We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DePakhuys: The place to be!”
Review of de Pakhuys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
de Pakhuys
Certificate of Excellence
Tubingen, Germany
1 review
“DePakhuys: The place to be!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed at DePakhuys for 3 weeks and had a wonderful time bouldering and exploring the Cederberg Mountains.

Location´s just great. The valley behind the Pakhuys Pass is quiet and displays some impressive mountain ranges. Waboomhyus is next to the office where you can get bouldering guides, crashpads, first hand information about the areas (and of course those fantastic olives they grew themselves at the farm). It´s just 3min with the car and then another 10-15min walk in to some of the most amazing bouldering problems in the rocklands (biased, of course ^^). Rooms were clean and very comfortable and both the pool and the neatly trimmed grass invited to relax during the hot midday hours.
But the best thing about the place is maybe the relaxed friendliness of the owners (which will bring us back someday).

Benjamin & Vanessa

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    53
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
48
63
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Fridge not cold - food went bad after one day
No Ice in fridge - ice buckets broken
Crockerey dirty
First night - no water
Kitchen rubbish bin broken - bag too small
Toilet flooded 2nd day
Gun shots every minute disturb the peace

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heidi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthys K, Owner at de Pakhuys, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for the valuable feedback, this is the only way we can measure and improve the experience of our guests.

We replaced the bin with a brand spanking new one and adjusted the setting on the fridge - working perfectly now. The leaking stop valve in the toilet was removed - thanks for bring this to our attention.

Being self catering, most guests do the dishes before they depart, but we do always rewash all cutlery and crockery before a new arrival.

The "gunshots" you are referring too are actually gas canons our neighbor use to chase baboons away from his vineyard - we do hear this sometimes in the mornings when the air is cold and sound carries, but we prefer him using this method as appose to killing wildlife - fortunately its only for a very short period of time - my apologies, I should have explained this to you on arrival.

We continuously strive to improve our service and standards, thank you for your contribution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

De Pakhuys is a wonderful place, with excellent service, friendly people and unbelievable scenery. If you want to peace and quiet , and nature is close to your heart, that is definitely the place to be!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Florida772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Myself (a woman), my boyfriend, and our best guy friend came to stay in Riethuys at de Pakhuys from the US. Our main objective was to climb during our three week stay. Since this was our vacation, I liked to make sure the accommodations were nice - and very comfortable.

This thatched cottage was just that and more. There was plenty of space for the three of us. Our bedrooms were nice and big - plus the beds were comfortable. The cottage has a bathroom, a full kitchen, and a large living area with a television. Even though our trip was during the hottest part of the South African summer, being without air conditioning in the cottage wasn't really a problem at all. In the evenings, we opened the big windows and the house cooled nicely. There is also a nice covered patio with a braai area just out the front door.

The refrigerator held about five days worth of food and beverages for three people. There's a gas stove top/oven that we cooked on every day. Most anything you will need will be in the kitchen, if not, the owner was always on the spot to get us anything we needed. The grocery store is not that far of a drive. There are also a few banks, gas stations, and restaurants in town as well.

Aside from the house itself, the location is one of a kind. Near the best bouldering in the world (if you are a climber) and if even if climbing isn't your thing - the views are stunning. The lawn and flowers are kept pristine. There is also a pool that will lure you in on those very warm days.

There are plenty of activities right near by: world class climbing, waterfall hikes, bushman paintings to check out, and endless trails to hike on. If you love being outside, you just can't go wrong by staying here. It's all out your back door!

The best part about this place is not the location, the cottage itself, or even the friendly animals that wander around... it's the staff. Specifically the owner and his family. I cannot say enough nice things about Thys and Karin. They were extremely hospitable to us as we were away from our homes over Christmas. We saw them almost on a daily basis and became great friends.

My original trip plan was to leave Clanwilliam and go to Cape town for our final two weeks - but we loved everything about de Pakhuy's so much, that I switched our plans around so we would return after spending New Year's in Cape Town. It was quite a relief to return for our final six days to Riethuys, the boulders, and the Kruger family. Honestly, it felt like we were returning home!

We had a wonderful stay here, and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Riethuys does not have A/C, but there are other cottages on the property that will have air conditio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misshursh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Could not believe that this Accommodation was choozen as one of the best in 2012 for Clanwilliam.All the windows had spiderwebs, the furniture is old and curtains are from a 5R store, the rooms were dark, broken blinds, no quality furniture, old sheets and the cotton bedbase lining was tired off , old towels, all the wooden beams are full of dust and spiderwebs, the thatched roof is full of schorpions (killed 3) ,cricets and spider webs. The furniture is like a go back 50years in time! The kitchen has more than his time, only the fridge was new! The newly restored and renovated thach roof is not closed properly in the bathroom, you see the skylight !!!! The wooden floor is done by a non professional craftsman. We stayed only 2 nights instead of the 3 were we paid for.The time that you put blankets on old couches is from grandma's time. On the pictures it looks like the other houses look a bit better, but for such a great and magnificient location the owners could transform it in a 4 stars accommodation instead of popping their old things in it! Badly done renovation! Sorry, can't recommend this to friends!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank arijsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthys K, Owner at de Pakhuys, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review and the time you took to give us feedback. We only recently decided to allow guests with pets and your input is invaluable. We take serious note of your concerns and will address these accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blouberg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Excellently run place, campsite is neat and tidy, bathrooms are clean but best of all the location is breathtaking. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely return and possibly attempt some bouldering, however there are more than anything hikes worth the trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Da Pakhuis is somewhat 20km out of Clanwilliam with no cell phone reception - what a pleassure (though Internet is available if need be). There is a pool overlooking the farm. You definitely have to try the calamata olives! Such a pleasant weekend away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christoph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clanwilliam
1.1 mi away
Clanwilliam Hotel
Clanwilliam Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clanwilliam
247 reviews
24.8 mi away
Enjo Nature Farm
Enjo Nature Farm
#2 of 4 in Cederberg
60 reviews
13.9 mi away
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Saint du Barrys
Saint du Barrys
#1 of 11 in Clanwilliam
189 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yellow Aloe Guest House
Yellow Aloe Guest House
#2 of 11 in Clanwilliam
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kleinfontein
Kleinfontein
#6 of 11 in Clanwilliam
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to de Pakhuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about de Pakhuys

Property: de Pakhuys
Address: 364 Rocklands, R, Clanwilliam 8135, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Clanwilliam
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Clanwilliam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — de Pakhuys 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the picturesque Agter-Pakhuis Valley, Cederberg, 26 km from Clanwilliam on route to the historic Wuperthal village, you will find de Pakhuys Farm. The farm is widely regarded as one of the top bouldering destinations world wide. We offer self-catering chalets and camping in a magnificent Cederberg setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your de Pakhuys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing