We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blommenberg Guest House
Ranked #4 of 12 Clanwilliam B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was a handy place to stay, not far off the N7. Room was well furnished and clean. We were en route to Namibia, so it was purely a stop-over. We didn't try any of the facilities. Breakfast was plentiful and good. Jean Pierre was very helpful about recommending places to eat (although watch out for the Friday evening market if you're heading for the Clanwilliam Hotel - the street area is closed off).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 75 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have stayed in Clanwilliam before but this was definately a much better experience than the last time! We really enjoyed our stay! Jean Pierre, a member of the family who own the guest house was most helpful and very attentive. My husband enjoyed swimming in the pool and sitting in the peaceful garden was delightful. We stayed for three nights and the breakfasts were most enjoyable. We will return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jchapelr0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay if you want to stop over in Clanwilliam.
It is like a little oasis in the town, with a beautiful inner courtyard, with pool and plenty of shaded sitting areas. We enjoyed staying, and think the poor review we saw much have stayed at another place (it is not expensive and in no way disappointed)! The bedrooms were clean and very well appointed too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road. Although the road is really quet anyway!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We required a one night stop-over after a very long journey en route to Cape Town. The reviews provided on this site were very misleading and we regretted the choice. The guesthouse is quite large and impersonal.Although the room was clean and adequate it was definately nothing special. The nearby and very noisy road did not help us sleep well. The price we paid was most certainly not in line with the product we experienced.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our first visit to Clanwilliam, and we had been told about a very cheap hotel in which to stay.

As any sensible person would do, Ichecked it out on Trip Advisor, and decided that it was not for me.

Bloomenbergs was highly rated, so booked on line. Not much more for me to say that would differ with any of the many 5***** reviews.

The place is now run by a new manager. He could not do enough to make us welcome, and to help and advise us of the attractions in the area.

We had a refreshing swim in the pool that nestles in the very pleasant gardens. We had a lovely very large room, and after eating in town (see my review) we had a lazy evening back at Bloomenberg. The breakfast was all that it was cracked up to be, and once again the service was excellent.

Hope to visit again for the flowers.

Room Tip: We were delighted with room# 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

A friend and I visited this lovely guest house picked after reading TripAdvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. The rooms were lovely, beds comfortable and the breakfast superb with so much choice. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salindacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

On our first full day of Safari from Capetown to Vic Falls we stayed at this really beautiful hotel. The views were spectacular and we really enjoyed the shower here. A great shower (lots of water pressure and lots of hot water) one of the best showers in Africa.

Room Tip: We traveled with a group and all the rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian7992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clanwilliam hotels
0.4 mi away
Clanwilliam Hotel by Country Hotels
0.5 mi away
Saint du Barrys
Saint du Barrys
#1 of 12 in Clanwilliam
206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellow Aloe Guest House
Yellow Aloe Guest House
#2 of 12 in Clanwilliam
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ndedema Lodge
Ndedema Lodge
#3 of 12 in Clanwilliam
73 reviews
13.6 mi away
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat
0.4 mi away
de Pakhuys
de Pakhuys
#2 of 23 in Clanwilliam
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blommenberg Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blommenberg Guest House

Address: 1 Graafwater Road, Clanwilliam 8135, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Clanwilliam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Clanwilliam
Price Range: $106 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blommenberg Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blommenberg Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing