We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience, close encounter with infamous and amazing predators!”

White Shark Projects
Book In Advance
More Info
and up
Half-Day White Shark Cage Diving from Gansbaai
Ranked #3 of 22 Tours in Gansbaai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: White Shark Projects welcomes local and international tourists, divers and non-divers … anyone who wishes to encounter, dive with, or view white sharks in a safe and professional environment. White Shark Projects was established in 1989 and is a world-leading organisation that focuses on the conservation of great white sharks through responsible tourism and research. Expect excellent customer service, good value and operational efficiency.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great experience, close encounter with infamous and amazing predators!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We had a great day with White Shark Project, during a very well organized day on the water. We were amazed by the breakfast that was waiting for us, but soon forgot all about that when we saw the first big sharks around the boat. Kudo's for this professional team, and many thanks for an experience we'll never forget.

Thank SJRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

We originally booked with Apex, but they called to tell us that there weren't shark sightings where they go so they booked us with WSP. This company was our 2nd choice anyway. Prior to departing, coffee and some snacks were offered when we arrived in Gainsbai. Snacks didn't look that great, so we stuck to coffee. There were about 18 people booked plus crew. It did feel a little crowded, but it wasn't too bad. We volunteered to be in the first cage drop and spent about 20 minutes in the water. We got to see sharks several times so that was great. What wasn't so great was the fact that we got yelled at for cleaning our mask, which was loose, by the way, in the water and sticking our head under when there weren't sharks. We weren't doing anything dangerous so there was no need for yelling. We were offered a second time in the cage, but only one of us took advantage because the sea was cold. Soda and snacks were offered on the boat, but you had to fetch them yourself. Crew kept to themselves and it would've been nice to hear more information from the crew when we were on the boat. Overall, we would recommend the company. But to ensure that you get to see the sharks in the cage, be aggressive and volunteer to go in the cage first.

Visited August 2011
Thank oojaded26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Needs to either lenghten the shark dive outing or accept less people per trip”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Pretty much the same thing that one of the earlier reviewers said happened to us on our trip. Once we were approaching the boat in a hurry in less than 10 minutes after arriving in Gansbaai to beat the low tide, we noticed that the vessel was very small, given that it was accommodating 19 passengers plus crew members. Once the boat was anchored, we were told to form four groups of five since the cage can fit five at a time.

Being less aggressive than others, we ended up being in the last group. We definitely got to see the sharks from the boat, and it built up our anticipation when the preceding groups all saw the sharks from the cage multiple times and exclaimed that it was "totally awesome." Well, it turns out that the first group got three shark viewings from the cage in the first 20 minutes, but for some reason, was left to stay for another 40 minutes. The two subsequent groups got at least 30 minutes in the cage and saw the sharks in person. Of course, by the time it came to our group, the throwing out of the dead tuna head (to attract the shark) became noticeably infrequent, and we ended up getting something like 10 minutes in the cage, seeing nothing, then getting hurried back to the dock for the afternoon group. It should also be noted that my group also got the short end of the stick on the wetsuits--although I'm 5'9" and skinny, I ended up with an extra-large wetsuit since that was all that was left.

Needless to say, waking up at 3:45am to go two hours away from Cape Town, pay something like $230, and get 10 minutes in the shark cage and seeing nothing from there was nothing short of disappointing. It's also especially disappointing given that the poor timing of the shark dives was something that was noted earlier on TripAdvisor and White Shark Projects continues to ignore the fact that everyone should be given an equal opportunity for an experience like this.

Overall, there are many other shark dive operators in the area, and I hope that at least some of them are more competently run, and try to cram fewer people onto the boat, than this particular outfit.

Visited August 2011
4 Thank faceoff93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charms2, Owner at White Shark Projects, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
we are truly sorry that you did not have a great experience, as that is what we strive to give to all our customers. Our vessel only take 20 pax, precisely because we don't want people to feel rushed along. We do have strict customer care policies, could you please send me a direct e-mail to provide me with more details on your excursion, i.e dates, then I can have a closer look.
Thank you so much for brinigng this under our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Probably the best boat trip you will ever go on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

I actually went and worked as a voulenteer for this company and spent 3 weeks working on their shark boats.
I did 1 to 2 trips per day for the 3 weeks and each one was as exciting as the other.
The company was one of the first White Shark Cage Diving operations and thier professionalism and dedication to the conservation of the sharks is inspiring.
The boat is not the biggest of the fleet that go out to Shark Alley every day but holding 20 people, it is the ideal amount so that you all get a good amount of time in the cage. If you are lucky then you will quite possibly get two goes.
Even people who were wary / scared about getting in the cage all agreed that it was one of the best experiences that they ever had and were so glad that they took part.
The captain has been there from the start and has excellent knowlege of where to moor up in order to get the most from each day.
The only thing that can ruin the day would be the weather as if sea conditions are too bad then the boats can not go out to sea.
Admittedley there were some days when the sea was rougher than others and some people were getting sea sick, but once you are in the cage in the water the sickness soon goes away.
I have nothing bad whatsoever to say about the company, it's staff or facilities and would recommend them to anyone.
Im not sure why the address has come up as Cape Town on this review as they are actually in a town called Kleinbaai which is a 2 to 3 hour drive out of Cape Town - Please note that they provide daily transfers two and from your hotel in cape town as part of the package.

Visited August 2010
Thank KnightFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharkySouthAfrica, Manager at White Shark Projects, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear KnightFire

We thank you for your review. It is surely much appreciated.

And hopefully, we will be able to host you again with White Shark Projects - while enjoying the ocean on your doorstep and having everyday conversations with sharks.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

White Shark Projects is the company you want to hire to go shark diving! It was awesome!
I was confused with which company to go with and was concerned with the 2 hour drive (they drive you), but it was well worth it.
It was in Kleinbaai next to Gansbaai. You take the boat to "Shark Alley" and go in the cage. It was very professional and I felt very safe. We saw 11 different Great Whites and they kept swimming around by the boat...there was a shark within site at all times.
When it is over, before they drive you back, they serve you hot soup, which you really need. It was cold out on the boat.
This is a must do in South Africa!

Visited June 2011
2 Thank GojiAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Shark Projects also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
Gansbaai, Overberg District
Kleinbaai, Gansbaai

Been to White Shark Projects? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing