villa

Property: De Kelders Private Villa
Address: 35 Main Road | DE Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Kelders Private Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2014/2015/2016 TRIPADVISOR NO 1 in the Gansbaai and Overberg for speciality accommodation. The house is neither a B&B or a guest house. It is a villa and a haven for the discerning traveller, who understands quality, stillness and privacy. Acclaimed by ELLE Decoration, House&Leisure, Conde Nast House&Garden and Gourmet, the villa offers the luxury of privacy. Three large bedrooms only, a 150m lounge with library of magazines, books, music and films. Large fireplace for the winter nights. Large garden with secluded, private, heated salt water pool. The 80m open terrace with beautiful views of the village and Walker Bay is secluded and offers the perfect hideaway for reading. The ocean is 200 steps away. Our breakfasts are special and our pre-booked home cooked regional dinners are legendary. The owner is an author of cook books. The house in not branded, hence the name private house and can be rented for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your De Kelders Private Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing