We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place with lovely people :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aire del Mar Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aire del Mar Guest House
Ranked #14 of 30 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place with lovely people :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We decided to drive to Gansbaai around 7pm from cape town so we'd be well-rested before our shark dive. Thanks to Glenda of the Gansbaai tourism office who recommended Aire del Mar, we got this cozy place to stay. Price affordable good! Cost us less than R800 for the 3 of us (1 big bed and 1 extra bed) plus the room was spacious with en suite kitchen with utensils, toaster and water heater + toilet and bath. Service was excellent as the people were friendly and cheerful. Wifi's free as well! Location's perfect coz it's really close to the meeting place for our shark dive at 1200h. The view is nice, neighborhood quaint. It had everything we ever wanted and more. :) highly recommended! :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mry25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
30
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We had a lovely 2 night stay and I would definitely return. They have thought of everything and you are made to feel very welcome. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKvisitor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We only stayed there one night, but it was very nice to have the ocean right in front of our apartement. The welcome was a bit unfriendly but nevertheless a good place to stay on the route to cape town

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AwesomeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stayed at Aire Del Mar in february 2012 for 2 nights. It was certainly a very comfortable experience,home away from home feeling. I enjoyed the shower and was treated as a valued guest when I had breakfast sent to my room for my convenience. It was a pleasure to have free Wi-Fi at a self catering place. Incredible views and very safe enviroment.Thank you

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loshni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
150 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

The hotel is nearby the launch point for the cage diving to see the great white sharks. You can easily walk there. There are 4 upstairs rooms which have wide open sea views and during whale season you can watch them swimming by. The beds were very comfortable and the brai in the back is open to everyone to use. I didn't know how and Rodolf showed me the ropes.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wernickejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night between christmas and new year,it is very conveniently located for the the harbour ,and makes it an excellent base for the for shark diving trips as is only a 5 minute walk from the harbour.
My wife and 5 yr old had a superb room looking over the ocean ,the room had a seperate single bed area seperated by a set of patio doors ,which was excellent for our daughter.
tea coffee and home made biscuits in the room ,and an honesty bar on the landing.the room was spotless and very nice, Breakfast was excellent with fruit cereal,fresh bread and a cooked breakfast as well...all made fresh to order and NOTHING was too much trouble.
at breakfast we chatted with the owner who was a mind of knowledge about the local area ,history ,sharks etc. Thank you for a very nice memorable stay .

Room Tip: No a/c but a lovely sea breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CraigRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

We stayed in this guest house for one night after we had spent the day diving with great white sharks (Shark Lady). We were absolutely exhausted and frozen when we arrived, but had a fabulously warm welcome here. The room was absolutely beautiful and spotlessly clean. The view from the large windows was spectacular - within a few minutes of arriving, we spotted a southern right whale breaching! Can't get better than that! It did take us a while to warm up in the room (probably because we'd spent so much time in the water with the sharks earlier...), but there was a heater, which helped.

The shower was great and there were lovely fluffy towels. There were also coffee making facilities, some biscuits and I think a decanter of sherry (I didn't try it, so don't quote me on that!) in the room and an "honesty bar" fridge on the landing. Breakfast was excellent and we really felt welcome here.

We drove to the Lighthouse pub for dinner that night. We were the only people in there that evening - service and food were good. There are a few other restaurants in the area, all a short drive away. One of them, Ciro's, will send a car for you if you don't want to drive.

I wish we'd had another night here. If you're planning a dive with the sharks here, I'd recommend staying the night before and the night after the dive to enjoy the scenery and peace of this area. Kleinbaii is a good three hour drive from Cape Town in the morning, making it a very early start for the dive boats!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubagirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gansbaai hotels
0.2 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#6 of 30 in Gansbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 30 in Gansbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
3.1 mi away
Franskraal B&B
Franskraal B&B
#10 of 30 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#5 of 30 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 30 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#12 of 30 in Gansbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aire del Mar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aire del Mar Guest House

Property: Aire del Mar Guest House
Address: 77 Van Dyk Street, | Kleinbaai, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aire del Mar Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aire del Mar is ideally situated for viewing of the Great White Sharks. Only 2 hours’ drive from Cape Town, Aire del Mar is in the quiet and small seaside resort of Kleinbaai, near Gansbaai. Aire del Mar is walking distance from Kleinbaai harbour from where the boats leave for shark cage diving and whale watching. We offer you friendly personal service and quality accommodation in: - 5 Spacious luxury rooms, all with en suite bath rooms and balconies from which you have a spectacular unspoilt panoramic view over the bay of Dyer Island [world famous for its shark alley! ] - from Danger Point all the way around to the light house of Quoin Point in a distance. All room have coffee/tea facilities, safes, satellite TV and wall heaters. You start your day with a healthy breakfast and towards the end of the day you can enjoy sun-downers on your own balcony or in our fully licensed bar. - 3 Self-catering studios on the ground floor - with sea-view and en suite bathrooms. A small kitchenette has a microwave oven, fridge and adequate utensils to prepare and enjoy small meals, and there is a BBQ facility behind the guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Aire del Mar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing