We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gansbaai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marebella Seafront Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

this hotel is a special place. we were very well received, with great affection. the rooms are very comfortable, has a sea view which is simply wonderful. everything is perfect. Shalene and Gerhart thank you so much.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmaralRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    23
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
274
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We had a spectacular stay with Shalene and Gerhart who were charming hosts. They made us very welcome, were most helpful and informative. Shalene arranged two restaurants for us which were very good. We enjoyed the home particularly - a beautifully designed modern space full of wonderful art. The views from the terrace and the rooms were unbelieveably beautiful. We certainly hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We visited this lovely place because of wonderful beach and caves. Owners Shalene and Gerhard helped us to discover this beautiful spot. Worth to return. Jan

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stejskal_honza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Shalene and Gerhart are wonderful hosts and welcomed us warmly. Shalene was able to arrange a shark dive with practically no notice and recommended a nice walk along the cliffs to the beach. Gerhart recommended a local restaurant where we had one of the best meals on our vacation. Since it was not whale season, this gives us a perfect excuse to come again, this time for a longer stay. We had a beautiful room facing the sea and we were cordially invited to sit at the upstairs terrace as well where the view is even better. Since we're very interested in perhaps being in South Africa long-term, Gerhard was very informative about the expat community there and property information.

Room Tip: Two rooms available, both facing the sea with great views. Quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sequim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aesch, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

In February 2012 we spent again some memorable days with friends in the Marebella Guesthouse.
Shalene and Gerhard are the best hosts. We really feel welcome. They recommended excellent restaurants in the vicinity. The sundsets with a glass of wine on the upper patio
were unforgettable. The accommodation directly to the sea is comfortable.We will come back.
urs-i from Switzerland

Room Tip: both rooms seafront are equal quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urs s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Marebella is a great place to stay! Comfortable room with own terrace facing the sea.
After a warm welcome we made a 2 hours walk to the beach and cooled off afterwards in the plunge pool on the wondefull terrace! The next day we went shark cage diving (which they could have arranged for us at a lower rate) and for both 2 nights of our stay arranged a resevation at a very good restaurant nearby.
We loved the conversations we had, especially about travelling. Gerhard gave us a map and advised us which wineries to visit, which we did the next days, they were all very special and the wine was so good.Thank you Gerhard and Sharlene, we hope to meet you once again some time!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulina1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2012

First class experience from the time we contacted the owners until the time we left. They arranged shark cage diving, selected restaurants (even ringing the chef to ensure the fish was fresh) and generally treated us as family. The owners are gracious hosts, provide a warm and friendly atmosphere in their house and are enthusiastic about the guests enjoying themselves. We have already arranged to return in October to view the whales. We had the recommendation to stay at Marebella from friends who raved about the place. They were right.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms but both have fantastic views from their private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Handbag67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gansbaai hotels
0.1 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
4.5 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#4 of 29 in Gansbaai
412 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 29 in Gansbaai
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marebella Seafront Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marebella Seafront Guesthouse

Property: Marebella Seafront Guesthouse
Address: 29 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious guest rooms on the seafront in De Kelders with 180 degree uninterrupted panoramic sea views of Walker Bay. Whale watching from your room and private terrace from September to the end of November. Owner-run by Gerhard and Shalene Pirker. German spoken. Free Wifi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing