We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At Home far away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Umnenge Lodge & Charters
Ranked #19 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“At Home far away from Home”
Reviewed November 27, 2009

We have been to SA for 3 times now and stayed at several B&B´s but Umnenge Lodge beats them all. Mary and Rich are wonderful hosts and we stayed there for 6 nights. At first we have booked 4 nights and came back for another 2 nights after staying at Franschhoek missing Unmenge Lodge. The beautiful modern african style lodge is nested along the beautiful coastline of De Kelders. Mary and Rich gave us the feeling of being at home with their personal support and assistance. We loved the landscape, the whales, the sharks, the tast braai and the homemade bread and muffins. Jessie the lovely guide dog attend us on our walks along the stunning rocks watching the whales paying and jumping. In the evenings we enjoyed sitting in the cosy bar downstairs having a glas of Birkenhead beer or a nice Walker Bay Sauvignon Blanc chatting and laughing with Mary and Rich. All in all we must say: A hidden gem highly recommended! Thanks guys, we will come back as soon as possible ;-)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patte1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
47
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2009

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at Umnenge lodge and out of 4 places in South Africa we stayed this was definitely the best.
Mary and Richard are wonderful hosts. They organised trips for us and recommended a great local restaurant on the first night. On the second night we had a braai with them, which was a real highlight, it was like a night with friends - relaxed and fun, with amazing food to top it off!
The rooms are to a very high standard, with an amazing shower, and the view of the bay and the whales is one I will never forget.
Next time we would stay for longer, as 2 nights is not enough to appreciate all the area has to offer. We did a fishing charter with Richard which was amazing and would definately recommend.
The bar downstairs was a great place to sit in the evening and enjoy a few drinks, they serve local beer from the Birkenhead Brewery which was a highlight of my husbands trip! Next time we would like to visit the Brewery for a tour.
Thank-you so much Mary and Richard we had a great time and will be back!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkKirbyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joure
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2009

We stayed at the Umnenge Lodge in Okt 2009. Arrived for the first time in SA one day earlier Umnenge set the standard for the rest of the holyday........ a tough competition fot the following B&B's.
The rooms are: EXELLENT!! , very well decorated in an African atmosphere, and complete (enormous bathroom, tv) and most of all, a room with a gorgeous view! From our bed we could see the whales in the ocean........ need i say more?
If you have the change, book a dinner with the host. unless you dont want to gain a bit of weight. They prepared the best dinner for us, including braai (fish, lamb etc) and we had a lively discussion during dinner among all of us.

Try the place!

Gertjan and Esther

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoureBob1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2009

My partner Andy and I stayed Umnenge Lodge in September 2009 and can thoroughly recommend it to all!
Hosts Mary and Richard were so very welcoming and such great fun that our stay was more like visiting friends. Their little son Quinn added to the entertainment and the relaxed atmosphere while Jessie, the lovely (and extremely placid) Alsation acted as unofficial guide when Andy & I went for walks along the spectacular coastal paths.
Superb food (Richard even braved an unusally wet night to BBQ for us!), fantastic whale watching opportunities (our room also had terrific sea views) beautiful decor and furnishings with a real African feel...what more could you ask for?
PS Our whole African experience was so good Andy even proposed to me!! A good excuse to return to Umnenge for the honeymoon!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

There aren't many guesthouses that welcome you with open arms when you have got 4 children aged 7 and under!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnhfmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Before I even begin sharing my experience in this place, I have to add one important thing. Usually I keep these little gems around the world to myself - afraid only to return one day to discover crowds of people, in what used to be a Paradise for the few. This time, I will take the chance...

The property is located in a prime elevated spot - in my oppinion the best in the area - right at the far east end bordering Walker Bay Nature Reserve. Which give a sense of having the whole area to yourself. Quiet and peaceful, not a sound heard - except for the whales:-) - at night.

Bordering the Nature Reserve you also have the added bonus of long walks - starting at your doorstep - through the most beautifull, serene landscape I have ever seen, including the marvelous protected Fynbos and a coastline visited by lots and lots of Whales. The Whales can also be observed from your own balcony or on the terrase while sipping a drink. An option I personally loved!

I was blessed to stay here for a total of 6 day. I had requested breakfast, lunch and dinner every day of my stay, which was no problem at all. Mary, being a great chef and putting attention and heart into her cooking, cooked one delicious meal after another. The crayfish dinner on my first night and the lamb liver delicacy especially come to my mind! I also had the pleasure of trying a Brai one evening - devine! There is also a well stocked bar on the premesis, which includes beer from the local Birkenhead brewery. Surprisingly good!

The owners Mary and Richard have really put their hearts into this place. Words can not describe the charm and character of Umnenge Lodge. Wonderfull rooms, best beds I have slept in abroad. I had the King Shaka Suite with its own huge balcony overlooking the bay. Highly recommended! Such attention to detail from the decorative art, to the huge stone bathtub with its own little tap waterfall. On top of that, Mary and Richard as the wonderfull host they are, will cater to your every need and make you feel right at home!

I could just go on and on about this "out of this world" place forever!

To summon it all up:

If you are into small hidden gems - do go see Mary, Richard, their 2 adorable boys Robin and Quinnie and last but not least, Jessie the dog. If sterile Hotels/Guesthouses with unpersonalized service is your thing - please stay away!!!!

Drude

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUSTMEDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesbrug
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Mandy and I are from Johannesburg and fell in love with the Western Cape since 2007. I can currently guarantee our dream is to move there soon. It lifts our spirits and self-worth during holiday periods and shares warmth not visible in other provinces. She urged me this year to settle for more than two days in one spot and I subdued. We decided to tackle Umnenge Lodge in De Kelders for four days, but we were tackled instead! And we loved it! Mary, Richard, kiddies, staff and our guide on walks, Jessie the German Shepherd embraced us into this unique lodge, and shared not only great service, but a true experience of family worth. We had the time of our lives! Thank you for all the amazing dinners, breakfasts, bookings, music, unique beer, company, knowledge etc. We will never forget this! We will see you someday soon. We wish you all the best of luck! Please keep our contact details for any assistance in Johannesburg. We also LOVED the personal flight, cage diving and whale trip arranged by Richard and Mary!! What a trip!

Regards, Arthur

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goblins400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gansbaai hotels
0.1 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
612 reviews
0.5 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Whalesong Lodge
Whalesong Lodge
#8 of 29 in Gansbaai
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
284 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
1.3 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 29 in Gansbaai
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umnenge Lodge & Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umnenge Lodge & Charters

Property: Umnenge Lodge & Charters
Address: 1 Eden &15 & 17 Smuts Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Umnenge Lodge & Charters 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umnenge is a family friendly luxury African lodge situated on the rugged cliffs of De Kelders near Gansbaai in South Africa. Umnenge Lodge is a member of Guest House Association South Africa and has received 4 Stars from the Tourism Council South Africa. "Umnenge" is a Xhosa expression meaning 'whale in the bay' and refers to the Southern Right Whale which can be seen from Umnenge Lodge, frolicking in the waters of Walker bay from June to January. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Umnenge Lodge & Charters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing