We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A big thank you to Caron & Dave”
Review of Saxon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saxon Lodge
Ranked #5 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A big thank you to Caron & Dave”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our second visit to Gansbaai, but the first time that we had stayed at Saxon Lodge. What a find! Everything was absolutely first rate - the rooms, the food and the hospitality. The hotel overlooks the harbour, with a compact garden area complete with pool. Most evenings began with a quiet drink in the comfortable bar, served by mine host, Dave. Plenty of nearby restaurants are available when Caron is not serving her memorable dinners. We shall be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony_Stone_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Aaahhh!! thank you the 'Stone family' - we had such fun whilst you were here - it felt like a big family get together. We are looking forward to another visit sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    75
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
79
148
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Saxon Lodge last week and I would like to say Thank You to Dave who went that extra mile to make our stay even more memorable. He also know Gansbaai area very well, so anything you would like to know, Dave is the person to talk to. We had a look at the rest of the other suites, and I must add, real value for money.
Thank You to all the other staff who I didn't mention. My only regret is that we booked for one night only, and should have booked for at least a week.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outandaboutKnysna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hello and thank you. It was a great pleasure having you at our lodge. I love Gansbaai and want our visitors to get as excited about it as I do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We originally planned to stay in Hermanus, but it was quite packed there, and as we wanted to go on a shark-trip as well, we looked up Gansbaii instead and stumbled across this beautiful refuge. quiet, with a nice view over the bay and the harbour. the hosts are very hearty and all of us enjoyed our stay (2 couples). they assisted us with finding a shark-trip for the next day, and Dave gave us very detailed tips for the rest of our tour.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mallexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Well I always wonder whether these serendipitous occasions are mistakes, we certainly enjoyed having you here and it all felt very much like it was planned this way. I do hear what you are saying though - these chance decisions turn out to be such fun! Great having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
329 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Dave and Caron were the most wonderful hosts and we couldn't have been more pleased. The room was nice and had an ocean view. The pool was relaxing and the information we got from our hosts invaluable. Breakfast was excellent and the nearby restaurants were all good for dinner.

We had planned to go hiking with our hosts but had to cut the trip short because of a fuel contamination at the international airport in Joberg. We hope to go back and take up where we left off.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. It was a great pleasure having you at our beautiful lodge and such a pity you had to leave so early. We would certainly love to have you back here to pick up where you left off....so much more to see and do. Best regards Dave and Caron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This place was GREAT! We arrived late after some driving detours, but were greeted with such warmth and hospitality, I felt like I arrived home! We had a message from our shark diving organization, and the manager (the owner was out, but was just as nice via email) helped us to call them back and figure things out. Then, she gave us a great review of the restaurants (we chose Rosemary's and you should as well!) We had to leave very early the next morning for the dive, but she was up to see us off, and made sure we had good directions. The accommodations were lovely (it got a bit hot but we just turned the fan on and were fine.) If you need a place to rest your head in or around Gansbaai, check this place out!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bridget P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and staying at our lodge. It is so good to have such positive and alive people staying with us. I am also so glad that you enjoyed dining with Rosemary...
Best regards
Caron & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent a wonderful weekend at this very charming and cosy guesthouse. Our hosts Dave and Caron were attentive and always ready to help with any information needed.

The view from our room was picture perfect with a working harbour and fishing boats.

Breakfast was wonderful and served piping hot (something that you don't often find) and the service very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerlotCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padova
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just the view from the lodge to the ocean and harbour could be enough to describe the wellness of the place.
If you add the warm welcome of the owners, Dave and Caron, it's a perfect combination to let you feel the Saxon lodge as your second home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
2.2 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#4 of 29 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 29 in Gansbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aire del Mar Guest House
Aire del Mar Guest House
#15 of 29 in Gansbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
2.4 mi away
Kleinzee Oceanfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saxon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxon Lodge

Property: Saxon Lodge
Address: No 1 Miller Street | Gansbaai, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Saxon Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views across Walker Bay, overlooking the traditional Gansbaai harbour, Saxon Lodge offers a down to earth, home from home stay in Gansbaai, The Great White Capital of the World TM and sanctuary for Southern Right Whales in winter. Unwind in one of our spacious rooms, or individually decorated suites with private entrances and verandas and take in this amazing eco-adventure paradise. From the lodge it is an easy walk to shops, banks, pubs and restaurants. We also have our cosy and popular licensed and well stocked bar, The Saxon Arms, catering for residents only, specialising in local wines and craft beers. Dave and Caron will assist with your itinerary and activity planning and bookings and ensure that you leave with great memories of Gansbaai. 2 hours from Cape Town, 30 minutes from Hermanus and en-route to or from the Garden Route, Gansbaai offers an authentic and dramatic marine, floral and mountainous playground to explore, experience and enjoy. Saxon Lodge in Gansbaai, your best choice for accommodation and real South Africa hospitality. Looking forward to meeting you Your hosts Dave & Caron ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Saxon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing