We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Engelen uk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

As another guest put it, this is one special place ! You slowly adjust to the tranquility away from life's relentless bustle and stress. Looking out on to the beauty of its surroundings and the wildlife helps you evaluate what is really important in life. I came with my old schoolfriend somewhat apprehensively, but we did not regret our decision one bit and will return. The spa treatment was second to none and we have been to a few.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    34
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
109
431
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

What a wonderful experience our short say at Bushmans Kloof was, it was the highlight of our holiday.

I really have nothing to add to all of the other wonder reviews execpt to say that all of the organisation that goes on behind the scenes from the completion of the preference forms before you arrive so that you are grouped, if necessary with others of similar interest the discreet servicing of your rooms and all the other special little thoughts(sketch pad and paints in your room etc) go to make this a premier experience for guests.

I would like to thank tour guide Seppie who is man of many talents he is so knowlegeable about everything in the bush and the night sky, he also pours a good gin and tonic!

Thank you also for the room upgrade which helped to make our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellers-Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent. UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The drive to Bushmans Kloof was through rugged and interesting countryside and then you arrive at a green oasis amid the rocky terrain.
Greeted by courteous and friendly staff and shown to spacious, beautifully decorated rooms with every luxury you could wish for. To sit on the verandah and gaze out at the sunset was only superseded by lying under a thorn tree listening to the sound of birds and water cascading over the edge of the pool. Drink in hand and the warm African breeze easing away any stress and strain.
Food excellent - only complaint is my clothes no longer fit me!
Game drives to see a variety of buck, zebra and numerous birds or try your hand at fly fishing. Bushman paintings the reward after a little walk in the rocky outcrop. All accompanied by coffee & rusks on the morning drive and a welcome sun-downer & snacks on the evening. The guides were knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. In fact all the staff were attentive and extremely pleasant making ones stay extra special.
I would say a three to four day stay would be the minimum to enjoy the pampering in the well appointed spa and to let the magic of Bushmans Kloof seep in.
Cannot comment on the value for money as this was a special gift from our daughter to her parents and that is what is was - very special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhlamini.uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were really looking forward to spend a few days At Bushman Kloof. We travel a lot, in South Africa and around the world. We read so much about this hotel ; The latest report in Conde Nast convinced us that we will have a good time. However, I feel I must write about different matters :
The smelly, stinky, fertilizer all over the grass, kept us, away from our patio, the swimming pool, and the time spent at the restaurants had to be minimized because of the repulsing smell.
The smoke and smell from the Fire Place in our room was a strong indicator that the chimney flue was not working efficiently. We tried twice to make a nice fire, but the smoke was too strong. We immediately informed the hotel, but nothing could be done.
the food was really disappointing.
We wanted to use our free time at the Gym and it was a big surprise to discover the mini-size and the location of the Gym with no windows, no view. Details like TV remote control not working, poor quality mattress, broken archer, or broken saddle on bicycle, to be used have not facilitated our stay. In summary, and to our big disappointment, we feel that the property did not confirm to the description we read about.
However, we found the service excellent, the waiters well groomed, skilled and experienced. The kindness was very appreciated. The room was clean and neat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SibongileCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We visited Bushmans Kloof in mid winter and during our stay was the coldest day of the year! But we still had a great time. We stayed in a villa a 10 minute bike ride away from the main lodge. We had our own chef who came to prepare our breakfast, lunch and dinner which was a real treat. There was a kitchen in our villa which was handy to dive into for bottles of delicious South African white wine. The decor of the villa (3 bedrooms) was stunning and elegant. The sitting room had a log fire, lit each evening for us. The attention to detail was exceptional, everything had been thought of. There was a swimming pool but obviously not usable in winter. There were excursions with an archaeologist to see the many ancient rock paintings on the reserve and also with a ranger to see the local flora and fauna. No big game here but still interesting to see the birds, unusual flowers and animals. A very restful place with superb cuisine. The staff are second to none. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Averil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a very special place, which gets everything right. The location is spectacular and the property beautifully laid out, with wonderful gardens and several swimming pools, and superb accommodation. The staff were incredibly attentive and the activities were very well arranged.
The food was of a very high standard. Not inexpensive but well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Hotel and it's surrounding were a pleasant surprise and the opportunity to see the Bushman paintings close up, together with quite outstanding terrain, made this stay memorable.
Our guide Regardt was fantastic and great fun whilst being extraordinarily knowledgeable. However when going on a drive get to your vehicle early so as not to sit in the middle row as there is no leg room. It is an expensive break with prices clearly aimed at the summer visitor to SA and they are pushing hard against the value ceiling. However the food is very, very good and there is no shortage of it. The staff are friendly and the rooms beautifully equipped (including a decent wireless signal).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ineke b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clanwilliam
0.2 mi away
Clanwilliam Hotel
Clanwilliam Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clanwilliam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saint du Barrys
Saint du Barrys
#1 of 10 in Clanwilliam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellow Aloe Guest House
Yellow Aloe Guest House
#2 of 10 in Clanwilliam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ndedema Lodge
Ndedema Lodge
#3 of 10 in Clanwilliam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Die Vlei Citrusdal
Die Vlei Citrusdal
#11 of 21 in Citrusdal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ukholo Lodge
Ukholo Lodge
#7 of 21 in Citrusdal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat

Property: Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat
Address: Cederberg Mountains, Clanwilliam 8135, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Clanwilliam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Clanwilliam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient landscapes of wind-sculpted sandstone and untamed bush frame this luxury retreat, 270km from Cape Town. Voted ‘Best Hotel in the World 2009’ in the Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, the malaria-free reserve is an ecological oasis for diverse wildlife, and custodian of 130 ancient San rock art sites renowned as one the ‘world’s largest open air art galleries’. Evening nature drives and exhilarating outdoor adventures offset an invigorating wellness focus, featuring an outdoor spa gazebo and spa treatments rooted in nature. Delectable cuisine distinguishes this authentic African wilderness escape, while luxurious accommodation includes Koro Lodge, the child-friendly private villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Jetsetter and Despegar.com so you can book your Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat Hotel Clanwilliam
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve And Wellness Retreat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing