We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Holiday”
Review of Sea Star Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Star Lodge
Ranked #10 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Holiday”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Had a relaxed holiday at Sea Star Lodge, definately going back soon.

Room Tip: Try the top floor :))
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roslyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    37
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
32
194
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Found Seastar on Trip advisor and thougt it looked the perfect place to get away for a night. On our arrival we got upgraded to the honeymoon suite which was a pleasant suprise. We marvelled at the beauty of the room. The view was spectacular and so was the breakfast we had the next morning. Thank you to the managaress Avanda for making us feel special.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puppy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
129 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We spent 3 night at Sea Star Lodge and enjoyed it very much, although we could not do what we were coming for. The ocean did not allow us to go shark cage diving. Instead we went on a Quad tour through the vineyards, which gave us a fantastic view from the top of the mountain. Also recommended: a walk along the cliffs and the beach towards Hermanus.
Sea Star Lodge is a very warm, friendly place with very nice and extremely helpful people. Very relaxed atmosphere. You can have a nice chat with the owner or other guests at the breakfast table as well as privacy in your own - nicely designed - room with amarvellous view! Luvt it.
There are two absolutely charming dogs around (even if you do not like dogs you will probably like those two).
There is not much to do in Gansbaai itself but the area is great and if you need an accommodation to go for various activities in the area (sharks, whal watchung, wine testing...) then the Lodge is definitely a great place to stay. We will come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Myself and some friends decide to get out of the city and just take some time out for ourselves. As soon we stepped into to Seastar we felt a peacefyl and relaxing atmosphere. Woke up the next morning and had the most loveliest variety of breakfast and the staff we very friendly and accommodating. Thank you guys we really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2012

from the moment me and my partner walked into Seastar we felt like we came home, just quietet and peaceful. We stayed in the owner's suite and with the privacy it offered us we could spend some on our own. Wow is all i can say! We had breakfast in the lounge and had the most beautiful view of the ocean. Had crocodile salad at Whales and Dolphins which was very tasty.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Spent a few days at Seastar and was welcomed by the most friendly staff. Emmediately i felt a sense of peace as i gazed over the most awesome view. Went for supper at Benguela a resturaunt that was situated just a few minutes away and had the such an enjoyable evening. Would definitly recommend Seastar to my family and friends.

Room Tip: honeymoon suite. It has a beautiful view of the ocean and i enjoyed waking up to it in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed at the Sea Star lodge for one night early december 2011. The rooms are small and not clean. The sheets on the bed were filthy. For that amount of money one can find something better. The view from the balcony is excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank AP01_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
0.9 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
0.5 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sea Star Cliff
Sea Star Cliff
#1 of 2 in De Kelders
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Whalesong Lodge
Whalesong Lodge
#8 of 29 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kleinzee Oceanfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Star Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Star Lodge

Property: Sea Star Lodge
Address: 19 Ingang Straat | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea Star Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly at the Walker Bay facing the Atlantic Ocean and the coastline of Hermanus you'll find this small exclusive lodge. At this place luxury ambiance meets genuine warmth and here you'll experience the wonders of nature in their full glory. Whether you are looking for adrenalin and decide to go on a shark cage diving trip to discover the Great White Sharks or if you decide to savour the local wines at the estates in the nearby Stanford Valley - our friendly staff would be glad to assist you with information and make your stay an unforgettable and enjoyable experience. The modern and spacious design of the lodge provides breathtaking sea views. The African arts blend in perfectly with the modern design and create a unique luxury atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Sea Star Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Star Hotel Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing