We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
zeist
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

BK was probably one of the best resorts we have ever seen. Very good accomodation and a very friendly staff . Out ranger Dave did his utmost to please and entertain the guests. The things he showde were interesting. He took great plesure in telling all the details. IT was a Pitt i only booked for two days. The time to reach BK takes longer than the brochure tells

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    36
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
114
440
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paarl
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We visited Bushmanskloof to celebrate our anniversary. From the time of arriving at reception we were carried on the hands of the superb staff. Our guide, Simone, was very knowledgeable of the plants and animals and eager to assist where she could. We loved the accommodation and enjoyed the tranquility of the room. The spa experience was out of the world and highly recommendable. The food was exceptional. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Beautiful part of this world. Remotness combined with high qualitity standard, friendly staff and excellent service. The couple spa treatment is a "must do". Nice walks and lovely high tea setting. A nice place to get pampered.

Room Tip: the villa with the private pool is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This was, without a doubt, one of the best holiday destinations we have ever been to.
Venue, beauty, quality, food, service, staff - everything was superb! We arrived at Bushman's Kloof, expecting a fabulous holiday, What we got totally exceeded all expectations. We had a busy, exciting and fun-filled two days in the sun that left us feeling more relaxed and chilled than we have felt in a long time. We also had the pleasure of being treated to a romantic dinner in the bush - this was beyond our wildest expectations.
Thank you to chef Deon - wow! We dined better than royalty!
Thank you to game ranger/guide Werner - his knowledge was impressive, accurate, interesting and informative. The leisurely game drives were certainly the best we've ever been on.
Thank you all at Bushman's Kloof. You deserve all the accolades, international and local!
Our only regret - two days were just too short. Next time we will most definitely book for a minimum of three days.

Room Tip: We loved our rooms, overlooking one of the pools as it was just a few steps from the patio doors int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at Bushmanskloof for 2 nights and the only way I was willing to leave was because my husband promised to bring me back soon!

If you are considering this hotel as an option, stop looking any further! The food is the best we've EVER had. The service is outstanding - everyone is friendly without being over the top and fake. We had our own game ranger and waiter the whole time we were there. Drinks were served at the pool side. Everyone just seemed so happy to serve you and have you there.

Accommodation was lovely - comfy beds and nicely spaced rooms. Lovely turndown every night where they lit a candle, set out our robes, left us a bed time story and some delicious fudge.

The location is beautiful. A real haven in the barren wilderness. Breathtaking.

The game ranger we had was knowledgeable and friendly. He organised any activities we wanted - hiking, canoeing, fly fishing, star gazing etc. He was just happy to share his knowledge and make our stay unforgettable.

And it was definitely unforgettable. Most definitely the BEST holiday we have every been on.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaMayMartens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely two night break here and wished we could stay longer. We stayed in one of their double deluxe rooms with a thatched roof, lovely wooden furnishings and a great bathroom. A small pool was within a few moments stroll & the stream babbled just beyond it. The food was superb - you can spend all day eating if you like - breakfast/lunch/afternoon tea/dinner were all sumptuous and well prepared. The morning trip to the rock paintings was interesting and the evening safari was great too, seeing mountain zebra amongst other wildlife & sundowners at a great spot overlooking a valley and the mountains beyond. It's definitely worth the drive to get here, despite the roadworks….

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PubLover7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This resort stands out as one of the most interesting,unique, beautiful and restful places I've ever visited. I considered not staying there originally because I didn't see the value (knowing that it wasn't a "safari" in the traditional sense). My husband and I loved everything about it from the superbly decorated bungalows, the rose petals in our bathtub and patio, the amazing food, the outdoor fire and cocktails, the spectacular spa and the extraordinary food. The staff was lovely. Also, highly recommend the nature drive to see cave paintings.Amazing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clanwilliam hotels
13.3 mi away
Clanwilliam Hotel
Clanwilliam Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clanwilliam
236 reviews
13.9 mi away
de Pakhuys
de Pakhuys
#2 of 22 in Clanwilliam
156 reviews
13.2 mi away
Yellow Aloe Guest House
Yellow Aloe Guest House
#2 of 11 in Clanwilliam
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Saint du Barrys
Saint du Barrys
#1 of 11 in Clanwilliam
189 reviews
13.0 mi away
Ndedema Lodge
Ndedema Lodge
#3 of 11 in Clanwilliam
65 reviews
13.5 mi away
Blommenberg Guest House
Blommenberg Guest House
#4 of 11 in Clanwilliam
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat

Property: Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat
Address: Cederberg Mountains, Clanwilliam 8135, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Clanwilliam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Clanwilliam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient landscapes of wind-sculpted sandstone and untamed bush frame this luxury retreat, 270km from Cape Town. Voted ‘Best Hotel in the World 2009’ in the Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, the malaria-free reserve is an ecological oasis for diverse wildlife, and custodian of 130 ancient San rock art sites renowned as one the ‘world’s largest open air art galleries’. Evening nature drives and exhilarating outdoor adventures offset an invigorating wellness focus, featuring an outdoor spa gazebo and spa treatments rooted in nature. Delectable cuisine distinguishes this authentic African wilderness escape, while luxurious accommodation includes Koro Lodge, the child-friendly private villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat Hotel Clanwilliam
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve And Wellness Retreat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing