We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Surprise!”

Thyme at Rosemary's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 29 Restaurants in Gansbaai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Thyme at Rosemary's is a unique, cozy restaurant situated along the main road of Gansbaai. The restaurant boasts a beautiful garden out back serving lunches between 12h00 & 15h30 as well as two lovely interior seating areas serving diners from 18h30. The menu consists of fresh seafood, traditional South African country cuisine, grills and various daily speciality dishes. Bookings essential
Mcgregor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a Surprise!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were looking for a restaurant to celebrate our anniversary.
Nowhere could we find a restaurant that looked suitable.
Then we saw Thyme At Rosemary.
We were not disappointed. A well managed restaurant, friendly staff, and Rosemary, the very
interesting to talk to, hostess.

We had a delicious lunch and lovely homemade cheese cake outside in the lovely garden.

Thank you, Rosemary, for a lovely, interesting afternoon at your restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marieke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    142
    32
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liscannor, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“simply delicious”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening meal at Rosemary's. Her South African traditional dish - Boboti was delicious. Rosemary is an excellent hostess, she stopped at each table to welcome the diners. Her staff are excellent also.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susannejward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

What a lovely little restaurant. We had two meals there during our stay in Gansbaai and both were excellent. The food was tasty and well presented and the staff were friendly and attentive. A lovely fireplace set the mood. Our only complaint would be that the tables are very uncomfortable to sit at.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichelleB442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A good restaurant”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

It is very nice decorated and well served. It gives a nice homey feeling. the food is good and they offer a nice menu.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank qarliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

A very pleasant dinner experience. Rosemary is a lovely hostess. Her staff are friendly.
The food was good and the vegetables excellent.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thyme at Rosemary's Restaurant also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
De Kelders, Western Cape
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to Thyme at Rosemary's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing