We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful tranquil 2 night stay - 24 and 25 January 2014”
Review of The Longhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clanwilliam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Longhouse
Ranked #6 of 11 Clanwilliam B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Our room was large and airy with wonderful bedding, the GH, beautiful Cape Dutch with glorious gardens and friendly animals. Lucy first and then the owner, Ilse, were most welcoming. A short walk only to restaurants - we had pre-booked at Reinholds, which was just as well as it's very popular. We got the last table for our second night, much to the chagrin of other diners who also wanted to re-book. I am reviewing Reinholds separately so enough to say here that it was excellent and well worth a visit. Both our GH breakfasts were first rate with a great selection of fare.

We loved the general Cedarberg area and in particular The Loghouse. We shall return when next in South Africa.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliveperrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 30 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

We landed in Clanwillam homeless and with no reservation. After chatting with the woman at the tourism info center we headed out with three recommendation. Our first stop was the Longhouse. Upon entering the charming, clean and inviting inn, we were hooked. The inn owner Ilse took us under her wing and gave us wonderful suggestions for our time in the area. after 2 days, we were hooked and stayed two more days. One day was just relaxing by the pool and enjoying the beautiful grounds. Food was great, and the inn is located such that we could walk to town. We hope to visit again next year!

Room Tip: all were very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This guesthouse is in a beautiful building in the heart of Clanwilliam. It is an easy walk to the center of town and very close to the site of the annual garden show. The owner is very kind and delightful to talk with; the staff are very helpful and nice, as well. Breakfast is excellent and served in an attractive dining room. Our room was large and extremely comfortable. I would gladly stay here again if I were in Clanwilliam.

Room Tip: The end room is large and lovely; all the rooms face the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 828SusanK828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent a very agreeable night at the Longhouse as part of a trip up the Wet Coast. Our room was spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated. There was a lovely garden and a small swimming pool just steps away from our bedroom door. The breakfast was delicious - everything fresh and well prepared. We enjoyed meeting the owner and her team - the service was warm, welcoming and personal.

Room Tip: The rooms at each end of the Longhouse could be quieter - but the place is very calm anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilywall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Manager at The Longhouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind review! We have now added a patio and flower beds under the willow tree for a really quiet corner in the garden ....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Really nice bedrooms in an old house.
In 2 days we've never seen ou hosts but the the staff was really friendly and the breakfast delicious.
You can also cook your diner in the kitchen or make a braai near the pool.

Room Tip: You can cook your diner in the kitchen or make a braai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lekikidu92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for the first of a three night trip, it was a great place. Very friendly owner, who welcomed us. She recommended a lovely restaurant were she also booked a table for us. After we had arrived we filled in a short sheet for breakfast the following morning, we were the only people staying at the lodge that night, but there was still a full buffet prepared for us along with English breakfast, coffee and tea. When we left the owner Ilse gave us plenty of suggestions of what to do in the area and where to go next as we hadn't decided on what to do. We were there in August and saw lots of beautiful wild flowers in just the places she told us to go. She also suggested a lunch place and winery which we also visited over the weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gustav R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We checked into The Longhouse BB in Clanwilliam and had the pleasure of meeting the owner, Ilse. Rooms are lovely, spacious and comfortable. Spacious bathroom, air-con and decent size in-room fridge. Breakfast cards to pre-order breakfast for the next day. Lovely dining area where we are working in right now. Ilse is a wonderful human being and passionate about her craft and the community she lives in. I'll be back for more!

Room Tip: Rooms are all the same, overlooking the pool and walking distance from city centre and nearby restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tesproos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clanwilliam hotels
0.1 mi away
Clanwilliam Hotel by Country Hotels
0.0 mi away
Yellow Aloe Guest House
Yellow Aloe Guest House
#2 of 11 in Clanwilliam
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ndedema Lodge
Ndedema Lodge
#3 of 11 in Clanwilliam
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Saint du Barrys
Saint du Barrys
#1 of 11 in Clanwilliam
203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kleinfontein
Kleinfontein
#7 of 11 in Clanwilliam
3 reviews
13.2 mi away
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longhouse

Address: 3 Park Street, Clanwilliam 8135, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Clanwilliam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Clanwilliam
Price Range: $32 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Longhouse is situated just off the main street, 5 minutes walk to the nearest restaurants. One of the three oldest surviving houses, built around 1810, with beautiful antiques and comfortable beds. Lovely garden, friendly staff ...and we serve a great breakfast! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing