We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommadations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommadations”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Had a great time while we were there.Dave and his staff were very accommadating while we were there from picking us up in Capetown to driving us to great local restaurants, and then after our Shark cage diving and then driving us back to Capetown airport for the next leg of our adventure.

Thanks Dave and I will see you again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kddrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roundhouse100, Owner at The Roundhouse Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for the great review! It was great having the group in Gansbaai and happy everything was memorable for you! I hope Mozambique was a blast and you had lots of Shark action!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    70
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
93
176
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the roundhouse. The staff and owner are very friendly an helpful. The rooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable. There is a lot of information on resturants and things to do in the area made availiable. We didnt have a car during our stay, so got rides anywherewe needed to go. It was great!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simpiwe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicily
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was a perfect stop off for the beginning of our trip along the garden route. After leaving Cape Town we headed to Gansbaai. The guest house was perfect, it had a jacuzzi on the top terrace were we would sit in the evenings with strawberries and champagne meeting other interesting travellers doing the same as us. We had booked shark diving and whale watching, unfortunately the whale watching was cancelled due to the weather but we managed to see some from the jacuzzi terrace and from walking down on the bay. The shark diving was a fantastic experience definitely recommended, even if you don't want to go in the water you see most of the action from the boat. The rooms were spotlessly clean, very well equipped and designed with beautiful taste. The breakfast alone is worth going for, the pancakes are the best I have ever tasted!!! There is not much to do in the town so bear that in mind when booking multiple nights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelemontreesicily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a great stay at The Roundhouse. Good Food, service and friendly staff. Rooms are clean, spacious and equipped with everything needed even free wifi.

Convenient and close to the dive site for those interested in shark cage diving and Great hiking opportunities.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triebe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingstone, Zambia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Rooms are very spacious, well set out and extremely comfortable! Information pack on restaurants and activities were very well done. The manager was so very sweet and massively helpful!

We would HIGHLY recommend this guest house as the only place to stay in Gansbaai!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashcalabash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were really pleased by the manner in which we were received by the owner even though we reached here at 2 in the night because of a road accident we were part of!! The rooms are big and also have a separate seating area. Even the bathrooms are big enough to put a bed!!

The view from the balcony on 2nd floor is amazing with nice blue seas and the small township!!
The owner was also kind enough to allow us to stay in our rooms for an extra couple of hours because we wanted some rest after the eventful night!! They can also arrange SHARK CAGE DIVING for anyone interested!! A brilliant experience altogether!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sachindixit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toamasina (Tamatave), Madagascar
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We came as part of a shark diving tour that was, unfortunately, cancelled due to heavy seas. However, we found the rooms to be well-equipped with nice facilities and a well stocked and reasonably priced mini-bar. The owner was extremely helpful and we had a nice dinner at the Blue Goose - one of his recommendations. The next day we drove to Cape l'Algulhas which, from Gansbaai, involves a lot of gravel roads but in good condition. The breakfast was really good and the views and the house itself are beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.9 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.2 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
609 reviews
3.7 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#4 of 29 in Gansbaai
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
281 reviews
0.8 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#5 of 29 in Gansbaai
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roundhouse Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roundhouse Guesthouse

Property: The Roundhouse Guesthouse
Address: 61 Ingang Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roundhouse Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roundhouse is the best place to stay in Gansbaai as the owners are well experienced travel operators and own the tourism booking office in Town. The B&B is in De Kelders, THE prime land based Whale watching area in the world and has a unique African feel with special touches such as Shellstone clad walls contrasting with rough earthy paints. With Free WIFI, Rooftop Jacuzzi, outdoor Swimming pool and Games room with Pool and Table Tennis we have a large variety for you to lick back and relax for a few days. Our specialty is Shark Cage Diving and stay packages and offer a fantastic combination package for shark diving and Whale watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Roundhouse Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing