We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will return”
Review of Clanwilliam Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clanwilliam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clanwilliam Lodge
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had three suites Nos.30,31 and 32. They were extremely spacious, especially number 31. We found the mattress to be too firm but the staff packed the entire bed with pillows and we slept like babies. All the staff were extremely friendly and obliging. We stayed for three nights and enjoyed our visit very much. The restaurant , the Palms , which is run by an outside company was dreadful and needs to be improved.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Clanwilliam Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 98 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Supposed to be about 4-star but certainly didn't come up to that. The restaurant was run but separate people and no wonder. I have eaten better in Siberia! I first asked for the menu and when we decided that we would eat there, asked for a table. The waiter then said that they were fully booked. When we reached our car to go into town, he came running to us to say that they would organize something. They sat us next to the kitchen counter - it was all open plan. When we ordered a bottle of wine, he looked very sheepish and said that a tour group would be coming in at 7 pm. It was 6:30! I asked if we were expected to vacate the table in 30 minutes and he said yes. We gave him stick and he agreed that we  could stay longer. It was very smoky so they turned on the main fan which created one hell of a racket and did nothing to clear the air. We complained and moved to another table, next to the buffet for the group. We could see the food that they were going to serve. We ordered a la carte! I had a really tough rump steak and my wife some chicken. The service was shocking! As you can imagine, we did not go there for breakfast!
 

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmiller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Clanwilliam  Lodge - Palms restaurant

There are apparently three restaurant choices in Clanwilliam.  Sadly, two are closed Sundays and you are left with Palms!  My advice -"go hungry!"

Scruffy, rundown hotel, with concrete floors everywhere and a big barn of a restaurant overlooking unattractive pool area with worn out pool furniture. 38deg at 8pm - where's the Aircon? What little there was was pathetic.  Dining room like a sauna!

Food best described as dire.  Waiter tried his best, but what was produced was inedible. Soggy chips, sad salad and overdone spare ribs. Please spare yourself this - either avoid Clanwilliam on Sundays or stock up on provisions!

I am eternally grateful that we only had to eat here, not sample the accommodation.  This is my first ever one star review on TA.  Like some other reviews I have read of other places, I would really like to give this place zero!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We stopped here for breakfast .... What a let down ... The setting could be stunning ... Instead a run down "as been". A breakfast buffet that looked like it had been set up 3 days earlier and it felt like being in a roadside self service, clanwilliam is in the Citrus growing area ... Yet fake O.J. Was served. Pool side area left unkept with dirty ashtrays and the day beds have seen better days .... Not a place I would come back to

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LVWCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

This was the fifth hotel in which our University Alumni group stayed.The hotel web site, and the thumbnail image on this page, emphasise the pool area which does look attractive. The rooms were extremely poor - not clean, with inadequate bedding (just a thin sheet over the mattress). There was no door on the bathroom. There was a hair dryer but no socket in which to use it. There was no telephone and the only room with a 'phone could not make outgoing calls. At the time of our visit the hotel accommodation was separately 'managed' from the bar and restaurant and meals/drinks could not be charged to the room. The Reception staff were unhelpful and unresponsive. We had the impression that the hotel was about to go out of business.
The 'luxurious' desription provided on the web site was a gross distortion

Room Tip: Don't stay here
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malcolm O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I travelled with colleagues and stayed at the hotel for one night only. Having travelled after work we got to Clanwilliam pretty late. On arrival everything seemed fine, we made it to reception with five mintues to spare (they didnt mention that they close at 10pm). That was the end of the good part... we went to eat dinner as we had been travelling since around 3:30pm that afternoon. We were told by the person serving us that we had better hurry up as she wants to go home! After rushing through dinner we retired for the evening. There was a group staying at the hotel who proceeded to drink at the "independantly run bar and restaurant" till 1am with LOUD music. The independance of the bar apparently means they don't consider the rest of the hotel guests. This was the most unpleasant hotel stay ever! I can't remember the room, I was too tired to take notice!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loup33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This Lodge is at first sight beautiful. Once one had a closer look, however... Door-handles were loose on 2 doors. Ceilings in Hotel were flaky and looked neglected. Shower did not drain well.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulietteP_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clanwilliam hotels
0.3 mi away
Clanwilliam Hotel
Clanwilliam Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clanwilliam
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saint du Barrys
Saint du Barrys
#1 of 11 in Clanwilliam
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellow Aloe Guest House
Yellow Aloe Guest House
#2 of 11 in Clanwilliam
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elephant River Guesthouse
Elephant River Guesthouse
#15 of 22 in Clanwilliam
9 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ndedema Lodge
Ndedema Lodge
#3 of 11 in Clanwilliam
69 reviews
13.4 mi away
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clanwilliam Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clanwilliam Lodge

Address: Graafwater Road, Clanwilliam 8135, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Clanwilliam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Clanwilliam
Hotel Class:3 star — Clanwilliam Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 32

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing