We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portwine Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portwine Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 10 Calitzdorp B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Charming and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We recently spent a night at this charming guest house during a road trip along Route 62. We hadn't made a reservation and arrived at about 6pm, however Pierre welcomed us warmly and offered a couple of options for family accommodation (we travelled with our 3 year old). It's a lovely traditional building with period features and furnishings, but very comfy. The stunning pool is just what's needed after a long hot day on the road. Breakfast is superior - freshly prepared. Extra touches such as complimentary port on the hospitality tray make this a special place.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    36
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
55
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Calitzdorp is hardly a place everyone rushes to - but they should! A typical small South African Karoo town, it's one of those "passing through" destinations which hide amazing experiences if only one stopped to look. The Port Wine Guesthouse is one of those experiences - more than comfortable, amazingly friendly and welcoming hosts, great food, and wonderfully situated overlooking some of the finest port vineyards in the world. In the summer it's a toss up between an evening swim in the gorgeous pool or a visit to the amazing organ recital in the nearby church- (you have to stay two nights and do both - that organ recital is an unforgettable experience). Surrounded by great coffee houses, port tasting cellars and quaint art shops, the Port Wine is a total winner all round. Of course there are some less upmarket aspects to the little town - but it is what you make it - and it really is worth making yourself some exceptional memories out of this Karoo gem.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are quieter traffic-wise, but may get some chatter from the patio after dinner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dzumbino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

While doing the research on Soaf I had come across Route 62 as an alternative way to go from the winelands to the garden route. It sounded interesting and in fact the scenery is really diverse throughout it and it's really worth using it also cause there is almost no traffic. Having said that, I would not recommend stopping for the night anywhere along it: what had been described to us as a "truly Afrikaans" town is in fact nothing special, just very dull inland, with the addition of very high % of poor people. So when we got to calitzdorp we were really shocked by poverty, not only of the people of colour hanging around on the street, but also of the local middle class. You could see it everywhere, in the emporium / restaurant / take away, in the Italian restaurant that is open, but you have to ring the bell to get them to open the cage protecting the door, in the liquor store where they have separate entrance / service for white and black. And so really my suggestion is to do the route 62 but not stop on it, not even in Outsdhoorm which is definitely bigger than calitzdorp but doesn't seem much more appealing

Having said that, if you decide to stop in Calitzdorp the Port Wine Guest house is a very good (albeit more expensive than average) choice. Not only it is safe, the rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated and the breakfast is very rich. It is right in front one of the best port wineries of the area and it also has a swimming pool. Anyway, we didn't try either as decided to leave early in the morning as we felt we had dedicated too much time to the area

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silviaaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Quaint heritage building and lovely garden. The guesthouse is comfortable, quiet, spotless, and the breakfast was fresh and tasty with a good supply of healthy options.
Hosts friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful with excellent suggestions for the evening
- an organ recital at the local church was outstanding and the Karroo lamb at the Zamani Pub and Restaurant was reasonably priced and well prepared.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsalhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The best part of our short stay at the Portwine Guesthouse was undoubtedly the food. We had dinner and breakfast and both meals were simply devine and probably the best food we have ever tasted at a guesthouse.

The rooms are doen out in attractive fashion and our host was very knowledgeable of the area having been a tour guide himself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

It is. Very straightforward and informal plAce, the owner friendly and helpfull.nice breakfast

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karldieboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed for two nights.Liked everything about the place.Lovely building, lovely pool & garden.Breakfasts were superb as was the evening meal which you must book beforehand.No tv or internet here.Good base from which to spend a day driving the Swartberg Pass.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelwaters2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calitzdorp hotels
0.0 mi away
The Queen of Calitzdorp
The Queen of Calitzdorp
#2 of 10 in Calitzdorp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karoo Life Bed & Breakfast
Karoo Life Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Calitzdorp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.6 mi away
Calitzdorp Country House
Calitzdorp Country House
#1 of 10 in Calitzdorp
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anna Sophia
Anna Sophia
#6 of 10 in Calitzdorp
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.4 mi away
Matjiesvlei Cottages
Matjiesvlei Cottages
#4 of 18 in Calitzdorp
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Retreat at Groenfontein
The Retreat at Groenfontein
#1 of 18 in Calitzdorp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portwine Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portwine Guesthouse

Property: Portwine Guesthouse
Address: 7 Queen Street | P.O Box 142, Calitzdorp 6660, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Calitzdorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Calitzdorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Portwine Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish 1830 homestead is centrally situated in the heart of the port capital of South Africa, Calitzdorp, overlooking port vineyards and within walking distance of all the wineries, restaurants, galleries, shops and the museum in town. The thatch roof homestead in Karoo and Victorian architecture has large vine-covered patios, where you can enjoy the Karoo sunsets, scrumptious dinners and breakfasts. Relax in the lush garden, including a fragrant rose garden, or by the sparkling pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Portwine Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing