We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a single complaint!”

White Shark Projects
Book In Advance
More Info
$143.10*
and up
Half-Day White Shark Cage Diving from Gansbaai
Ranked #3 of 21 Tours in Gansbaai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: White Shark Projects welcomes local and international tourists, divers and non-divers … anyone who wishes to encounter, dive with, or view white sharks in a safe and professional environment. White Shark Projects was established in 1989 and is a world-leading organisation that focuses on the conservation of great white sharks through responsible tourism and research. Expect excellent customer service, good value and operational efficiency.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Not a single complaint!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Loved this spot! Saw five or six huge (HUGE) white sharks during our tour, and they let me stay in the cage the entire time (~2 hours or so). Recommend this place 100%!

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank tylerhumphrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julia b, Manager at White Shark Projects, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
WOW! Sounds like you had a fantastic trip! We have been having some sightings of large sharks in the area, glad you got to observe some :) Thanks for taking the time to write a review, it means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    587
    194
    41
    12
    23
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gotham City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unreal Expeerience”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Of all the adventurous things we did in South Africa on our honeymoon, the White Shark Projects was truly an experience unlike any others. Seeing this beautiful creature in its own environment, ( not on tv ) was extremely rewarding.

The Staff was friendly, helpful and really put you in the heart of the cage diving experience. They are very educational about the whites, teach you about their behaviors and let you immerse yourself in the experience.

I've been wanting to do this pretty much my whole life, this experience was incredible and did not disappoint at all. After a few hours in the cold Atlantic, they warm you up back in Gansbaai with a nice hot meal which was very satisfying.

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank salappat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julia b, Manager at White Shark Projects, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are so happy we got to share your honeymoon with you and make it one you will never forget :) Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review on your trip we really appreciate the feedback and are so happy you had such a wonderful time and got to see these wonderful animals in the wild.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Professional, but slow with details”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great staff and boat. Our first reservation was cancelled due to weather. Our second was changed a few times. We were "bumped" from first boat of the day and ended up on second trip of morning which put us in a time crunch for getting on to flights.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 813AndrewP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julia b, Manager at White Shark Projects, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it as we are always striving to offer the best experience we can from start to finish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Do something WILD!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We went on the Shark Dive in September 2013 in Gansbaai and what a lovely experience! More so, the group we went WITH! Mostly young foreigners ready to dive with a shark! We started off early (06h30) at the offices of the White Shark Projects and we were welcomed with a video of the experience while enjoying a great BREAKFAST! It was quite cold and everyone was diving into the food first! We then, completed forms and had a information session on HOW it gets done: the DO and DON'T! And off we went......waiting to see who is the first to get seasick! One guy unfortunately got sick in the end.

We left Gansbaai and soon the seagulls followed the boat trying to get a SNACK from the sardines meant for the Sharks. They gave us some good entertainment and after about 15 minutes, the organisers stopped the boat where we waited for the first shark to appear. And we did'nt wait tooo long as the first white Shark popped out of the water to great entertainment of the first group of 6 people in the cage. Wow what excitement! Although it was very early in the season, there ws no shortage of sharks to see but unfortunately the wind changed suddenly and we had to return to the shore.......with a bumpy ride!!!!! But also this was FUN FUN FUN! Lovely area and lovely people.

Afterwards, a CD can be purchased as well as T-shirts as a souvenir of this great experience. Try and go down with the first group as the sharks may disappear later and you may wait for nothing.......

Just go and DO IT!

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank ItalyEleonora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julia b, Manager at White Shark Projects, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Glad you had so much fun out at sea with us :) The sub antartic skua's are very entertaining at this of year! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us, it really means at lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reichenburg, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Great experience”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Make this trip and you will see the white shark is not bad. He is very soft and awe, like a cat.
Make this trip and save the existence from the white shark.

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Manfred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julia b, Manager at White Shark Projects, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a response about your trip. We are glad you are spreading and sharing awareness on the great white shark :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Shark Projects also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
Kleinbaai, Gansbaai
 

Been to White Shark Projects? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing