We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Calitzdorp Country House
Ranked #1 of 12 Calitzdorp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had two nights here on our way to Franschhoek. We chose it after finding great comments on trip adviser and we weren't disappointed. The house is beautifully furnished with lovely views to the mountains over vineyards. Lyn and Allan were very attentive. We ate Lyn's mouthwatering seven course dinner which was better than any restaurants we had been to and we had eaten at some great venues. Breakfasts were fabulous. We had room 5 which has direct access to the gardens and pool and a great view of the sunset. Lovely comfortable bed, plenty of big soft towels and full size toiletries in gorgeous bathroom. Couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country House C, Owner at Calitzdorp Country House, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2016

Calitzdorp Country House has been under new ownership and management for just under two years now (Since March 2014). Please visit us again to see how Calitzdorp Country House and the Calitzdorp Town have changed. We look forward to welcoming you back with a personal touch. Andrew and Nell Rogers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 269 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is appropriately named a house, as our hosts Allan and Lyn made us feel at home in their beautiful villa with delightful views over the Calitzdorp valley. We had the multi course dinner one evening which is incomparable anywhere in the region...Yumm! It was so delicious, and Allan's wine selection is a perfect match for the food. And, breakfasts are as good as you will get in any luxury establishment. We stayed in Room 5 which was well appointed with every comfort one would need, with great views of the vineyards, orchards, and the stunning mountains.

Plan to stay a full day in this area, and follow their recommendations for a circa 5-6 hour, round trip journey from the house, through the fertile valley, over the Swartberg pass (arguably one of the best passes in the world), then through Meiringspoort (also a stunning pass), De Rust, then Outdshoorn back to a glass of bubbles by the house pool overlooking the valley.

The resident peacocks and prolific bird life add a wonderful bonus to the stay. You also need to attend the amazing pipe organ recital in the local church, which commences 6pm every evening and is hosted by an extremely talented and charming musician who could be working in any major Cathedral in the world.

Room Tip: Room 5 is the one to go for:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelnut064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country House C, Owner at Calitzdorp Country House, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2016

Calitzdorp Country House has been under new ownership and management for just under two years now (Since March 2014). Please visit us again to see how Calitzdorp Country House and the Calitzdorp Town have changed. We look forward to welcoming you back with a personal touch. Andrew and Nell Rogers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

A pleasure to return and enjoy the hospitality of Allan and Lyn. Lyn's great cookery puts many a fine restaurant to shame, and to enjoy it at breakfast as well is a real treat. A delightful and comfortable guest house: the service and experience is on a par with institutions charging far more.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank pmam34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country House C, Owner at Calitzdorp Country House, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2016

Calitzdorp Country House has been under new ownership and management for just under two years now (Since March 2014). Please visit us again to see how Calitzdorp Country House and the Calitzdorp Town have changed. We look forward to welcoming you back with a personal touch. Andrew and Nell Rogers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Everything we had heard about the Calitzdorp Country House was true. Well appointed rooms, excellent service, attentive hosts and we were lucky enough to partake of the evening meal cooked to perfection by Lyn.Next time we will stay longer and explore the area. One night is not enough. PS I especially enjoyed my early morning swim!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Morag W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country House C, Owner at Calitzdorp Country House, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2016

Calitzdorp Country House has been under new ownership and management for just under two years now (Since March 2014). Please visit us again to see how Calitzdorp Country House and the Calitzdorp Town have changed. We look forward to welcoming you back with a personal touch. Andrew and Nell Rogers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We recently enjoyed a weekend road trip from Stellenbosch to Ceres, Sutherland via the Tankwa Karoo, Prince Albert, Die Hel via the Swartberg Pass and Calitzdorp. We weren't roughing it and a highlight of our trip was our one night at the Calitzdorp Country House. Lyn and Allan were wonderful hosts and the dinner was par excellence.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country House C, Owner at Calitzdorp Country House, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2016

Calitzdorp Country House has been under new ownership and management for just under two years now (Since March 2014). Please visit us again to see how Calitzdorp Country House and the Calitzdorp Town have changed. We look forward to welcoming you back with a personal touch. Andrew and Nell Rogers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

If you are on a trip from Johannesburg to Cape Town, do yourself a favour and route down the scenic R62. Calitzdorp Country House is a great place to stay, with beautiful views, up market accommodation, fantastic breakfast and most of all, wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country House C, Owner at Calitzdorp Country House, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2016

Calitzdorp Country House has been under new ownership and management for just under two years now (Since March 2014). Please visit us again to see how Calitzdorp Country House and the Calitzdorp Town have changed. We look forward to welcoming you back with a personal touch. Andrew and Nell Rogers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I only spent one night here on my trip down Route 62, but it was a wonderful place to stay. Lyn and Allan were lovely hosts with such a beauttiful home filled with the most exquisite art and antiques from all over the world. I spent quite a bit of time just wondering around admiring it all and the stories behind some of the pieces were just fantastic.

Then there is the view from the beautiful patio area, I sat amid and read my book, took photographs and enjoyed the tranquility of it all.

The rooms are really comfortable, with the little touches that make your stay so easy. The bathroom was enormous with one of the best showers ever, wonderful! I was very surprised and really delighted to look out of the bedroom window and see all the peacocks catching a little sun on the private patios outside each room. I especially enjoyed the quietness of the location which made for a great nights sleep.

I didn't manage to eat the 5 course breakfast so I can't comment on that other than to say the food I did eat was great and nicely presented. Chatting to Lyn over a cup of coffee, with that gorgeous view, was a great way to end my stay.

Thank you for your kind hospitality and thoughtfulness, it was a treat to spend a night at your guesthouse and I hope to return one day soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country House C, Owner at Calitzdorp Country House, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2016

Calitzdorp Country House has been under new ownership and management for just under two years now (Since March 2014). Please visit us again to see how Calitzdorp Country House and the Calitzdorp Town have changed. We look forward to welcoming you back with a personal touch. Andrew and Nell Rogers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calitzdorp
22.8 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
210 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Queen of Calitzdorp
The Queen of Calitzdorp
#2 of 12 in Calitzdorp
125 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Retreat at Groenfontein
The Retreat at Groenfontein
#1 of 19 in Calitzdorp
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Calitz
The Calitz
#7 of 12 in Calitzdorp
7 reviews
2.2 mi away
Soeterus Guest Farm
Soeterus Guest Farm
#4 of 12 in Calitzdorp
77 reviews
1.4 mi away
Karoo Life Bed & Breakfast
Karoo Life Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 12 in Calitzdorp
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calitzdorp Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calitzdorp Country House

Address: Follow the 'Groenfontien' Sign at the Old Cemetery for 2 Kms | Besemkop, Calitzdorp, Calitzdorp 6660, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Calitzdorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Calitzdorp
Price Range: $103 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Calitzdorp Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst the vineyards overlooking Calitzdorp is the magnificent four star Calitzdorp Country House. It is beautifully furnished with antiques and offers spectacular views across a valley of orchards to the majestic Swartberg Mountains. Our luxurious accommodation includes five air-conditioned bedrooms with king-sized beds, TV with satellite channel, en-suite bathrooms and a private patio. The Italian-tiled bathrooms include large showers, twin washbasins and outsize baths. Crisp linens, soft fluffy towels, quality hairdryers and gowns all add to your feeling of pampered care. After a spectacular Klein Karoo sunset, delight in a gourmet meal in our restaurant and end the evening by enjoying some of Calitzdorp's best Port Wines. We offer free WiFi and parking and have a lovely garden with a dam and an outdoor pool. Enquire about the array of activities that can be enjoyed on site or in the surroundings; including cycling, horse riding and hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Calitzdorp Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing