We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something Special happened at Private Villa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De Kelders Private Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Swellendam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Something Special happened at Private Villa”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

In my recent review of Private Villa, De Kelders, I ended with these portent words:
“Private Villa is not a once-only place – very definitely, “We’ll be back!”
Little did we know or realise that we would be back - within a matter of weeks!

Our Paris-based son had been so impressed, not only with the beautiful coastline of Gansbaai De Kelders but also with the unique qualities of our accommodation, that when it came to celebrating his Mumsies 80th birthday in December, he immediately set about organising the party at Private Villa.

It so happened that the venue is neatly placed midway between Cape Town and Swellendam and, on the day, a score of special guests from these centres graced the beautifully decorated banquet table. Our host Niël Stemmet had just published his book on South African traditional dishes ‘Sout en Peper’ and was able to explain that every item on the extensive menu had been taken from the book for this auspicious occasion.

It was a feast to remember - rounded off perfectly with a charming duet with Michele on the flute and David on the piano. Guests set off home with stars in their eyes and love and music in their hearts.

Thank you Niël, David and Michele for such a memorable birthday celebration which our ‘Mumsie’ will never forget.

Room Tip: We liked our room overlooking the little pool patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank RaymondESwellendam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
dear Raymond - it was our honor to receive you in our home and to participate in the celebration of your wives 80th birthday

thank you so much for your review - we do hope to see you soon for your third visit

warm de kelders wishes

neil+david
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
112
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Everything at De Kelders will reaffirm why South Africa/ns are renowned for their hospitality. A warmer, friendlier place will be hard to find.

Location - De Kelders is situated close to many eco attractions without being ‘in the eye of the storm’. If you need peace and quiet this is the place for you, but if you need action, this is close enough to many eco and adventure attractions to satisfy such a need. Nearby attractions include Die Plaat, Walker Bay Nature Reserve with 20km of quiet beaches, shark cage diving, wine farms, golfing, etc.

Reception - You will be met with warmth by the owners or staff. In no time you will feel completely at home. You will never feel like you are living in a B&B/Inn, but when you need advice, information, etc. someone will be on hand to attend to you with a smile and extreme helpfulness. ‘Quietly professional’

Room - As we were alone in the villa at the time, we had the privilege to look at all the rooms to decide where we wanted to sleep. It was difficult to decide as all the rooms are exquisite. It was peaceful, immaculately clean, beautifully furnished and with all the amenities you will expect in a 5 star establishment.

Bathrooms - The bathrooms were modern, interesting and everything in perfect working order. The finishing touches were a real delight.

Villa - The villa is stylish, modern and unique in its design with homely features - like a couple of very well behaved cats. Tastefully understated.
You will find many interesting things to while the time away - the décor will keep you entertained – noticing things that you have not taken in during the first ‘look-around’, large collection of music and movies, etc.
You will also find a terrace ideal for an al fresco meal, having a sundowner or just lounging around

Furnishings - The furniture is of the highest quality and taste. You could see the hand of expert designers in it. Often furniture might be pleasing to the eye, but in practice end up uncomfortable. In this case, both aesthetics and comfort is top notch. Beds are comfortable, pillows are divine and the linen is high quality. The princess would not have found a pea to complain about!

Meals - Apart from breakfast, meals are prepared on request. Both owners are EXCELLENT cooks. Only the best and freshest produce is bought. Neil has just written an acclaimed book on cooking as it was pre-MSG etc and we can assure you that having dinner at De Kelders will be one of the highlights of your trip. Although there are restaurants not too far away (there is also a restaurant next door), you will be well advised to dine in-house!
Breakfast is to die for and is served up to 10h00 at the time that suits you.
Coffee/Tea and delicious homemade biscuits and ‘beskuit’ (rusks) is served all day.

Business Services - Hopefully you will not need these services at a place like this, wifi is available and free. Fax services are also available

General - This is truly a place to recharge your batteries and you won’t regret choosing De Kelders. Neil and David will give you a time to remember!

Room Tip: All rooms are exquisite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank TomYum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Manager at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
dear Lizette

thank you so much, for your very thorough and informative review, it will give all our clients a special insight into what we offer at de kelders PRIVATE house.

thank you again

hope to see you soon

warm wishes from the bay

neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We had a very warm welcome by David, our landlord. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in de Kelders. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the service was excellent. A special highlight was David’s delicious dinner. We are sure to come back one day.
Elke, Volker, Hildegard + Uwe

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
40 Thank Uwe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
thank you so much for your wonderful words

warm de kelders wishes

neil and david
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

It was by far the best accommodation during our honeymoon. The villa is very nicely decorated, with a very good taste. Our room was very comfortable, great mattress and an awesome jacuzzi and direct access to the pool.
We were able to spot so many whales and it is very convenient to go white shark diving, which by the way was amazing.
Neil, was a fantastic host he took care of all the details to make our stay special, even receiving us with champagne. He is a professional cook and help us book activities and special dinners! We surely suggest this villa! We already miss Tuluna(the cat which hosted us as well)

Room Tip: Book in advance and contact Neil by email, he will surely be very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
41 Thank Rafag80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
thank you for your review. we hope to see you again with your children !

warm wishes

neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We had a fantastic 3 night stay at De Kelders Private Villa in December 2011. Their staff is very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was scrumptious. We enjoyed the views from thei patio and the relaxing and calming atmosphere of the house.
We would love to do it again.
Eva, Ingrid & Jurgen

Room Tip: every room is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
40 Thank Jurgen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
thank you Jurgen

always good to have you back as a return guest

warm wishes

neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed here after reading the good reviews and it was the highlight of our holiday. We knew upon arrival that we were in for a wonderful experience and it was so good that at the end of our trip returning here was the only option.
The house is so amazing, with Neil's style, good taste and attention to detail, a great book case and David's fantastic CD collection . Whilst living in a setting any interior magazine would be proud of , we felt totally at home and relaxed, David and Neil are such great hosts and please try the evening meals, they are so delicious.

What better ways to spent your evening, watching whales basking in the ocean within minutes walk from your villa.

Thank you so much - we shall return soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
40 Thank GGCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
thank you so much for your wonderful words - it means a lot to us

warm de kelders wishes

neil+david
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, Lancs
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

One of the most welcoming places we've ever stayed at. A brilliant location coupled with a truly relaxed atmosphere really helps you to enter the holiday mode.
The owners are attentive without being intrusive and genuinely want you to use the house as your own. Nothing is too much trouble and everything you could want is available.
The building and decoration are in impeccable taste, brilliantly designed and exceptionally clean.
The food is quite simply stunning. Michelin star quality (but lots more quantity!)
On our 3 week tour of the garden route it was such a delightful place to be we returned on the way back!
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
39 Thank lerxxst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
thank you so much for your review !

we do look forward to see you back in de kelders for your third visit

warm de kelders wishes

neil+david
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
612 reviews
0.3 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
2.8 mi away
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
#1 of 1 in Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
703 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 29 in Gansbaai
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Kelders Private Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Kelders Private Villa

Property: De Kelders Private Villa
Address: 35 Main Road | DE Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Kelders Private Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2014/2015/2016 TRIPADVISOR NO 1 in the Gansbaai and Overberg for speciality accommodation. The house is neither a B&B or a guest house. It is a villa and a haven for the discerning traveller, who understands quality, stillness and privacy. Acclaimed by ELLE Decoration, House&Leisure, Conde Nast House&Garden and Gourmet, the villa offers the luxury of privacy. Three large bedrooms only, a 150m lounge with library of magazines, books, music and films. Large fireplace for the winter nights. Large garden with secluded, private, heated salt water pool. The 80m open terrace with beautiful views of the village and Walker Bay is secluded and offers the perfect hideaway for reading. The ocean is 200 steps away. Our breakfasts are special and our pre-booked home cooked regional dinners are legendary. The owner is an author of cook books. The house in not branded, hence the name private house and can be rented for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your De Kelders Private Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing