We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food. Friendly service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calitzdorp Country House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Calitzdorp Country House
Ranked #1 of 10 Calitzdorp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food. Friendly service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here.

We really cannot rave enough about the dinner. Absolutely incredible food, thoughtful presentation, and wonderful service. It's worth the value, for sure. We were fortunate enough to have two meals here, and they were both unique and memorable.

We also loved the pool and the peacocks.

So sad to hear that they are closing the Country House sometime this year, but it's clear to see that they have been a success!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brytness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country House C, Owner at Calitzdorp Country House, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
Calitzdorp Country House has been under new ownership and management for just under two years now (Since March 2014). Please visit us again to see how Calitzdorp Country House and the Calitzdorp Town have changed. We look forward to welcoming you back with a personal touch. Andrew and Nell Rogers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    23
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
158
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stopped for 1 night. We booked an evening meal in advance and what an experience! Very good food and Allan's silver service made for a very good evening. The room we stayed in was lovely - well equipped and great views.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IRENML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country House C, Owner at Calitzdorp Country House, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
Calitzdorp Country House has been under new ownership and management for just under two years now (Since March 2014). Please visit us again to see how Calitzdorp Country House and the Calitzdorp Town have changed. We look forward to welcoming you back with a personal touch. Andrew and Nell Rogers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Very hospitable hosts at this beautifully furnished property, a bit off the beaten track, but convenient for R62. Very comfortable room, nicely furnished, and good bathroom. Excellent top quality evening meal on the first evening, just for the two of us - and really good breakfast outside on the terrace overlooking a peaceful valley. Quite expensive accomodation and evening meal for this area though.

Pool and garden / parking area a little tired, and their peacocks, whilst beautiful, do make a mess outside!

Calitzdorp town appeared rather limited, especially for restaurants (we had an awful meal in what is meant to be the best restaurant in town) so you really need to check you are able to eat in, when booking. With temperatures around 40c the air-con was struggling to cool our room, so we left it on whilst we popped into town early evening, but we were disappointed that it had been switched it off when we returned!

Not sure it is the most convenient location to stop in the Oudtshoorn area, but this should not detract from the quality of this B and B and the charm of Alan and Lyn.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaspari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country House C, Owner at Calitzdorp Country House, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
Calitzdorp Country House has been under new ownership and management for just under two years now (Since March 2014). Please visit us again to see how Calitzdorp Country House and the Calitzdorp Town have changed. We look forward to welcoming you back with a personal touch. Andrew and Nell Rogers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

We had the most wonderful stay with Lyn and Alan in November. We had to change our travel plans with little notice and they were incredibly accommodating. The room was beautiful and provided an absolute serene and lovely panoramic view of the area. We stayed one evening and were treated like royalty. We chose to have the dinner they provide and they cooked us one of the most magnificent meals of our entire stay in S. Africa -- truly delicious and thoughtful presentation. Lyn and Alan, themselves were a great part of the stay. They were very warm and helpful and were a delight to know for a short time. We would recommend staying at their lovely property 100%.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country House C, Owner at Calitzdorp Country House, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
Calitzdorp Country House has been under new ownership and management for just under two years now (Since March 2014). Please visit us again to see how Calitzdorp Country House and the Calitzdorp Town have changed. We look forward to welcoming you back with a personal touch. Andrew and Nell Rogers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

We found most of the B&B's in South Africa to be above average but this one goes well beyond.
It is isolated but we used it to tour the area and particularly the mountain passes nearby. The rooms are spacious,clean and very comfortable but what makes this place exceptional are the hosts, Lyn and Alan. The breakfast is to die for and the detail in presentation is nothing short of exceptional. We also had dinner one night and Lyn prepared a menu that most gourmet restaurants would have trouble matching. You will enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINDLESHAM , SURREY
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

We did not know what to expect in Calitzdorp; most people just pass through or only stop for the port wine. Take the side road to this hotel and experience a wonderful house, very warm and helpful welcome, excellent food with creative presentations, the evening dinner was a delight and breakfast on the patio with the parrot and the views was just the way to start the day. And the chance to hear the exceptional recital by Noel Jean Tiel on the unique organ in the church in the town was a fabulous bonus, as was the visit to the museum. Do not just pass through - stay a while.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terrywoodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Sent two nights there and was spoiled rotten by Allan and Lyn who couldn't do enough. Spectacular views and wonderful accommodation and hospitality as was the food and selection of wines. No hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: Room 5 has stunning views and is pretty much self-contained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fergus612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calitzdorp
22.8 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Queen of Calitzdorp
The Queen of Calitzdorp
#2 of 10 in Calitzdorp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.5 mi away
Karoo Life Bed & Breakfast
Karoo Life Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Calitzdorp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Retreat at Groenfontein
The Retreat at Groenfontein
#1 of 18 in Calitzdorp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.6 mi away
Portwine Guesthouse
Portwine Guesthouse
#4 of 10 in Calitzdorp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
2.2 mi away
Soeterus Guest Farm
Soeterus Guest Farm
#2 of 18 in Calitzdorp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calitzdorp Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calitzdorp Country House

Property: Calitzdorp Country House
Address: Follow the 'Groenfontien' Sign at the Old Cemetery for 2 Kms | Besemkop, Calitzdorp, Calitzdorp 6660, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Calitzdorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Calitzdorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Calitzdorp Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst the vineyards overlooking Calitzdorp is the magnificent four star Calitzdorp Country House. It is beautifully furnished with antiques and offers spectacular views across a valley of orchards to the majestic Swartberg Mountains. Our luxurious accommodation includes five air-conditioned bedrooms with king-sized beds, TV with satellite channel, en-suite bathrooms and a private patio. The Italian-tiled bathrooms include large showers, twin washbasins and outsize baths. Crisp linens, soft fluffy towels, quality hairdryers and gowns all add to your feeling of pampered care. After a spectacular Klein Karoo sunset, delight in a gourmet meal in our restaurant and end the evening by enjoying some of Calitzdorp's best Port Wines. We offer free WiFi and parking and have a lovely garden with a dam and an outdoor pool. Enquire about the array of activities that can be enjoyed on site or in the surroundings; including cycling, horse riding and hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Calitzdorp Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing