We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ndedema Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$66
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$95
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Klawer Hotel(Klawer)
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lamberts Bay Hotel(Lamberts Bay)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Saint du Barrys(Clanwilliam)
$69
$61
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
49
21
1
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
21
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold friendsquiet positionbook dinner reservationscomfortable beda wonderful stayswimming poolcederberg mountainscape townenidpeetsherrygardenfurnituretoiletriesfridgemosquitoesrooibos
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 74 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We travelled to Clanwilliam not sure of where we wanted to stay for the night. Driving to the end of Park Street we found a little gem of a place! Ndedema Lodge is full of character and quaintness with an old world charm. Warm and friendly owners, Wilma and Johan, will make your stay a memorable one. The air conditioned rooms are big and roomy, high wooden ceiling and shutters, with a four poster King size bed, an "honesty" bar fridge, complimentary tea, coffee and Port wine and indigenous flowers on the table at the foot of the bed. Room 1 was tastefully furnished to complement the ambience created by the four poster bed. Although old style, it has all the conveniences of a modern lodge. Bathrooms are clean and well lit and it also has a bidet. There is secure undershade parking next to the lodge and outside is a lovely courtyard with tables and chairs beneath an overhanging Granadilla fruit vine.

The farm breakfast included a variety of choices from a hot meal to cold meats and cheese and included scones and jam and fresh juice, tea and cofffee. All amenities around Clanwilliam such as the Ramskop Flower Gardens, the Clanwilliam Dam, the Rooibos tea factory as well as the Bushmenskloof mountain pass were close by and a stay at this lodge made our experience a memorable one.

Room Tip: Room is large with high ceilings, shutters and air conditioning available
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cryingoutloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ndedema, Owner at Ndedema Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

It is sincerely appreciated and very encouraging to receive a response which identifies with quality,
good service and professionalism. Our guests are the main stakeholders in the experience and make it worthwhile to practise our love for the hospitality trade and the people we serve. Our two skilled and dedicated staff members share a significant portion of the package and we are just so proud of them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent two nights here and were bowled over by the level of hospitality shown by both Wilma and Johan. They really do care about their guests and this is apparent from check-in to check out. Wonderful breakfasts start the day and good advice was given on exploring the area and dining in Clanwilliam.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gramench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was the best Guesthouse of our 4 week trip to South Africa. It was very luxurious and very comfortable. It wasn't too perfect, it had that nice comfortable feel with plenty of character. it had it's own uniqueness and was not the staid run of the mill guesthouse.

Wilma was excellent, giving great advice and making us amazing breakfasts. Her recommendations for sightseeing, eating out and shopping were spot on. She was very friendly and helpful and not too intrusive. Wilma was genuinely proud of her country and the area she lived in and therefore it was very interesting to stay there. The information was detailed and the places we visited as a result were perfect. We felt at home here and I would definitely stay here again.

The rooms were amazing, the bath was wonderful, especially after 2 weeks of being out on Safari. Everything was spotless and we felt very comfortable here. Everything worked perfectly and there were nice touches like a welcoming decanter of Port. It was nice to be an old building, not an American style modern guesthouse, it was full of character.

If you want a very comfortable peaceful and friendly place then stay here

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Curlewdipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Ndedema has plenty of character in both the building, the furnishing and fittings so you can imagine life of a past age but still with present day comforts. However the lady of the house, Wilma, goes to great lengths to ensure that you have every chance to get to know the area and do the sort of things you like to do. She will brief you on the area and the attractions but also make bookings for you and guide you on where to eat. In our case she even arranged for my wife to have her hair done.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the front room on the left as you face the property.
Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Rushmere37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Having read the Tripadvisor reports we had high expectations of Ndedema Lodge and Wilma, the owner, had promised a “stunning room” and that she would “spoil us during our stay”. Unfortunately we felt that we got neither. During our month long trip along the East and West Cape we stayed in eight different guest houses and therefore had others to compare against.

The guest house is located in a quiet, safe roadway off Clanwilliam’s main street. When we arrived through the driveway we were disappointed at the somewhat unkempt area to the left of the parking bays. We were met by Johan, a very friendly, interesting man with whom we would have liked to spend more time. Wilma brought us to our room which was at the front of the house, looking out onto the roadway. The bedroom was furnished with some antique furniture but we found the bedroom dark and uninviting. We felt underwhelmed at the bathroom with its chocolate brown sanitary ware and the floor of the shower needing attention as some of the little tiles were missing. Wilma was very knowledgeable about the area and was very helpful in recommending the local sights. She had also kindly booked a restaurant for our first night which turned out to be the only decent restaurant in Clanwilliam.

There was a very attractive dining room but, as the weather was good, breakfast was served on the less than impressive patio area. Breakfast was just about satisfactory. While we were happy that it was safe for swimming it was disappointing that the small pool wasn’t adequately cleaned and some of the pool furniture looked tired and past its best. Free Wi-Fi was available but it was impossible to get a signal from the front of the house. There were times that the Wi-Fi was turned off and to get any signal it was necessary to bring your laptop outside, close to the owners’ living area at the back of the property.

We are sorry to provide a review which is in such contrast to earlier reviews. However, we have to be true to ourselves and tell it as we saw it, especially in the light of our experiences in other guest houses. Overall a stay which didn’t match the promise of the owner and the guest house web site.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SeacatIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ndedema, Owner at Ndedema Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Your review on the area to the left of the parking bays is part of the dry garden with Aloes and gravel paths .We have a full time gardener and the garden is never unkempt or untidy. During the month of February we have temperatures in excess of 40 degrees which debilitate some of the plants but it is a severe exaggeration to state that our garden is neglected and unkempt.
The house is of Victorian architecture ,circa early eighteen hundreds, and certain rooms do appear darker after sunset. It has a large sash window which meets with all building regulations . There is sufficient overhead and reading lights which provide more than sufficient lucidity.
As for the chocolate brown sanitary ware, taste do differ and you were the first person out of thousands of other satisfied guests, during our 10 years of operating the guesthouse, to make such a comment .
Thank you for pointing out the missing tile on the shower floor Attention has been given to it.
The comments on the pool area, small pool , pool furniture are unfair, and totally unacceptable.
Paging through our visitors book , listening to the compliments of guests about our outstanding breakfasts served, I am really sad to read your comment on it.This is an insult to my competent kitchen staff and myself. Why did you not complain when you were served?
Our WiFi reception is limited due to our location. Signal strength is best received in the back of the garden or the southern part of the premises. The modem is never turned off and any link to the server , if interrupted, is due to inconsistency of the internet service or the ADSL line.provider. This service is free of charge and is not a prerequisite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews