We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saxon Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Baleens(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$501
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor Hotel & Apartments(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$71
$63
SA Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Pines Lodge(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$80
$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveler rating
368
81
5
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
81
5
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostsgreat barcape towntwo nightsowners and staffelectric blanketsshark divefish factoryamazing hospitalityhome from homemake you feel at homea great place to stayb bgreat white sharksold friendsgarden routewhale watching
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 460 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We fell in love with this B&B and city of Gansbaai! The hospitality of Dave and Caron was amazing-like old friends! Helped us with directions, checking on shark dive, and having a few drinks with us. We are from California and normally don't travel places twice-South Africa and this B&B will be an exception. Thank you!!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank heidiarciaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We loved our first visit to Saxon Lodge two years ago so much that we just had to go back. Dave & Caron are wonderful hosts and feel like good friends.

Caron is a great cook, she fed us one evening and recommended a good restaurant on the other. Dave’s ‘bar’ is a great place to try a few beers and chat in the evening and get some tips about what to do the following day. Dave always has good ideas, gives great advice - and printed instructions!

Once again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Albatross room and hope to return again some day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stulynne42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This place is all about the hospitality. Dave and Caron both made us all feel at home.

Great location great accomadation and great people to spend time with.

The owners knowledge of the area was brilliant pointing us to all the great points of interest and good places to eat.

Caron cooked us an evening meal and it was amazing i can see why they request notice because they went out and bought all fresh products and cooked all from fresh ....thanks Caron!

Amazing place with amazing surroundings I have seen the real South Africa not the South Africa the media wants us to see.

We arrived as guests left as friends.

Simon T

Room Tip: Book dinner in advance it's worth it !
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Dave, Caron and their lovely dogs made this one of our favourite stops on our South Africa trip. They were both extremely hospitable and helpful with Dave booking me last minute onto a caged shark dive which I really appreciated. The rooms are lovely surrounding a terrace and a great little pool overlooking the harbour - it was a very welcoming place to stay. The bar was a lovely touch and the breakfast was the best breakfast in South Africa!! So delicious. There are lovely restaurants nearby and Dave was always willing to make recommendations. We truly enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugartot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here one night - far too short. The hospitality was amazing! Caron and Dave make you feel so welcome, it's like staying with family! The rooms are nice and clean and the pool is very inviting. There are plenty of restaurants close by and the pub at the Saxon Lodge is great, giving the place an extra thumbs-up! We would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews