We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic dinner in great ambiance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thyme at Rosemary's Restaurant

Thyme at Rosemary's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Gansbaai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Seafood, European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: WE ARE NOT CHILD FRIENDLY.
Voorhout, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic dinner in great ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

The servce wqas grerat, te meal tasted awsome. Thr best ribs I ever tasted and the fish that my duaghter had was also great. My wife had the specialty of the house which was a duck that tasted fantastic as well. great value for money

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    139
    32
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“As magical as the last time, if not better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Spent a wonderful weekend in Gansbaai with friends and couldn't wait to return to Thyme at Rosemary. I so love the charm and ambience of this precious and homely restaurant. The attention to detail is marvellous in the decor, kind of classy, country chic and also quite quirky.

We were fortunate enough to chat to Rosemary for a while and hear more of her interesting stories. The service was also great and her staff are like part of the family. Janna was especially attentive and a breath of fresh air.

Service is a little slow but so worth the wait and we all know that good food takes time to prepare. Also wonderful to sit outside at the back of the restaurant in the gorgeous and magical garden.

I so loved the sweet chilli chicken livers the last time and they were just as incredible this time around. The snoek blintzes (folded crepes) I made sure to devour this time! Yum I could eat them all day. Almost forgot the frikkadels... they were sublime! As mains we enjoyed a generous seafood platter and the oxtail.

Desserts we drooled over were the rhubarb and quince crumble and turkish delight cheesecake.



Are we back yet? : )

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MerlotCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Arrived in Gansbaai fairly late one evening, and Rosemary's took us in! I really think they stayed open late for us, and provided us with a wonderful meal and great friendly service. We sat in the back sun room and they turned on a heater for us. It was lovely and cozy. We all tried different things off the menu (4 of us). I got a salad and bruscetta - fabulous. My dad got the Oxtail and he raved about it. Mom got the seafood stew and my husband got a pasta dish - both to excellent reviews. We finished with a brandy pudding which was outstanding.

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the service provided to us. One of the owners was our server and she was a great cut-up. She made the experience really fun.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KyRooTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansbaai, South Africa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent, excellent something completely memoriable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Now and then I got guests that got there special anniversary or birthday. I recommend Rosemary’s restaurant for the occasion. My guest from Switzerland where very surprise and pleased. Complimentary welcome aperitifs where given on arrival for the Birthday Guest. The evening where a success.
For Lunch, Dinner or Tea Time at Rosemary’s you will be pleasant surprise. You will only get ONE Restaurant like this. Read the excellent review and treat yourself...
Just to wander to the Tea Garden take you back, the decor inside the Restaurant are unique. Even a little shop to buy nic nacks or gifts at reasonable prices.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johannes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

I had a great meal at Thyme at Rosemary's last weekend. I was traveling solo through Gansbaii and my B&B recommended and made a reservation for me. Its a cozy quirky restaurant that has a homey feel and interesting decor.

The food was great. I asked for recommendations and I started off with a seafood salad which was fabulous with heaps of mussels. prawns and squid over greens. I then had bobotie, the national dish of South Africa, which was also great. I finished off the meal with some cheesecake. I also had a glass of the house red and white wines both of which were surprisingly good. All in all a great meal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larisa1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thyme at Rosemary's Restaurant also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to Thyme at Rosemary's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing