We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A VIEW!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in De Rust
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
De Rust View Guest House
Ranked #2 of 6 De Rust B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“WHAT A VIEW!!!!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Even though it has already been four months since my new wife and I spent two nights at De Rust View, I still had to write this review as they deserve all the praise they can get. What an amazing stay. The guest house definitely has one of the most amazing views I have ever experienced (used this word with intent), especially if you are sitting in the Karoo View 1 bath with the sun setting behind the Kamanassie Mountains!

Ben was an exceptional host (Lani-Marie was away) and he is one of the best "I'm not really a chef I just enjoy cooking" I have had dinner with. Try the Springbok Pie, AMAZING!

We can't suggest a better place to stay in De Rust...truly awesome!

Room Tip: Check the website, all the rooms are well laid out! We stayed in the Karoo View 1 room...adjacent to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andri_Stander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Ben and Lanie-Marie are the best hosts ever, the views, cleanliness, food, etc, etc.....the stay at De Rust View was unforgettable!! The way they treated our handicapped son was so special. Thank you Ben and Lanie-Marie.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauret1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We decided to stop over for the afternoon and night at De Rust View Guesthouse - what a great decision. I had my mountain bike with me so I asked Ben whether he knew of any trails I could ride on. He described a number of options and gave me trail maps to choose from. I chose a 3-hour ride through the farm roads and enjoyed it so much that I got back in the dark after having taken a wrong turning, but what a time! I'd love to come back and try the more technical route, but the one described looks as if it's not for the faint hearted!
Having built up a really good appetite, we truly enjoyed a top class dinner prepared personally by Ben assisted by Lanie-Marie and then enjoyed a wonderful sleep in the very clean bedroom with amazing views - ground floor Karoo View 2.
Breakfast was also great - thanks, Ben and Lanie, you were great hosts!
Campbell & Penny

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2535HelSw7130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn
2 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Wow, wow, wow!!!!! My husband took me to De Rust View Guesthouse for our first anniversary and he couldn't have chosen a better place!!! The guesthouse is beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean and neat.
We started the evening with a bottle of wine and chatting to the owners Ben and Lanie-Marie, later we had our dinner on the balcony of our room, so special and the food was AMAZING!!!!
We slept with the curtains wide open to wake up to the most beautiful view the next morning.
Thank you very much again for a very memorable stay, we will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marelizee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trollhättan
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed two nights in luxury room with a huge bathroom, the bathroom had a balcony with a stunning view over the landscape. Lanie-Marie and Ben were very god hosts, they know how to make a good dinner and create a friendly atmosphere. We will definately stay there again.
Thanks Lanie-Marie and Ben for wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed over at De Rust during the Easter Holiday and were blown away with the De Rust View accomodation! For a affordable price we got the best views, bath with a view, luxury room, private dinner ( yum!!) made by the hosts, cocktails and a memorable stay. We felt very welcome by the friendly hosts. We stayed in Karoo view 1 room(bath with a view) next to the entertainment room which has a pool table, HD flatscreen, leather couches, fire place and incredible views as well! This will be the only place where we will be staying when travelling through De Rust in the future for sure...can't wait!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KariVorster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Lovely view over the farms from the hillside setting. Very friendly and lovely couple running this lovely place. Thanks Ben & Lanie-Marié! Breakfast was fantastic. We loved it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Rust
0.3 mi away
Housemartin Guest Lodge
Housemartin Guest Lodge
#1 of 6 in De Rust
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olivier's Rust
Olivier's Rust
#1 of 9 in De Rust
87 reviews
8.1 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Meijer's Rust
Meijer's Rust
#2 of 9 in De Rust
29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Die Malvahuisie B & B
Die Malvahuisie B & B
#4 of 6 in De Rust
15 reviews
9.4 mi away
Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Rust View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rust View Guest House

Property: De Rust View Guest House
Address: 1 Vrede Street, De Rust 6651, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > De Rust
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in De Rust
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Rust View Guest House offers dramatic mountain views from our viewing deck and entertainment area which has a fireplace, DSTV, bar and pool table. We have five stylish rooms - all with airconditioning - with two which have their own private deck. All the rooms have en suite bathrooms and are fitted with beautiful Italian tiles. And for hot days? A large pool where you can work on your suntan and can cool off. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing