We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most friendly welcome ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gansbaai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marebella Seafront Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
uppsala
1 review
“Most friendly welcome ever!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Excellent guesthouse with very welcoming hosts in beautiful de kelders. We had a lovely time and would stay there again any time. Clean and spacius rooms, nice restaurants close by, excellent wiew over the ocean. Highly recomended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobsvensson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, it was such a pleasure to have met you and thank you for staying at Marebella. Greetings from De Kelders to the beautiful town of Uppsala. All the very best wishes, Gerhard and Shalene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    23
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
274
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Perfect place to stay and feel relax! The hosts are very friendly and the sea view are wonderful!!! Gehard has a great affection for Brazil and you feel very welcome!! This is a quiet place to relax and enjoy your time! We would like to come back and stay for more time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Melissa515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Melissa and Daniel,
"Muito obrigado" for your lovely comment about us and Marebella. It is with regret that you could not stay longer, I would have enjoyed many more conversations about Brazil and Sao Paulo in particular, having been there myself many times. We wish you well for the birth of your child and would look forward to stay in touch with you.
With all our best wishes,
Gerhard with Shalene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

very nice place to stay and relax, enjoy the sea view, go to the beach, enjoy the quiet peace, ...! hosts are very friendly and available for everything you need!!!! we went at the end of summer (Gansbaai is famous in order to see the great white sharks) and would surely come back if we can in winter to enjoy whales that you can see apparently from their terrace!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Emilie and Carlos,
Thank you for your kind words, we are glad that you enjoyed the shark diving during your visit to us. Yes, the whales can be enjoyed from our whale deck from August to November and it is magnificent indeed to watch the activities of these gentle giants. It would be wonderful if you could come back one day during the whale season.
With our best wishes,
Gerhard and Shalene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you are looking for peace and relaxation with a view to die for then Marebella in De Kelders is where to go. Our hosts were very helpful and full of local knowledge. Gerhard has a fantastic wine selection and his advice on local wines was greatly appreciated.I'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Michael and Patricia,
Thank you for your kind words. Just heard from Shalene that you will be back in De Kelders next January and I already look forward to introduce you to some of my new wines.
We look very much forward to see you again. With best wishes to both of you,
Gerhard and Shalene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronkhorst, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We find this fantastic location via a friend living in Summerset Wes. Marga liked to stay some days along the coast so we made a booking by Internet. Although the pictures and reviews were already exiting, when we arrived in front of the house it was really fantastic.
We arrived a bit early but got a very warm welcome from the owners Shalene and Gerhard.
The house itself is a beautiful piece of architecture located directly to the beach only the quiet boulevard in front. Our spacy and luxery room with balcony was in front of the house from where we enjoyed a spledid seaview. The extensive breakfest was a joy in itself. The house is decorated by Gerhard himself and is a proof of very good taste for design. We will certainly come again in order to enjoy this wonderful place and perfect hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smit117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Frans and Marga,
It makes us very happy indeed when what we offer is so kindly appreciated. You both have been wonderful guests and the interesting conversations we had about South Africa and your country have been very stimulating. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again here at Marebella, there are still a few beautiful places around here you might want to explore. Thank you again for your kind words, best wishes from still a very summery De Kelders.
Gerhard and Shalene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I began our vacation in South Africa with two nights at this wonderful place with a stunning oceanfront view. After traveling to Cape Town from California via New York and Johannesburg, we were delighted to relax and unwind in the beauty of this area, at this warm and inviting B & B with incredibly friendly and knowledgeable hosts. Our two nights here gave us the R & R we needed to continue our fabulous visit to South Africa. They booked our shark cage diving, which was great, and our dinner reservations at small nearby dining venues which we would not have found on our own. Their wine country recommendations are also top-notch! Don't miss an opportunity to spend time with Gerhardt and Shalene. Thank you again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Ron and Mary,
Thank you again for your email report regarding my recommendations for the various wine estates. I have enjoyed reading your experiences very much, you have truly become a South African wine expert! It would be wonderful if you would return again to us, I would enjoy many more discussions with you about wine and who knows, maybe I would join you on a wine excursion!
Everything of the best to both of you,
Gerhard and Shalene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Beautiful place.The view from our room and from terrace was absolutely magnificence.Gerhard and Shalene are very hospitable.Their advises were great help for us.Brilliant accomodation with brilliant hosts!We hope for coming back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrZhur Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Irina and Alexey, it was great having you from so far away where the temperatures at the moment are quite different to De Kelders. We would look forward to see you again, maybe during the whale season. Thank you again for staying with us, we wish you both well, Gerhard and Shalene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.0 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
608 reviews
0.2 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
4.5 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#4 of 29 in Gansbaai
405 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marebella Seafront Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marebella Seafront Guesthouse

Property: Marebella Seafront Guesthouse
Address: 29 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious guest rooms on the seafront in De Kelders with 180 degree uninterrupted panoramic sea views of Walker Bay. Whale watching from your room and private terrace from September to the end of November. Owner-run by Gerhard and Shalene Pirker. German spoken. Free WIFI. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing