We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my little piece of heaven”
Review of On The Rocks B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
On The Rocks B&B
Ranked #16 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“my little piece of heaven”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Visited south Africa for the for the first time, what a beautiful place and what lovely people.We made our own fly drive, flew into cape town where we stayed two nights and then toured some of the garden route, but basically we went where we fancied anyway whilst on our travels we came across a fabulous place in Gansbaai called ON THE ROCKS. Well where do I start... firstly I would like to compliment the owners for our stay there, we have never in all our travels been made to feel more welcome, nothing was too much trouble. The en-suite room which we stayed in was called the Africa room it was tastefully decorated with balcony which over looked the bay which was amazing not only for the view but one of the main things I wanted to see when visiting south Africa were the whales, and boy did I see them morning, noon and night, no binoculars were necessary its something in my life that I will never forget. On the rocks has its own swimming pool which we took advantage of and also has its own enclosed private parking. The breakfasts were second to none and were served in a breakfast area once again overlooking the bay. We found on the rocks to be spotlessly clean and tidy, we would not hesitate to suggest to folk to give them a visit. We only intended to stay for one night but ended up staying for 4 nights would have stayed longer given the chance but alas our holiday was nearly at an end, but what a fantastic time we had

Room Tip: Africa Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jazzmin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    19
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
33
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

This hotel looked great on the internet so I booked it months in advance. We were very disappointed to arrive only to find out we couldn't stay as the owner had double booked. She was very nice and said it had never happened before, but still she should have let us know and we would have found something else or maybe skipped De Kelders and stayed in Gansbaai city. I wish we could have stayed there, even though the guesthouse we moved to was nice in a different way. Just want to let people know that this does happen.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DelhiDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

While we agree with some of the feedback on the rather interesting decor, the rooms, the linens and the towels were all clean. The view out towards the water from the rooms is breathtaking! The two dogs (Boesman and Nonna) were well behaved, cute and, unless you really don't like dogs, were a delight to have around! Tinus was a pleasure to talk to - he gave us great directions, was full of knowledge of local sites and kept us entertained at breakfast. We highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCJNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

I stayed at On the Rocks for 4 nights – first for 2 nights, and then after a weekend in Cape Town I was back for another 2 nights. It is true that you get greeted by 2 yapping dogs, aside from barking to let all know that you have arrived, I never heard them back again. The place also has 2 cats, which are very much a part of the atmosphere there. If you like pets, nature and simplicity, this is the place to go.

I was greeted when I arrived by the housekeeper, who is friendly and very talented with the way she arranges the towels, bedding and food. She also makes the most perfect soft-boiled eggs I have ever had. I was showed to my room, and after the initial shock of realizing how small it is, I exhilarated in the view. I stayed in the Whale Room, which has an incredible view of the rocks, fynbos and sea from the room, balcony and bed. The furniture is very basic, the linen and towels clean and also basic, which was more than sufficient and very good value for the price paid.

Upstairs is a huge lounge area with endless views of the sea. Leading to the downstairs area is an iron spiral staircase, which I found very easy to navigate despite my poor co-ordination. In the bottom living area is a pool table, a huge very comfortable couch with a TV , which you are free to use. This leads open-plan to the dining area with tables are chairs. There is a also a very large and well-equipped kitchen, and I felt very comfortable making my own dinners there. Breakfasts are served at 9am, but you are asked every day if this time is suitable and you are free to suggest another time. The breakfasts consist of a buffet of various cereals, very fresh and delicious breads and yoghurt. There was cheese and jam on my table, and I was brought a freshly made fruit-salad every day, and while not huge was more than enough. I was also asked what I wanted as my hot meal, and as stated before, this was made to perfection and beautifully served.

As I was the only guest staying there the first night, I did look around at the other rooms. All are smallish but tastefully if a bit old-fashioned. Not all of the rooms have views though. The owners are Tinus and Sylvia – Tinus is the one who stays at the place, and he is very warm and welcoming. He also is a great source of local information.

As it was not whale season I had no expectations of seeing any of them. But it is still a nature lovers paradise, there is a trail that you can join from just outside the place – it leads through gorgeous fynbos, and along the rocky coast. You can literally walk for hours, and I felt very safe doing this on my own.

I left there feeling like I was leaving home, I will certainly try to go back there!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mishmash9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2009

We stayed there for 3 nights; I pre-arranged bookings with Sylvia and Thinus. The rooms are themed (we stayed in Lavender), and I found them clean, with good quality linen and in good repair.

The B8B's web site (http://www.ontherocksbb.co.za/) is a good reflection of reality, and the views are indeed awesome.

Breakfast was served promptly (at 09:00, as we had agreed), and was hearty with ample access to coffee, juice, etc etc. A selection of cereals and fruits was also on offer.

Thinus (for the non-South Africans out there, this is pronounced "Teen - Us" :-) ) was very friendly, and made efforts to make us feel welcome. He also described several attractions in the area.

Whales: whilst we did not see whales during our time there (Whale season is at a high in September, so they are not present in March), they apparently do calf in the bay shown in the picture on the main page of the web site.

Pets: the owner does indeed have two small dogs and a cat. As I mentioned in the subject line, you need to remember that this is a B&B, and you are staying in someone's home. The pets were well behaved, friendly, and kept away from the guest areas to the extent possible. Personally I did not find them to be a nuisance, but your mileage may vary if you have allergies or specifically dislike animals in your accommodation.

All in all, a good experience, in a beautiful environment, and at

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark_strathmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gansbaai hotels
1.7 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 29 in Gansbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.1 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#5 of 29 in Gansbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bay Lodge
The Bay Lodge
#17 of 29 in Gansbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
3.7 mi away
Franskraal B&B
Franskraal B&B
#9 of 29 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On The Rocks B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The Rocks B&B

Property: On The Rocks B&B
Address: 28 Waterkant Street, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Rocks B&B welcomes you to the peace and beauty of nature to relax and rejuvenate your body, soul and spirit. At On the Rocks you will experience friendly hospitality, glorious sunsets and a scrumptious breakfast. The guest house is situated on the beachfront of De Kelders, just before Gansbaai, and is excellently placed for whale-watching - from your patio, bed or even while you shower. Our rooms are individually styled and decorated to match your mood or personality and are equipped with all amenities for your comfort, including a private balcony overlooking Walker Bay. Whatever your choice, all rooms have sea views and their own private balcony. The rooms are equipped with a satellite TV, fridge, electronic safe, ceiling fan, hairdryer, clock radio, and tea and coffee tray. Fresh towels, shower gel and shampoo are also provided to tingle your senses. We pride ourselves in serving guests a full and hearty South African breakfast, either out on the patio or inside. Alternatively, why not let us pack you a picnic breakfast to enjoy at Stanfords Cove close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your On The Rocks B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing