We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Umnenge Lodge & Charters
Ranked #19 of 30 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent a wonderful time in a wonderful place. Mary and Richard are very friendly and recommended to us nice restaurants and places to visit. The room is really nice with wonderful views to the sea. Thanks for your hospitality and see you soon!
Johanna & Sergio

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sergio_Poyatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Umnenge Lodge & Charters
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 100 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

Although we stayed only 1 night IT was a truly remarkable experience. The guesthouse is located at a wonderful spot and our hosts made everything possible to made us like home. All of our questions and requests was answered promptly and perfectly and we had a wonderful breakfast together as well

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank HZ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in October 2012. From the minute we arrived we were very comfortable and felt at home. Richard, Mary and the boys are gracious and entertaining hosts. Dora the dog is really lovely. Breakfast is really superb.
the rooms are.... wow!
It's a shame the overhead telephone line across the street spoiled the photos of the bay taken from our balcony. That is my only complaint and Richard and Mary can't do anything about this!
Thank you both for a super stay.

Room Tip: If the quality of a place is judged by the bathroom then Umnenge Lodge is 6 star!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derekandsabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

we had a great of this very luxuyious guest house.The bedroom was very spacious and comprised balcony.With great to the sea and the whales.The location is nearby the bat caves.Richard and Mary do everything if you ask them for activities.They are simpley the best.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myfamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stay three nights at the Umnenge Lodge last july and we had a perfect time!We had a very nice welcome by our host Richard an Mary,they was ready for to help and show us some interesting things all the time whene we need.Our room was great with a very beautiful view on the sea,we saw some whales jumping sometimes,incredibale!!!From the lodge it was very easy to go eat somewhere by walk too by the sea front and it's possible to see some smal animals in the rock and again some whales,sometimes 5,only in few minutes walking!!!We will save a very good souvenir of this time at the Umnenge Lodge and whant to say again Thank you so much at Richard and Mary again for Their kindness.It's sure we will come back next year!
Sébastien and Gee.

Room Tip: A very good room with a sea view,it's possible to see some whales from the room!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seb181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I just returned from Cape Town from a business trip. I spent 2 nights at Umnenge Lodge. And I must say, it was great. I wondered what makes Umnenge such a special place and to me the answer is the great hospitality shown by Richard and Mary and their sons. From the first second I felt home away from home. A lodge that I can recommend without any hesitation to rest seekers and marine life enthousiast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The owners, Richard and Mary, have created a charming lodge in Gansbaii. They are a most hospitable couple, who can provide lots of information about the various activities the area offers. We found the rooms to be large and beautifully decorated, along with a private balcony facing the sea. In addition to a delicious breakfast, they offer a home-cooked dinner, if so desired.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marshalutchlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
0.6 mi away
Whalesong Lodge
Whalesong Lodge
#8 of 30 in Gansbaai
278 reviews
1.8 mi away
On The Rocks B&B
On The Rocks B&B
#15 of 30 in Gansbaai
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 30 in Gansbaai
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 30 in Gansbaai
160 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#11 of 30 in Gansbaai
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Cliff
Sea Star Cliff
#1 of 2 in De Kelders
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umnenge Lodge & Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umnenge Lodge & Charters

Address: 1 Eden &15 & 17 Smuts Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: $55 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Umnenge Lodge & Charters 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umnenge is a family friendly luxury African lodge situated on the rugged cliffs of De Kelders near Gansbaai in South Africa. Umnenge Lodge is a member of Guest House Association South Africa and has received 4 Stars from the Tourism Council South Africa. "Umnenge" is a Xhosa expression meaning 'whale in the bay' and refers to the Southern Right Whale which can be seen from Umnenge Lodge, frolicking in the waters of Walker bay from June to January. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Umnenge Lodge & Charters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing