We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Lovely :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 27 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Wow! What a fantastic experience :) I loved this place. The ambiance is amazing. Rooms are clean, spacious, and beautifully decorated. The owners and the people who work there are very friendly and more than willing to help. You get fantastic treatment with a cozy atmosphere :) It also overlooks the ocean and has a fantastic viewpoint. I recommend it :) I will definitely stay there when in Gansbaai again :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 421 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2011

What a stunning house, I want one. We had a really lovely time. The views were fantastic, the decor is very stylish, and the hosts and helpers were great. I defiantly recommend staying here. We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Really cool building with a bar and jacuzzi on the roof and plush guest rooms. Dave (the owner and a Brit) was very friendly and informative. Let us arrive back after cage diving, grab a shower and check out late at no extra cost. Nice bloke and excellent stay all round.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnny_5_bellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

we get there at cxmas 2010 for shark diving and whale watching.We had a great time,everything was perfect and the weather very good.The hotel is lovely,clear and has a wonderfull view over the ocean.The most important is that Dave the manager is realy a great gay.He arrange everything for us from the time we arrived till we gone.And the most importand is that all the things we wanted was as we wanted.We hope to be there again at the same hotel with the same manager.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sakis1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roundhouse100, Owner at The Roundhouse Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

Hi Guys, Glad you had a fantastic time! Just for the record I think you meant to say that I am a really great guy not Gay. I am happily married with 2 kids. You said you will be coming back in peak shark season and I look forward to organising you an excellent holiday again! Take care and Kalí hroñá

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We were there with 6 friends 2 nights and did the white shark diving and the kanotrip watching the whales which we booked by the roundhouse and it was all perfect. The trips were amazing just as the accommodation

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alkmaar15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

wonderfull house, near the beach and whales. Rooms are fine, beds oke.
We had a very pleasant stay. If I come back I will stay here again.

We did the shark dive and kayak with whales, very well organized, seen a lot.

Theo Thijssen
Falcon group - Holland

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theoVelserbroek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We recently stayed at the Roundhouse Guesthouse and it was a fantastic experience. The room was stunning with all of the modern and exquisite touches that you would expect from a 5 star hotel for an excellent price. We booked the dive and stay (Their specialty) which was a combination of the white shark diving and 1 night accommodation in one of their luxury suites. We stayed overnight the day before the dive and it is such a beautiful area in De Kelders. There were Whales everywhere in the water close to the rocks and we could not believe how lucky the people living there are to see Whales only meters from the rocks every day! We were so glad to get to the Roundhouse early as Magda explained where to walk to see the Whales and we had a fantastic hike along the rocks whilst watching the Whales. To top it off we jumped into the Jacuzzi on the Whale watching deck after and watched the Whales whilst the sun set over the ocean. Perfect in every way!!! Wow! The following morning we headed off to the crew house for the shark diving (only 5 minutes away). It was the most amazing experience of our lives and by far the best 2 days we have spent on our holiday! We are in Hermanus now (famous for the Whales) and there are not nearly as many Whales here as there are in Gansbaai plus there are many more people here. If we were to come back we would definitely stay longer in the safe, quiet and stunningly beautiful De Kelders and Gansbaai. ROUNDHOUSE WE WILL BE BACK!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsandershermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
12 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
10.8 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
598 reviews
3.7 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#2 of 27 in Gansbaai
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#3 of 27 in Gansbaai
455 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 7 in De Kelders
655 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roundhouse Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roundhouse Guesthouse

Address: 61 Ingang Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai, Overstrand 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Overstrand > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: $55 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roundhouse Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roundhouse is the best place to stay in Gansbaai as the owners are well experienced travel operators and own the tourism booking office in Town. The B&B is in De Kelders, THE prime land based Whale watching area in the world and has a unique African feel with special touches such as Shellstone clad walls contrasting with rough earthy paints. With Free WIFI, Rooftop Jacuzzi, outdoor Swimming pool and Games room with Pool and Table Tennis we have a large variety for you to lick back and relax for a few days. Our specialty is Shark Cage Diving and stay packages and offer a fantastic combination package for shark diving and Whale watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Roundhouse Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing