We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OMG...........................”

White Shark Projects
Book In Advance
More Info
$143.07*
and up
Half-Day White Shark Cage Diving from Gansbaai
Ranked #3 of 22 Tours in Gansbaai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: White Shark Projects welcomes local and international tourists, divers and non-divers … anyone who wishes to encounter, dive with, or view white sharks in a safe and professional environment. White Shark Projects was established in 1989 and is a world-leading organisation that focuses on the conservation of great white sharks through responsible tourism and research. Expect excellent customer service, good value and operational efficiency.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“OMG...........................”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Went with White Shark Projects to do a cage dive to overcome my fear of sharks. Picked us up from our accommodation. Gave us breakfast and fresh coffee. Amazing day on the boat, saw 8 great whites and got the most amazing pics and video. Fear was gone in a few seconds and replaced with awe of this amazing animal...... Came back to a warm room, soup and rolls and coffee and taken home.. Cant say enough. They were amazing .................................

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Essexdeb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julia b, Manager at White Shark Projects, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We are so happy to here that your fear of the sharks was replaced by awe and yes it does literally happen in a couple of seconds!! These animals truly are so majestic and graceful and do take your breath away when you see them in the wild. Glad to hear you had such an amazing trip will share your kind words with all the staff :) Thanks for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate it. Have a great day :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    584
    193
    41
    12
    22
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Viken, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic people, amazing experience!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I absolutely loved every single minute with the White Shark Projects and I would recomend it to anyone!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RegularJohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julia b, Manager at White Shark Projects, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Straight to the point and concise! Love it :) Thanks for taking the time to write a response about your trip with us and we are glad you had such a fabulous time - it's what we strive to achieve with every trip out to sea we have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thrilling but Safe”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

It was the best decision ever to go with White Shark Projects at Kleinbaai. Professionalism from start to finish with a prompt response to our booking and all of the staff were friendly and informative. We started with a lovely breakfast at the lodge and then walked down to the boat. I would recommend putting on your swimming suit before leaving the lodge as once you are on the boat you put on a wetsuit. With only six at a time in the cage there is plenty of room and plenty of time to enjoy the experience, we even had the opportunity to get in the cage a second time if we wanted to. If you have an underwater camera try not to use it all the time as you may miss the sharks as they come towards you. Even if you don't want to get in the cage the view from the top of the boat is amazing as you can see the sharks coming before the people in the cage do. There are snacks and drinks available on the boat if you want them and plenty of towels. The staff and volunteers on the boat couldn't have been more helpful and understanding and we had a lot of laughs with them. Just make sure that you listen to their instructions and you will enjoy the experience to its fullest. When we got back to the lodge we had hot soup and a hot shower. We watched the DVD of our trip which was so fabulous we bought it. I would recommend this adventure to anyone at all, we had the best day ever!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julia b, Manager at White Shark Projects, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your trip - it sounds like you had a fantastic experience!! Our aim is to give everyone that personalised experience and to get up close and personal with the sharks as much as you can - for most people it is a once in a lifetime excursion so we aim to make it the best it can be. Our crew, staff and volunteers work hard and i am glad you had lots of fun with them, will pass on your positive comments. Once again thanks for sharing your views it means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“what an experience”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

this was an amazing experience, we had to be there by 7.30 am, so we where told that it would take 1h30 to get there !!!! it took us 2h3/4.. we where panicking as we thought the boat would not wait... well they did as we phoned to tell them we where running late. this was a suprise birthday present for my husband ( 60) from our children.. as my daughter came too, she went in ,they enjoyed this experience emmencly, i did not go in but i now regret it ... will do it one day. the staff where amazing . the sharks came within 5 minutes non stop for the duration of our trip .
i highly recomend this companie !! nice one cheers ***

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cath29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julia b, Manager at White Shark Projects, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Happy 60th!! What a fabulous present!! Glad you had such a fantastic time! You will have to come back to get in the cage yourself, remember Winter is approaching and that is usually our peak time of year with great sharks and great visibilty - so perfect for getting in the cage;) Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your experience, we really appreciate it :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemanus South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An absolute pleasure”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We as Guest house owners have an important responsibility to be sure our Guests have an allround good experience in our town ,besides their accommodation. However it makes life a pleasure when they dont just have a good time but a BRILLIANT TIME.We hope they talk about us as the ranted on about how they were treated from the time they arrived till they disembarked. Thank you very much Charmaine and your team.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank aloehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julia b, Manager at White Shark Projects, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I am so happy your guests had a wonderful time. It is very important to us to give a whole round experience from the minute you make that booking to the time that you depart from us. We pride ourselves in making sure all your needs and requirements are met not just out on sea with the sharks. It is always nice to receive such positive feedback, thanks for taking the time to let us know. To have people talking so positively means they will be talking positively about the sharks which is the main aim :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Shark Projects also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
Kleinbaai, Gansbaai
 

Been to White Shark Projects? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing