We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - One night not enough”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in De Rust
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
De Rust View Guest House
Ranked #2 of 6 De Rust B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 8, 2013

From the UK we saw this B&B via a schoolfriend on Facebook and thought it would be a good halfway break on our way to Kenton-On-Sea. On arrival, we were shown to our rooms...Explorer/Karoo View 2 and Karoo View 1... WOW was the comment from all 5 of us!! Stunning rooms.. After travelling we swam in the refreshingly cool swimming pool with the tranquility of the sunset and beautiful scenic views all around us. After sundowners on the pool deck we freshened up whilst our wonderful hosts Ben and Lanie prepared supper. Our meals were delicious!!!! Lanie prepared a special Vegetarian meal which was equally tasty! A fantastic stay.. We wished we had booked for longer. We highly recommend this B&B .. You will not be disappointed. Thank you Ben and Lanie :-))

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 51 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

On a two week tour, staying in some appetising looking places, we didn't have this stopover down as a particular highlight - stupid us.
A wonderfully spacious room with a huge private deck offering the most breathtaking views greeted us. The pool looks out over glorious countryside. There's another viewing deck where Ben made us a truly gourmet dinner (the marrowbone starter is a must) for next to no cost.
Wished we had booked for longer.....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Our room Karoo View 2 was large, spacious and well decorated. The balcony was huge and private and we enjoyed a lovely evening watching the moon rise over the horizon.

Whilst this is the country we were surprised to see 3 dogs at the guesthouse, in the common areas and around the pool. If you are uncomfortable with Great Danes (like us) this isn't the place for you!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kath A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benderust1, Owner at De Rust View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hi!
You stayed with us about a month ago on a Sunday and we are a bit unsure of the specific circumstances of your stay, but we are profusely sorry that you were not perfectly at home.
Yes. We indeed have two great danes. We lived on a farm before moving to De Rust and yes a guesthouse isn’t the most perfect setting to have two very old dogs around. But we only had two options – putting them down or move them too.
They are not allowed in the house, but you can’t imagine how sneaky they can be! Generally guests love them, but we know it is not to everybody’s liking. We monitor the situation and if we see guests are uncomfortable with them, we put them in a large enclosure.
(Luckily you didn’t see the very old Spaniel that only wakes up when there is food around : >). But, the danes and the Spaniel don’t have much time left on earth and perhaps a year from now the only surprise that non dog-lovers will have to face is a small Jack Russell that is very concerned when some-one jumps in the pool.
Thank you so much for you kind feedback.
Kind regards,
Ben
De Rust View Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Better late than never - after our stay in October thought I better get around to posting a review and this place is well worth taking the time to do so.

We only had one night here between our stay in Addo and our next stop of Simon's Town and now wish we had stayed longer.

With magnificent views from every room, this was a highlight of our stay, made more special by Ben & Lanie-Marie and their wonderful cookery - not to mention their menagerie of pets.

The room - Karoo View 2 - was spacious, airy, clean and very, very comfortable. I didn't notice whether it had air-con (although there was a fan) or if a fridge was available or even a hairdryer - however, this was not a concern for us as we were only there on a whistle-stop visit.

I would most certainly recommend De Rust View Guest House as a much better alternative to Oudtshoorn.

Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay-and-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

What more can one ask for? Reasonable price. Friendly reception by your hosts. Superb hospitality. Beautiful views - yes in this case as beautiful as the internet pictures. Large rooms and in Karoo View One where we stayed, you even have a beautiful view from the bath! And the food - Ben prepared us a Cassoulet, which is a French dish with white beans. I though I hated white beans, but I had three servings. We cannot wait to visit this superb guest house again.

Tienie and Joy Cronje from Pretoria

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martinus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We recently stayed here on our way to the Cape. What a lovely place! The biggest plus is definitely the views of this guesthouse and the friendliness of the hosts. We stayed in a family room. The only downside was that we didn't have a private entrance and the door to our room opened into the lounge shared by the guests. Our room had a beautiful bathroom and beds were very comfortable. We didn't eat our meals in the guesthouse, but we had early morning coffee. I will recommend this place if you want to sleep over in De Rust.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank CapetownKoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

After a long day travelling, imagine our pleasure at finding this magnificent place to stay in a beautiful part of the world! The hosts, Ben and Lanie-Marie (not forgetting the menagerie of friendly cats and dogs!!) made us feel so welcome and our stay so comfortable, it was definitely a highlight of our trip. Thank you so much! This place is very highly recommended, it's off the main road yet very easy to find and you can easily walk down the hill into the "town". If, like us, you get there too late for dinner there you can always go to the restaurant (and bar!) with the pink elephant and partake in the simple but good food as well as attempt to drink one of their chilli shots (it'll blow your head off!) Anyway, great place, great views, fantastic breakfast - GO and stay you won't be disappointed I promise!

Room Tip: Our party stayed in 3 rooms and the best one is the one with the bath BUT (BIG BUT) they are all bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanLooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these De Rust hotels
0.3 mi away
Housemartin Guest Lodge
Housemartin Guest Lodge
#1 of 6 in De Rust
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olivier's Rust
Olivier's Rust
#1 of 9 in De Rust
92 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meijer's Rust
Meijer's Rust
#2 of 9 in De Rust
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Rust View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rust View Guest House

Address: 1 Vrede Street, De Rust 6651, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > De Rust
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in De Rust
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Rust View Guest House offers dramatic mountain views from our viewing deck and entertainment area which has a fireplace, DSTV, bar and pool table. We have five stylish rooms - all with airconditioning - with two which have their own private deck. All the rooms have en suite bathrooms and are fitted with beautiful Italian tiles. And for hot days? A large pool where you can work on your suntan and can cool off. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing