We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgetable experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gansbaai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marebella Seafront Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 30 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Prime location in first row to the shore of Walker Bay. The house is new and stylish worth to be presented in a life style magazin. Gerhard and Shalene are very friendly and helpful hosts who like to share their knowledge of the area.
As we stayed there in early December 2012 we did not expect to see any whales so late in season. But next morning my wife looked out of the window and shouted "whales". I could not believe it but it was true. Right from our room and the terrace we could watch them very close to the shore. It was an unforgetable experience.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms and both of them are equal and have the same fantastic view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werner P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for Marebella Seafront Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 351 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

From the moment we arrived for our 1 night stay we were made most welcome by our hosts Shalene and Gerhard. In fact they made us feel that their beautiful house could be used as if it was our own. Nothing was a bother and they were only too happy to help and advise. Our room and bathroom were both large , light and airy and spotlessly clean.

The delicious breakfast was taken on the balcony overlooking Walker Bay,I could have sat there all day drinking the views and looking for whales.

By the time we left (remember it was only 1 night) we felt as if they were friends we had known for ages.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mam007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Our second stay at Marebella was even better - simply because we stayed longer this time! This magnificent guest house at the edge of Walker Bay is prefectly positioned. There cannot be many guest houses in the world, let alone in South Africa, where you can take a lingering breakfast sitting outside on a beautiful morning overlooking a shimmering blue bay with Hermanus in the distance, with awesome mountains as a backdrop and whales serenely gliding past right at the water's edge, their young playfully slapping their fins and tails on the water under mum's watchful eye. In fact they are so close you can hear the slapping and their breathing through the blow holes as they swim by.

This little piece of paradise has been made possible by the vision of Gerhard and Shalene. Their almost 'Le Corbusier' style home and guest house reflects their creativity with original art, much of it collected from the sandy coves nearby and artistically displayed with great thought. They are the most charming hosts who take a genuine interest in their guests to help make their stay so welcome. Nothing is too much trouble whether it is recommendations and bookings at the superb local restaurants, cliftop, feinbos and white sandy beach walks, a visit to the lighthouse or even further afield to the tip of Africa. Gerhard and Shalene are so engaging - bring up the subject of wine, travel, art and the conversation flows with consumate ease.

A stay at Marebella is a must if you are planning a trip along the Garden Route. It is worth the small detour to find that piece of paradise. But be warned - a one night stay is great but 2/3 nights will exceed all your expectations. Try it for yourself in 2013 and you won't be disappointed.

Nick & Lin H.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickLin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at Marebella for two days and enjoyed every minute. The guesthouse is located directly at the coast and we were able to spot whales from our balcony and breakfast table. We wish we could have stayed longer and will definately return to Shalene and Gerhard our lovely hosts. Thank you both for the wonderful time we spent together.
Suzanne

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suz513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed at Marebella for two nights, it's a really peaceful, safe and clean Guesthouse with friendly owners and whales to be watched right from the breakfast table. It's also an excellent location for a day trip to the southermost point if Africa, as well as to Hermanus, a slightly busier little town. Thank you for the great two days and a lot of good advice!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Had a brilliant stay as part of our honeymoon. Stayed for one night and the room was superb with the most amazing views. We saw whales and have a great breakfast on the patio. Wish we could have stayed longer! Gerhard and Shalene could not have been more welcoming and even helped when we didn't have enough cash for the restaurant. Amazing building too!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Hi Amy and Chris,
Thank you for writing a lovely review. You are a beautiful couple and we are glad we could contribute to making your honeymoon a special time for you.
Keep well and look after each other,
Shalene and Gerhard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Marebella is situated in a place which is a piece of heaven. Add to that two wonderful hosts in Gerhard and Shalene and you have the perfect holiday. Whales in December were a wonderful bonus and I really could not have asked for more. Thank you for being so welcoming and caring and so very professional in running your guest house. The breakfast and attention to detail was a highlight and I will definitely be back!!! Mariette

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
Thank Mariette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Mariette,
Thank you for you kind words. I wonder how many people realise that our little piece of heaven is under 2 hours from Cape Town!
It was wonderful to finally see you at Marebella. After everything you have been through this year we wish you joy and happiness for the future.
Warmest wishes,
Shalene & Gerhard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
0.1 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 30 in Gansbaai
622 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
0.2 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 30 in Gansbaai
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#11 of 30 in Gansbaai
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Star Cliff
Sea Star Cliff
#1 of 2 in De Kelders
108 reviews
4.5 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#3 of 30 in Gansbaai
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marebella Seafront Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marebella Seafront Guesthouse

Address: 29 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: $107 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious guest rooms on the seafront in De Kelders with 180 degree uninterrupted panoramic sea views of Walker Bay. Whale watching from your room and private terrace from September to the end of November. Owner-run by Gerhard and Shalene Pirker. German spoken. Free Wifi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing