We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food and lovely atmosphere”

Thyme at Rosemary's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Gansbaai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Seafood, European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Thyme at Rosemary's is a unique, cozy restaurant situated along the main road of Gansbaai. The restaurant boasts a beautiful garden out back serving lunches between 12h00 & 15h30 as well as two lovely interior seating areas serving diners from 18h30. The menu consists of fresh seafood, traditional South African country cuisine, grills and various daily speciality dishes. Bookings essential
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Delicious food and lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We chanced up this lovely restaurant when the Saxon Lodge B&B told us on the day we arrived that no dinner was available (despite what the website says!)
Thyme at Rosemary was just lovely, warm and cosy with a lovely log fire. Delightful waitress and a menu that was not large so everything was really fresh and delicious.
Beautifully presented and good value.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kategc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    141
    32
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They told us we would go to Harry Potter's House...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Very special decoration - you really get to think that your are a guest at Hogwart :-)
Excellent food - hat a huge fisch platter - one of the best we ever had!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie72_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super nice evening!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

The evening at Rosemary's was really really nice! They cared perfectly for us...even as I wanted to move the table to have a good view into the room.
We had the Bobotie and the Oxtail as main course and it was the highlight of the evening and as delicious as I would love to get the recipe!!! yummyyy
Wie will come back for sure!
Thanks a lot for the great evening

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helena127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansbaai, South Africa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Rosemary T-time and later.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have never been there till Dutch friends ask me where can we go they wanna treat me. The setting and decor are very intresting, from my view. I think it is a little overpriced for the portion you got, wonderful for tourist and the Tea Garden at the back you do not see from the front is a worth visit..

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Johannes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoponpop, Owner at Thyme at Rosemary's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Hi Johannes,
I am really sooo sad to hear that you have found my portions to be on the small side.
Pity you did not bring it to may immediate attention as I have no problem at all to satisfy every single guest who dines here.
I would happily have offered to reduce the charge or offered an extra helping .
The international tourists normally complain that the portions are too large and hence I have toned it down a bit.
Please next time you visit Rosemary's I would like to meet with you and make sure you leave here as a very happy chappy.
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful garden.
Kindest regards

Rosemary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best old charm with delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Do not miss the opportunity to visit this beautiful old charm restaurant when you go to Gansbaai to watch the whales.
Experience the traditional food of South Africa at its best.
The staff was very helpful and we also have to opportunity to admire the beautiful garden and also this beautiful house with antique furniture.
The wallpaper is of origin newspapers dated 1916.
As it was a rainy day we were not able to sit in the garden for your lunch, but enjoy our food next to the warm fireplace.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lulu312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thyme at Rosemary's Restaurant also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to Thyme at Rosemary's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing