We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspirational place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Farm 215 Nature Retreat & Fynbos Reserve
Ranked #14 of 31 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Thanks for a fabulous four night stay. Amazing scenery, great food and wonderful people. A unique, top-class place to visit which has inspired us in many ways. We enjoyed seeing the area and were inspired by the way that the farm combined luxury with environmental awareness and conservation. Horse riding was very fun. We learnt a huge amount from Maarten. Thanks a million for the time you spent with us.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bikera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 103 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

We actually came here in July 2011.

Once again, we had a place almost to ourselves, the benefits of travelling in South African winter!

Martin was an excellent host and provided a fine feast for the couple of nights we ate there.

We wandered around the reserve one day, Martin had provided maps of the trails and a packed lunch. We saw all the replanting work that was going on, they had experienced a brush fire a couple of years before, they are very keen on preserving the Fynbos nature of the land and have so far done an excellent job, I expect that by the time you visit it will all be regrown once again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

During our honeymood we spent 3 days at the Farm: a warm welcome, yummie breakfast and excellent diners. We visited 10 accomodations during our 3 weeks-trip in South Africa. Farm 215 was the most remarkable. We did horseriding and walks at the fynbos: what silence, what flowers, what colours!!
We had a room en suite with bathroom (2-persons shower!), own terrace, all like a dream.
Maarten, Natasja, Sam, Maggie and staff, thank you so much. See you all next time, for sure!

Room Tip: You can choose either a room in the mainhouse or a little bungalow on its own. Looking for nature...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wim188630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spent five days at Farm 215 in November 2012, and we could not have found a better place to stay. We were absolutely delighted by the gorgeous and impeccable premises, the stunning surroundings, the fine quality of the food and wine, and last but not least by the remarkable kindness, helpfulness and professionalism of the entire staff. My wife and I immediately felt at home at Farm 215 and our three daughters aged 7, 5 and 3 still recall our stay there as one of the highlights of our entire journey in South Africa. Highly recommended to those who seek the best.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicolas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I am happy to write that I do not agree at all with some of the latest reviews. I stayed 2 nights at Farm215 from the 26th of December till the 28th of December and I loved every minute of it. I walked for hours at the fynbos reserve and saw so many flowers during the hike that there was no need for me to find them in a vase at my room....The next day I had a lovely horse ride and saw another part of this beautiful reserve. There was hardly time enough to enjoy the peacefulness of the place and the beautiful views so, although I am not a rich foreigner, I will definitely come back for more of that! Thanks Sam and Maarten for your friendly hospitality and Dianne for your wonderful meals!".

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank maximeAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

It seems a lot of the reviews are from foreign tourists, and its great to see how they enjoy it - but when you are a local and you know what the going rate should be, then.... We went for a weekend In Oct, and all i can say is its totally overpriced. The setting and concept is all good-perhaps a few years ago before eco-friendly places existed. BUT the price tag is crazy when you compare it to other eco-friendly places. In terms of upkeep, things like sorting out the road to get there (inexpensive cost to the owners), the linen (clearly been around a few times), small touches like a bunch of local flowers in a vase (wont damage the environment and its freely available) will make a paying guest feel happier about the bill. There is a world-wide recession people, respect your guests and be more reasonable about your offer or you will loose even the "rich" foreigners returning !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skye512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This place so so good - the food is exceptional, the best we had in SA - they did a braai specially for us with local snoek. The wine is grown on their own vineyard and is fabulous sold at cost price, no restaurant mark-up.
The fynbos walk is brilliant, although I'd have made it longer. It ends at a spot next to amazing proteas and a huge array of birds visiting. We were there for ages bird-watching and came back a couple of times to the same spot to see more and more species.
The staff are so friendly, nothing is too much trouble, printing maps and letting us use their phone for free, there's free internet too. We felt like we'd made really good interesting friends.
It was a bit chilly when we arrived but our room had a wood-burner, so cosy and a deep relaxing bath with free luxury toiletries. I can't remember the last time I was so relaxed, and the views are incredible from all the rooms.
They are genuinely sustainable too, so much going on with their land, restoring old forests and habitat for birds. The food was grown on their own organic farm.
I can't believe that I'll get thru life without ever going back - will make it a mission.

Room Tip: Think the rooms in the house are perfect no need to splash out on a separate villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clfm20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gansbaai hotels
8.9 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#5 of 31 in Gansbaai
428 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 31 in Gansbaai
633 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#7 of 31 in Gansbaai
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
7.9 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#4 of 31 in Gansbaai
173 reviews
9.0 mi away
Aire del Mar Guest House
Aire del Mar Guest House
#16 of 31 in Gansbaai
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farm 215 Nature Retreat & Fynbos Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farm 215 Nature Retreat & Fynbos Reserve

Address: Hartebeeskloof, Baardskeerdersbos - Overstrand | PO Box 1314, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: $152 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Farm 215 Nature Retreat & Fynbos Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farm 215 is located in the Cape's undisturbed Overberg. Farm 215 offers luxury, tranquillity, privacy, space, original food and exceptional floral beauty. Panoramic views over the plains towards the ocean, vineyards hugging the lake and endless mountains. Located in a pristine private nature reserve of 800 hectares, farm 215 is a shelter from the daily routines of life and a haven for the conscious traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Farm 215 Nature Retreat & Fynbos Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing