We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bushmans Kloof - what a treat!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Let's keep this simple! In a word.....Superb!! From the time you drive up to Reception to be met as you get out of your car and greeted and introduced to your guide for the stay, to the way your car is taken away to be washed and your luggage taken to your room, to the showing around of the complex, to the beautiful high-tea held every afternoon, the sumptuous dinners, the lovely breakfasts and yummy lunches, the informative game and bushman-painting drives, the surrounding natural beauty.....the list just goes on and on. Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly and efficient staff - all their guests are addressed by their first names. Just a wonderful retreat to rejuvenate the soul. It was our first visit and certainly won't be our last.

Room Tip: Rock Pool 1 is a suite with a sepearte longe with TV & fireplace Rock Pool 2 is a very large ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 692 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a retreat experience that simply cannot be missed - peace, tranquility, meandering waters, easy walks and a sense of wilderness only a few hours from Cape Town. Hospitality was just right - neither too close or too far away. Chef did a great job. Well done to James and his team.

Room Tip: Riverside Suite is best! Private pool and river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We absolutely enjoyed this amazing long weekend away at BK. The service is excellent and the guides are attentive without being too in your face.

The restaurant is lovely and we enjoyed many excellent meals. The wine list is extensive and you will need to ask Marcel for some help with wine pairing.

A visit to the spa is a must! I highly recommend the Rasul treatment for couples. The treatment is supposed to last 45 minutes but the staff don't enforce this rule if there are no other people waiting to use the facilities. Dee was amazing and made us feel like a million bucks!

I was fortunate enough to be treated to dinner at the private cabin on the hill. Terry, our chef, deserves an award for the incredible dishes she made for us that night. She treated us to succulent chicken curry, smoked salmon, Springbok potjie and many more amazing dishes.

Dave, our guide, showed us a few constellations using his laser pointer and told us more some of the areas unique fauna and flora. They really do amazing conservation work.

I would recommend checking out the bushman paintings across the river from the lodge instead of going on a long drive to see the other site that's not much bigger. Unless, of course, you haven't done the game drive yet.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room called Gordon. Lovely views and close to the pool and archery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicnaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We are in love with the place....Awesome food, I could never have imagined a chef to come up with a gluten-free spread, especially for me! Magical hikes, beautiful bedrooms, awesome spa, happy staff, unbelievable bird life, special game drives, in general this place is simply magical! We will be back!..

Room Tip: WatersEdge or any of the rooms next to the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

mixture of nature and luxury so well done.
Lovely food, great bush drives and beautiful rooms makes this a great escape.

Spa over looking the river was a great treat and then to top it off high tea was served on the verandah overlooking the reeds, birds and water.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully furnished just depends on how much space you require as to which room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillyflowerbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent Friday and Saterday nights at this wonderful lodge, The Saterday dinner was a Tasting menue paired with Meerlust wines. It was a feast of flavours , for me the high lite was the main
which was an OXTAIL, outstanding. the whole meal was great , accompany by good wines.
Even though it rained the whole weekend ,we had a great time doing not much ,but spoiling ourselves, Spa Etc..
Great service, friendly staff .
Bushman's gets better it is our 4 visit we love this GEM.In the CEDERBERG.

Room Tip: We had the Riverside suit which is at the end of the property and very Private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OUTOFAFRICA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Bushmans Kloof is one of those amazing places on earth where nature meets luxury in a grand way. The warm, intuitive service from every single staff member makes your stay all about YOU. Food and wine selection is beautifully balanced between decadence and clean flavours. We got spoilt with a candle-lit dinner one evening out in the reserve which was unbelievably beautiful.
This is a once in a life-time must do!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clanwilliam
13.3 mi away
Clanwilliam Hotel by Country Hotels
13.9 mi away
de Pakhuys
de Pakhuys
#2 of 22 in Clanwilliam
165 reviews
13.1 mi away
Saint du Barrys
Saint du Barrys
#1 of 11 in Clanwilliam
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Enjo Nature Farm
Enjo Nature Farm
#1 of 4 in Cederberg
63 reviews
13.3 mi away
Yellow Aloe Guest House
Yellow Aloe Guest House
#2 of 11 in Clanwilliam
130 reviews
13.0 mi away
Ndedema Lodge
Ndedema Lodge
#3 of 11 in Clanwilliam
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat

Address: Cederberg Mountains, Clanwilliam 8135, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Clanwilliam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Clanwilliam
Price Range: $708 - $1,336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient landscapes of wind-sculpted sandstone and untamed bush frame this luxury retreat, 270km from Cape Town. Voted ‘Best Hotel in the World 2009’ in the Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, the malaria-free reserve is an ecological oasis for diverse wildlife, and custodian of 130 ancient San rock art sites renowned as one the ‘world’s largest open air art galleries’. Evening nature drives and exhilarating outdoor adventures offset an invigorating wellness focus, featuring an outdoor spa gazebo and spa treatments rooted in nature. Delectable cuisine distinguishes this authentic African wilderness escape, while luxurious accommodation includes Koro Lodge, the child-friendly private villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat Hotel Clanwilliam
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve And Wellness Retreat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing