We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful spot for total relaxation.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clanwilliam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karukareb Wilderness Reservaat Lodge
Dubai
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot for total relaxation.”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We spent two nights here during our trip to SA in mid November and we loved it!

We were greeted by the friendly and very helpful owners, who drove us down to our luxury tent, which was stunning. The bathroom inside the tents are gorgeous, complete with roll top bath! And the bed was quite possibly the comfiest we’ve ever stayed in. The view from our deck was beautiful and we loved walking down to cool off in the stream/rock pool at the bottom of the hill.

Each morning we were woken by horses grazing around the tent which was really special and then had a lovely breakfast down at the main lodge. The chef and waitress were both super friendly, and breakfast and dinner were both included in the price so all we paid for was drinks. They even helped out letting us use their lapa for a braai on our second night.

The Cederberg itself is stunning and the valley this ‘resort’ is located in is beautiful and peaceful. Positioned at the end of a well maintained 14km dirt road, we had no issue reaching the place in a not-so-practical mini Hyundai, but would recommend getting a 4x4 to help enjoy the surrounding areas further.

We weren’t too adventurous exploring as we wanted to relax, but the team did recommend the Sevilla trail to us which was a great (easy) 4km hike to see some cave drawings by bushmen, and the drive down there was stunning too.

All in all we wish we could have stayed longer and really hope to return one day!

Room Tip: We loved the luxury tents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellaboo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Luckily all building work had stopped over Xmas while we were there! The location is incredible and very remote. The food was fine but nothing special. The best part we're all the animals wondering around. Ostriches, horses, baby peacocks and a baby meerkat amongst others. We did a hike/ rock climb that was lots of fun and horse riding which was relaxing. The tents, which are a 15min walk from the lodge were wonderful and you can swim in our own private rock pools near to the tents, which we loved. Over all a wonderful place to stay, just check that there is no building work going on before you book!

Room Tip: Go for the tents rather than the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in the lodge area for our 3nights are Karukareb and unfortunately they were in the process of digging a waterhole (among other things) in front of the lodge so all day all we could here was trucks and people talking loudly. The lodge rooms itself need a massive revamp, it is dusty, dull and old and be prepared to see animal skins as decorations EVERYWHERE! We asked for recommendations for things to do in the area but they were only able to make a few suggestions. The food was a disappointment and very unappetising, it was either too salt or lacked any flavour at all. While the Cedarburg region is beautiful we were unable to truly enjoy it in these surrounds.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank valued09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

When we arrived we stumbled onto a building site with tractors and workman. The cook was the only staffmember we met and he showed us to the room. He also informed us that the Lodge had been taken over a few month ago and is undergoing major changes. They are building a luxury resort with 3-hole-golf course, Spa, etc. and the work was going full blast. We booked the lodge in October and were NOT informed of these changes. Needless to say that neither the previous and/or the new owner invested anything in maintaining the place recently and it showed! The so called luxury rooms are small and anything but luxurious and 5 rooms share a lounge/kitchenette with fridge. Luckily we were the only ones there. We also had to pay the full price ZAR2795.10 per night, which is quite expensive anyway but way over the top for what we found there, in advance. The lodge is now run on a skeleton staff and the food we had there was the worst ever on our many travels in SA.
The setting is beautiful and perhaps when all the building is done and the new place is open it might be worthwile going again but in the meantime DONT GO. It is a ripoff and we felt much cheated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriela53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Karukareb is situated in a secluded valley outside of Clanwilliam in the Cape. We spent a very enjoyable week end here. The well appointed luxury tents were excellent and quite romantic in an Out of Africa way. There are a few good hikes and 2 stunningly unspoiled swimming spots in the pristine stream running through the property. We self catered except for one evening - the food was just ok - this is more about the setting, the peace and quiet and nature.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotshotCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The scenery is amazing and the tents very comfortable although it does not say anywhere on the website that they are 1km from the main lodge which is fine during the day but not so good to walk back at night. Bring a powerful torch as the one provided is useless.
Our main complaint was the food. We have being in South Africa for three weeks and it was the worst food ever. Canteen food at it's worst.
The welcome could be better The lodge a bit tired and in need of some tlc.
Overprice

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cth6616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We were so glad we found this retreat. Driving up to it, some 20 kms outside Clan William, The view of the mountains got better and better until we knew this was exactly the area we were looking for. We were shown the small guest house and then the luxury tents further away. The tents are the way to go. Situated between two mountain ranges with a small river to swim in infront of us. The views are to die for. The tented accommodation is sufficient with a decent bathroom. The fridge keeps the beer cold and the evenings are cool enough to sleep (mid summer) The dinner and breakfasts included in the price were great. The staff friendly and efficient. Cannot wait to go back

Room Tip: Take the tents, especially no.2, with a better view from the stoop of the main mountain range
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xrhodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clanwilliam hotels
1.4 mi away
Clanwilliam Hotel
Clanwilliam Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clanwilliam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
13.3 mi away
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat
1.7 mi away
Saint du Barrys
Saint du Barrys
#1 of 10 in Clanwilliam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ndedema Lodge
Ndedema Lodge
#3 of 10 in Clanwilliam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
2.5 mi away
de Pakhuys
de Pakhuys
#2 of 22 in Clanwilliam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yellow Aloe Guest House
Yellow Aloe Guest House
#2 of 10 in Clanwilliam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karukareb Wilderness Reservaat Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karukareb Wilderness Reservaat Lodge

Property: Karukareb Wilderness Reservaat Lodge
Address: Boskloof Road, Clanwilliam 8135, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Clanwilliam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Clanwilliam
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing