We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saxon Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Sea Star Lodge(Gansbaai)
$124
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Ocean Crest Guesthouse and B&B(Gansbaai)(Great Value!)
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gansbaai Town Lodge(Gansbaai)(Great Value!)
$35
$34
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oom Piet Accommodation(Gansbaai)(Great Value!)
$28
$27
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bay Lodge(Gansbaai)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Roundhouse Guesthouse(Gansbaai)(Great Value!)
$55
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aire del Mar Guest House(Gansbaai)(Great Value!)
$66
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amazing Grace B&B(Gansbaai)(Great Value!)
$66
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveler rating
368
81
5
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
81
5
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostsgreat barcape towntwo nightsowners and staffelectric blanketsshark divefish factoryamazing hospitalityhome from homemake you feel at homea great place to staygreat white sharksold friendsgarden routewhale watchinglocal knowledge
Filter
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 460 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was such a great time. I will definitely be going back. Caron & Dave made me feel right at home!!! People that know what is going on in their surroundings and know how to treat guests. I loved it and will for sure be recommending them to ANYONE who goes to Gansbaai. Thank you so much for everything.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you angel, it was so good to have you staying with us and we are so glad you had a great experience with the sharks. Hopefully next time you will get the breaching experience you were looking for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

To celebrate our first year together, my boyfriend had planned for us to head away from the city for the weekend and for our second night away we decided to wing it and booked in to the saxon lodge which turned out to be such a beautiful, quaint and friendly place to be in.
The room (albatross) was warm, cosy and stunning views and the owners were very friendly and accommodating. We really felt welcome and that they went out of their way to make us feel at home and plan our next days adventure. We will definitely be returning there as soon as time allows. Thank you for such great hospitality and wonderful recommendations.
"Rosemary's" was a nice choice to end off our evening with a home cooked meal and dessert in her magical garden.

Room Tip: We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was great with a stunning view and im sure the other rooms are just as good. Best part is that all the rooms are not in or part of the house which is nice to have that bit of privacy .
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celeste F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our second visit to Gansbaai, but the first time that we had stayed at Saxon Lodge. What a find! Everything was absolutely first rate - the rooms, the food and the hospitality. The hotel overlooks the harbour, with a compact garden area complete with pool. Most evenings began with a quiet drink in the comfortable bar, served by mine host, Dave. Plenty of nearby restaurants are available when Caron is not serving her memorable dinners. We shall be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony_Stone_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Aaahhh!! thank you the 'Stone family' - we had such fun whilst you were here - it felt like a big family get together. We are looking forward to another visit sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Saxon Lodge last week and I would like to say Thank You to Dave who went that extra mile to make our stay even more memorable. He also know Gansbaai area very well, so anything you would like to know, Dave is the person to talk to. We had a look at the rest of the other suites, and I must add, real value for money.
Thank You to all the other staff who I didn't mention. My only regret is that we booked for one night only, and should have booked for at least a week.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outandaboutKnysna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Hello and thank you. It was a great pleasure having you at our lodge. I love Gansbaai and want our visitors to get as excited about it as I do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We originally planned to stay in Hermanus, but it was quite packed there, and as we wanted to go on a shark-trip as well, we looked up Gansbaii instead and stumbled across this beautiful refuge. quiet, with a nice view over the bay and the harbour. the hosts are very hearty and all of us enjoyed our stay (2 couples). they assisted us with finding a shark-trip for the next day, and Dave gave us very detailed tips for the rest of our tour.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mallexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Well I always wonder whether these serendipitous occasions are mistakes, we certainly enjoyed having you here and it all felt very much like it was planned this way. I do hear what you are saying though - these chance decisions turn out to be such fun! Great having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews