We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10/10. excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gansbaai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marebella Seafront Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 30 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

very nice place to stay and relax, enjoy the sea view, go to the beach, enjoy the quiet peace, ...! hosts are very friendly and available for everything you need!!!! we went at the end of summer (Gansbaai is famous in order to see the great white sharks) and would surely come back if we can in winter to enjoy whales that you can see apparently from their terrace!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Emilie and Carlos,
Thank you for your kind words, we are glad that you enjoyed the shark diving during your visit to us. Yes, the whales can be enjoyed from our whale deck from August to November and it is magnificent indeed to watch the activities of these gentle giants. It would be wonderful if you could come back one day during the whale season.
With our best wishes,
Gerhard and Shalene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for Marebella Seafront Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 351 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you are looking for peace and relaxation with a view to die for then Marebella in De Kelders is where to go. Our hosts were very helpful and full of local knowledge. Gerhard has a fantastic wine selection and his advice on local wines was greatly appreciated.I'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Michael and Patricia,
Thank you for your kind words. Just heard from Shalene that you will be back in De Kelders next January and I already look forward to introduce you to some of my new wines.
We look very much forward to see you again. With best wishes to both of you,
Gerhard and Shalene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We find this fantastic location via a friend living in Summerset Wes. Marga liked to stay some days along the coast so we made a booking by Internet. Although the pictures and reviews were already exiting, when we arrived in front of the house it was really fantastic.
We arrived a bit early but got a very warm welcome from the owners Shalene and Gerhard.
The house itself is a beautiful piece of architecture located directly to the beach only the quiet boulevard in front. Our spacy and luxery room with balcony was in front of the house from where we enjoyed a spledid seaview. The extensive breakfest was a joy in itself. The house is decorated by Gerhard himself and is a proof of very good taste for design. We will certainly come again in order to enjoy this wonderful place and perfect hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smit117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Frans and Marga,
It makes us very happy indeed when what we offer is so kindly appreciated. You both have been wonderful guests and the interesting conversations we had about South Africa and your country have been very stimulating. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again here at Marebella, there are still a few beautiful places around here you might want to explore. Thank you again for your kind words, best wishes from still a very summery De Kelders.
Gerhard and Shalene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I began our vacation in South Africa with two nights at this wonderful place with a stunning oceanfront view. After traveling to Cape Town from California via New York and Johannesburg, we were delighted to relax and unwind in the beauty of this area, at this warm and inviting B & B with incredibly friendly and knowledgeable hosts. Our two nights here gave us the R & R we needed to continue our fabulous visit to South Africa. They booked our shark cage diving, which was great, and our dinner reservations at small nearby dining venues which we would not have found on our own. Their wine country recommendations are also top-notch! Don't miss an opportunity to spend time with Gerhardt and Shalene. Thank you again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Ron and Mary,
Thank you again for your email report regarding my recommendations for the various wine estates. I have enjoyed reading your experiences very much, you have truly become a South African wine expert! It would be wonderful if you would return again to us, I would enjoy many more discussions with you about wine and who knows, maybe I would join you on a wine excursion!
Everything of the best to both of you,
Gerhard and Shalene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Beautiful place.The view from our room and from terrace was absolutely magnificence.Gerhard and Shalene are very hospitable.Their advises were great help for us.Brilliant accomodation with brilliant hosts!We hope for coming back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrZhur Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Irina and Alexey, it was great having you from so far away where the temperatures at the moment are quite different to De Kelders. We would look forward to see you again, maybe during the whale season. Thank you again for staying with us, we wish you both well, Gerhard and Shalene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

What a wonderful surprise! We were touring along the coast during December. Having camped the past few nights and not having made any bookings, I was sure that we would not be able to find a nice place to spend the night... taking a WELL DESERVED break from camping. The hospitality AND great value for money was a wonderful surprise when we arrived at Marebella. Great view, lovely people, awesome! Thanks a million!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarietaCronje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

From the balcony of the room or the spacious terrace of the guest house you have magnificent views over the sea and of course the whales that play right in front of the guest house. When we were there beginning of November there were at least 10 whales constantly present making jumps out of the water, flapping their fins ... The hosts of this guesthouse made the experience even more enjoyable as they will take the best care of you with genuine tips and support where needed. They know the best restaurants in town and will help with planning a walking trip along the shore. Truly superb! Oh and don't forget to ask Gerhard about his wines, you can find some south-african gems in his cellar!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natasja27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
0.1 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 30 in Gansbaai
623 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
0.2 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 30 in Gansbaai
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#11 of 30 in Gansbaai
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Star Cliff
Sea Star Cliff
#1 of 2 in De Kelders
108 reviews
4.5 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#3 of 30 in Gansbaai
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marebella Seafront Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marebella Seafront Guesthouse

Address: 29 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: $108 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious guest rooms on the seafront in De Kelders with 180 degree uninterrupted panoramic sea views of Walker Bay. Whale watching from your room and private terrace from September to the end of November. Owner-run by Gerhard and Shalene Pirker. German spoken. Free Wifi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing