We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 30 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We came as part of a shark diving tour that was, unfortunately, cancelled due to heavy seas. However, we found the rooms to be well-equipped with nice facilities and a well stocked and reasonably priced mini-bar. The owner was extremely helpful and we had a nice dinner at the Blue Goose - one of his recommendations. The next day we drove to Cape l'Algulhas which, from Gansbaai, involves a lot of gravel roads but in good condition. The breakfast was really good and the views and the house itself are beautiful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for The Roundhouse Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 408 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had the most excellent time at the roundhouse. The staff were so friendly and repeatedly re-organized our whale and shark diving trips for us when the weather was bad. We stayed in the top suite and were really impressed with the decor and comfort. The room had everything we needed and was excellent value. The breakfasts were delicious! I was disappointed we didn't stay longer so that I could try everything on the breakfast menu. We stayed 3 nights and were pleased on the last day when the weather cleared to be able to use the rooftop spa where we sat and watched 6 whales breaching in the bay. A perfect stay, thanks so much roundhouse!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Beautiful house in a beautiful spot. Amazing service. As mentioned in one of the other reviews, nothing is too much trouble for the staff. This is a great B&B option if you are staying in the region or doing the great white cage diving.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My experience with the Roundhouse Guest House was nothing short of spectacular. From a business standpoint, everything was as promised. My transportation to and from Cape Town was on time, and my boat trips were scheduled and ready. But, going beyond business, Dave (owner) and his staff consistently went out of their way to ensure that I had everything I needed or wanted for a pleasant holiday. I went to Gansbaai to see the White Sharks, but I left feeling like I made new friends. I will definitely be going back. This was everything I could have ever hoped it could be, thanks to Dave and his staff-Paul the "plumber"

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Psteph15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic place in a great location. Rooms are big and comfortable, the view from the deck with jacuzzi is fabulous. Sadly we left too early to enjoy breakfast but the options sounded great. Free wifi, and a good signal. Great suggestions for eating out, we recommend Ciros. Wished we had been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoriakm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The owner of the Roundhouse has taken a lot of trouble to make this an excellent guest house, the rooms are very nice, the staff are excellent, the breakfast is good and nothing is too much trouble. I suggest you allow them to arrange any cage diving or whale watching you may plan. I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clownfishUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Simply to put it: Great palce.. Rooms are big and nice planned with lot of love and beautiful South African details. Surrounding is amazing. Owners and service friendly and any time at the disposal, great food (all the best to the cook:). View from the balcony is great and y can see whales and if y are not lazy and go to beach, you will see them passing by.
Gansbaai- small great quite town, if y will stay for a longer time, go to the local pub:)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirjana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.9 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
12.0 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
1.6 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#5 of 30 in Gansbaai
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 30 in Gansbaai
622 reviews
3.7 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#3 of 30 in Gansbaai
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#11 of 30 in Gansbaai
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roundhouse Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roundhouse Guesthouse

Address: 61 Ingang Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: $59 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roundhouse Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roundhouse is the best place to stay in Gansbaai as the owners are well experienced travel operators and own the tourism booking office in Town. The B&B is in De Kelders, THE prime land based Whale watching area in the world and has a unique African feel with special touches such as Shellstone clad walls contrasting with rough earthy paints. With Free WIFI, Rooftop Jacuzzi, outdoor Swimming pool and Games room with Pool and Table Tennis we have a large variety for you to lick back and relax for a few days. Our specialty is Shark Cage Diving and stay packages and offer a fantastic combination package for shark diving and Whale watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Roundhouse Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing