We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem along the whale route!”
Review of Sea Star Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Star Lodge
Ranked #11 of 30 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Ardi and his team have done a fantastic job with the lodge!

My wife and I spent some time here as part of our wedding anniversary and we were pleasantly surprised with the complementary upgrade to the honeymoon suite and the bubbly. The rooms are fantastic and very modern - even equipped with snazzy nespresso machines. The rooms and the lodge have fantastic views across the walker bay and you can see lots of whales from here. The service was great with nothing being too much trouble to arrange. A good breakfast spread available when you want it! There's also a sauna and massage facility, which we didn't get a chance to sample.

As a village De Kelders is much quieter than Hermanus and we found more whales on this side of Walker Bay (boats from Hermanus were making their way towards us, while we enjoyed watching the whales from the shore!). We only spent a night here and we wished we had stayed longer!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ashah_008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
There are newer reviews for Sea Star Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 288 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2011

This is an excellent place to relax. The owners and staff will do and arrange everything for you. If it"s a late breakfast at 1 pm when you come back from shark cage diving or a transport to Cape Town Airport at 4am. Everything happens with a smile. Yes they really make you feel good at Sea Star. You should book a massage. They have stunning massage therapists at the lodge. And whales and dolphins in front of Sea Star Lodge

Room Tip: The Rooftop Room has a stunning terrace
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hedisliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

After spending a few days in Cape Town we followed Daniel`s recommendation and spent three nights at Sea Star. My fiance and myself were very excited about the Shark Cage Diving (the highlight of our two week vacation). After Adi told us that we have to wake up at 7am for the dive in the next morning, we were even more happy that we decided to stay in Gansbaai, because we realized that it would not make really sense to do this as a day trip from Cape Town. After we came back from the dive we went straight to the sauna to warm up. After that we had a lovely relaxing afternoon. We were lying on the couch in the lounge upstairs, enjoying the fireplace while reading a book and watching the whales jumping in the bay *AMAZING* !!!
During the whole stay Adi and his team were excelent hosts. They made great dinner reservations as well as ideas for day trips and activities. Sometimes we forgot that we are not at home :-) that`s how comfortable we felt at Sea Star.
Thank you for making our holiday memorable!!!
We definitely want to come back in the next few years!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H2Omel0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

One of the best (hidden) places you can find in South Africa. Beautiful views from the rooms over the Walker Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. The whales just in front of you. The lounge with its open fire place and a lot attention to detail makes you feel at home and creates a lovely atmosphere. What a place to relax and enjoy luxury and nature

Room Tip: The spacious Master Suite has the most beautiful bathroom I have ever seen in South Africa
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chaim28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Waehrend unseres zweiwoechigem Suedafrikaurlaubs feierte ich meinen Geburtstag. Als Ueberraschung entfuehrten mich meine Freunde in die traumhaft gelegene Sea Star Lodge und organisierten zusammen mit den Eigentuemern meine schoenste Geburtstagsfeier. Wir alle haben die unzaehligen Annehmlichkeiten der Lodge wahrhaft genossen, vor allem den netten Service und die vielen Aufmerksamkeiten der Sea Star Mitarbeiter. Die Zimmer der Lodge sind grosszuegig und haben einen tollen Blick ueber das etwa 50 Meter entfernt liegende Meer. Wir sahen an allen Tagen mehrere Wale, manche davon nur zwanzig Meter von der Kueste vor der Sea Star Lodge entfernt. Man kann dieses Gefuehl gar nicht in Worte fassen. Diese gigantisch grossen, faszinierenden Lebewesen so nah sehen und beobachten zu koennen ist nahezu unwirklich. Wir genossen Sauna und Pool in der Lodge sowie entspannende Massagen von der fantastischen Therapeutin Ciska. Allein sie ist ein Grund bald wieder zu kommen. Was fuer ein tolles Gaestehaus. Hervorzuheben ist neben dem freundlichen Service die im Zimmerpreis eingeschlossene, kostenlose Minibarbenutzung.

Room Tip: Toller Meerblick vom Bay View Room
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reisetraum27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

At the end of a wonderful and exciting 26 day journey through South Africa my husband and I stayed three nights at this stunning guest house. The lovely staff of Sea Star Lodge pampered us in any possible way. We watched the whales from the freestanding bathtub in our Honeymoon Suite, in the evening we lighted the open fireplace in our suite and watched our own videos on the stunning 50inch flatscreen. We used the sauna and twice we enjoyed a massage in our suite. The breakfast was delicious and we were overwhelmed by the restaurants nearby, especially Kloeks at home, which is only one minute from Sea Star Lodge. Next year we will come again and stay much longer

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite has a stunning view, an open gas fire place, a large freestanding bathtub, a 50inch...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tinakopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

This was the best choice we could have made for a short weekend away. At Sea Star Lodge we felt as if we were HOME away from home because it has such a comfortable and homely atmosphere and soul. We truly felt at home there, ONLY IT WAS MUCH MORE LUXURIOUS. Beautifully furnished and decorated this place boasts sea views from all angles of the HOME. We were attended to at all times and our choice to stay at Sea Star Lodge was truly appreciated by ALL the staff in the house. The whale season is still young, but whales were always visible from as little as 20 kilometers away from the Lodge. It is beautiful, peaceful and tranquil. Exactly what my husband and I needed for an escape from our busy-stressful lifestyle as business owners.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripporous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
0.9 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 30 in Gansbaai
623 reviews
0.5 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 30 in Gansbaai
160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Star Cliff
Sea Star Cliff
#1 of 2 in De Kelders
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 30 in Gansbaai
408 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
0.8 mi away
On The Rocks B&B
On The Rocks B&B
#15 of 30 in Gansbaai
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Star Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Star Lodge

Address: 19 Ingang Straat | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: $128 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea Star Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly at the Walker Bay facing the Atlantic Ocean and the coastline of Hermanus you'll find this small exclusive lodge. At this place luxury ambiance meets genuine warmth and here you'll experience the wonders of nature in their full glory. Whether you are looking for adrenalin and decide to go on a shark cage diving trip to discover the Great White Sharks or if you decide to savour the local wines at the estates in the nearby Stanford Valley - our friendly staff would be glad to assist you with information and make your stay an unforgettable and enjoyable experience. The modern and spacious design of the lodge provides breathtaking sea views. The African arts blend in perfectly with the modern design and create a unique luxury atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sea Star Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Star Hotel Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing