We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtaking, beautiful, relaxing and peaceful”

Review of Romans Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Gansbaai, Overstrand, Overberg District, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
archiemac...
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“Breathtaking, beautiful, relaxing and peaceful”
Reviewed March 18, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This is definitely a home away from home in pristine condition with every need taken into careful consideration. Spectacular views, heated pool, state of the art kitchen and scullery, peaceful secluded courtyard, beautiful rooms and bathrooms and a super housekeeper who takes care of everything without even knowing he is there. Amenities nearby and so much to do in the area. You don't need to worry about taking anything with you. Definitely a holiday destination I would highly recommend and certainly one of the best. Highly recommended!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 19, 2018
Dear Sue,

Thank you for your most amazing review of Romans Villa. We’re pleased that you enjoyed yourselves at our home and that you found everything to be of the quality and standard that you’d expected.

We look forward to having you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dewaldkle...
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“Breathtakingly beautiful and tranquil”
Reviewed March 11, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Spent the weekend there was greated with a very friendly and always smilling Lucky and shown around the Beautiful house, with great finishing touches. It was everything we could have asked for. The kids had so much fun, and enjoyed hours of fun in the pool, while mom and dad layed back and enjoyed the breathtaking views. I wished this weekend would not come to an end.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2018
Dear Dewald,

Thank you for your excellent review of Romans Villa. We're really glad that you and your family enjoyed yourselves and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracyK179...
1 review
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed March 11, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Beautiful house. Most relaxing stay. Awesome sea views. Everything is catered for your stay. Awesome to wake up to the sound of the waves crashing on the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2018
Dear Tracy,

Thank you for your excellent review of Romans Villa. We're delighted that you and your family had a lovely stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
241darren
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“Paradise Found!”
Reviewed March 9, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We have stayed in some of the most exclusive places along this coastline, and quite honestly THIS has been the best by far! What a gem you have here Gus! Spectacular views, neat and very comfortable house, completely secluded beach all to ourselves, the amazing and always smiling Lucky - for whom NOTHING is too much trouble - and an amazing little town just 4 minutes away. Although we didn't do the shark-diving thing, we've been invited next time .... and ideal whale-viewing location! You'd pay R30K per night plus at some places near here, which don't offer nearly as much as Romans Villa does - regardless of the self-catering aspect (had some "breath-taking" braai's while there!) Cannot WAIT to come back! Thank you again GUS & Lucky for your amazing hospitality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 10, 2018
Hi Darren and Natasha,

It was an absolute pleasure having your stay at our home. I’m so glad that you enjoyed yourselves.

Thank you for your kindness shown toward Lucky, he certainly is a remarkable person and an asset to Romans Villa!

We look forward to having you both back really soon. Best wishes to you both.

Kind regards,

Gus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraS145...
2 reviews
“Balm for the soul”
Reviewed March 4, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We loved our stay at Romans! We woke up to to the sounds of the ocean and the birds sang their wake up to us. This besutifully equipped and styled house is set in the perfect environment for a „time out“. Pure relaxation. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2018
Dear Petra,

Thank you for your review of Romans Villa. We’re really haply that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relax5556...
1 review
“Tranquil beach retreat”
Reviewed January 29, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Beautifulextremely clean house set among the wildlife and fynbos - the beach just a few minutes walk away! This is a great family-friendly house with a stunning pool and braai facilities.

Lucky, the housekeeper is extremely friendly and does all the dishes and cleaning for you with a smile!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 30, 2018
Thank you for your amazing review. We're really happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Romans Villa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellament...
De Kelders, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LUXURY IN NATURE”
Reviewed January 23, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

A cut above the rest!!!!!. Luxury in Nature is the appropriate description. Words cannot describe this best kept secret. Location, tranquility, quality and class sums it up. To discover this best kept secret book now to experience a time of a life time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2018
Dear Rita,

We are truly grateful to you for your most amazing review of Romans Villa, thank you!

We look forward to great things to come.

Regards,

Romans Villa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing